We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added CostaBaja Resort & Spa to your Saves list
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 7.5 Carretera a Pichilingue, La Paz 23010, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Desayuno de cortesia!
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in La Paz
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Pretty place and very civilized. Slightly short-staffed the week leading up to Christmas. Enjoyed both restaurants. Appreciated that the fishing boat we hired could pick us up right at the marina in front of the hotel. I'm supposed to write more here so I can submit this review, so here I am writing more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    72
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
59
149
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This beautiful, exclusive, top of the notch class resort fulfillls all expectations and more! As a family we were not too fond of cabo, so we endend up in La Paz in this resort, which we decided to come back for more. Unfortunately we could only stay for one day and our children didnt want to leave the beach and beach club so we didnt get to know la paz :( but this gives you an idea of what a great resort this is for a reasonable corresponding price. The marina is an awe! And the SPA is one of the best I have ever been to! Its tranquil beach its like paradise; the pools could be warmer. Very closr to the best beaches in La Paz. it was a great one day stay that keeps you craving for more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

CostaBaja Resort is a stunningly beautiful resort, with modern updated rooms & suites, with incredible views of the Sea of Cortez, marina & resort grounds.
The service and friendliness of the staff is extraordinary!
Steinbeck's Restaurant is amazing, the food is delicious and service again is outstanding! The servers are very knowledgeable on food & wine. Mosaic's serves a wonderful breakfast!
Espiritu Spa is top notch and a fabulous, relaxing experience.
The general manager, Eduardo, is most welcoming and right on top of things. It was mentioned that the railing, leading down from the lobby had a small issue and he immediately closed it off and had the small problem fixed! WOW - very impressive!
The location of CostaBaja Resort, right next to the marina makes it perfect for excursions in the Sea of Cortez, to visit the gorgeous beaches and marine life! We snorkeled with the sea lions! What an experience of a life time!
The Gary Player designed golf course is spectacular!
This is an ideal venue for groups, weddings, incentive trips as they also have awesome meeting and event space.
You must visit CostaBaja Resort and the Sea of Cortez!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Staying for 5 weeks as need to be home in time for Christmas with family, friends and skiing or would stay longer at this GREAT place. I highly recommend Costa Baja Resorts and we have enjoyed may weeks at their Vista Mar property which is adjacent to the Marina and very close to their beautiful golf course.
The resort is 5 star in terms of layout-location-service-friendliness and amenities. We are a 2 minute golf cart ride to the marina and 4 good restaurants with a wide variety of menu items.
7 minutes in the Golf cart to the incredibly scenic -Garry Player designed- and beautifully manicured golf course where you will be both challenged and WOW'd at the same time. We love the place and have visited La Paz many times, but this is the BEST place to stay. It is as peaceful or as engaged as you want to make it and a short distance to city center and the beautiful Malecon with many good restaurants to choose from. About 90 minutes gets you to a beach in Todos Santos to release the turtles(going on Wed) and a leisurly stroll through the manly art galleries and good reataurants in TS.
If you are worried about coming to Mexico, this is not the place to be worried about. It is safe, scenic, relaxing and enjoyable. Check out places on Vacation Rental by Owners or sites noted in Trip Advisor and book a couple of weeks in this hidden jewel. You will be glad you did. Oh and by the way the 1 hour massage, in the city center for $400 pescoes are GREAT!
Happy travelling

Room Tip: VRBO ( vacation rental by owners) is where we have had the best luck . Vista Mar is the location(pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

CostaBaja is an amazing resort that reminded us of the Four Seasons in Scottsdale with a better view. We had a sea view room that was awesome. The sea view rooms are odd numbers with rooms 403 and 407 having views from the bed. Awesome! The fixtures are modern and the shower is in the middle of the room which is probably not the best when travelling with just friends. All the activities we did - fishing, sight seeing, swimming with the whale sharks- were in the morning so we spent every late afternoon at the swim-up pool bar celebrating with margaritas, chips, salsa and guacamole. Delicious! The staff was really friendly and extremely helpful. We ate at Steinbeck's twice and highly recommend it.
The hotel is a few minutes from town. We had a car so that didn't bother us. They also have a shuttle to get to the Malecon. If you want to feel like you are in Mexico, you will need to go into town. CostaBaja competes with the best resort in the US but is so nice that staying on the resort is a great relaxing option.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms have the best sea view. Rooms 403, 407, 411 etc. have the beds positioned to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The building is beautiful...colors are perfect for the area (matches the sunset almost exactly), grounds are extremely nice, our suite was awesome, service was first class, food was great. I agree with another reviewer about keeping this place a secret, but I felt like I owed it to the resort to brag about all their obvious hard work in making a truly 5 star resort in La Paz. I could go on and on, but really from my point of view, pick a topic and this hotel excelled at it. In my line of work, I have stayed in lots of super nice hotels and the CostaBaja was right up there with the best of the best. Once you factor in the natural beauty of La Paz, then you just can't get any better than this.

Room Tip: We rented a suite and while they are expensive, you get what you pay for. Two decks, so we could fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Beautiful resort with excellent customer service. Fabulous pool with a swim up bar. Great ocean views and the restaurants on the property are excellent. Their morning breakfast buffet is very extensive to accomodate all diets and delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were on a scuba diving trip with 29 other divers. They handled our large group with perfection. We dove with Fun Baja which operates out of their marina. Also an excellent outfit.
We will absolutely return on our next trip to Baja - as a couple or with a group.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms have great views. The non-ocean view rooms over look the desert hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Address: Km 7.5 Carretera a Pichilingue, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#2 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CostaBaja Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.