We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned and it was great again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added CostaBaja Resort & Spa to your Saves list
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 7.5 Carretera a Pichilingue, La Paz 23010, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Returned and it was great again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I went back after 8 months and it was still very nice. I'm planning to return a 3rd time in 2014 and make it a group trip with 30 people. The staff at the resort is super helpful. It's the best place to stay in La Paz. Interesting note: The heads of government security for Baja and surrounding states were staying there, so there were military soldiers and security all over the place, scores of them, but they didn't bother us or inconvenience us a single time. Very considerate.

Room Tip: Both views are good, but the sea is nicer. Four people can comfortably share a Super Suite with two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    88
    23
    9
    12
See reviews for
73
177
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
drgoldin90
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Recently stayed just one night at the CostaBaja Resort after a dive trip and wished we had more time to enjoy this beautiful hotel and property. Room nicely appointed, clean and very comfortable. Pool area very lovely with views of the harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We are a couple from San Diego that wanted to see some friends in La Paz.
Drove into Tijuana and flew into la Paz in 1.5 hours.
Drove from the airport into CostaBaja in 30 minutes and the place is beautiful.
The hotel was full so we had reservations in the condos VistaMar.
Spectacular room which all have ocean view, clean , modern, well kept.
The place has one of the best architectures we have ever seen full with details that make this place unique.
Friday went for lunch to Azul Marino, incredible food at incredible prices.
Order the salad with green apple and tangerin, then the lentil soup and closed with chiken with fig and salami, excellent.
Went to the pool at the condo, it was a group of 5 people and us at the pool, nobody else.
Got the sunset, that was spectacular.
Friday night eat at the Odayaka Sushi, met the owners Miguel Angel and Rosendo, they caught the fish that same morning, Dorado and Tuna, fresh, fresh, fresh every roll or sashimi we had.
Watched the soccer game with a huge crowed that all were very friendly.
Next morning had breakfast and lunch at the beach club, good but not to die for.
Service is slow, but people are really nice, so you cannot get mad at them, people are very relaxed, so get in tune with the place. If you are a demanding SOB, go to Hawaii and pay triple.
We spend the whole day at the Beach clup, where the ocean and pool are incredible and not crowded at all, on a Saturday.
After a late lunch went to take a nap and several hours later, went back to the condo pool, this time it was only us.
It was cloudy so we did not expect much of a sunset, but surprise, just a few minutes before, it opened a strip and we experienced the most beautiful sunset ever, clouds and water with colors from red, to deep purple across, just the best.
To close the night , took the free shuttle to town, got ther in 20 minutes and had dinner at 3 Virgins restaurant, where we had the best Baby Octopus Mezquite, cannot miss it.
2nd was a 4 cheese queso fundido with flour tortilla and salsa, really tasty with chorizo.
3rd we had Cabrilla in wine sauce with mashed potatoe, tender , juici.
My wife ordered basil martini, really good and I had a kiwi/green apple martini, excellent.
From the restaurant walked to the Malecon, that is the pier and at 10 pm was full of people due a 35 km swimming race. Very safe place to walk and to be around, nicest people.
Took a taxi back and in 20 minutes were in the hotel, cost of taxi 8 dollars.
Next morning had breakfast at the golf course restuarant, what a view of the Marina and the bay, you cannot miss it.

We will come back again in February for the whales.
temperature just perfect this weekend at 84F, la Paz you are the place to relax.
Golf, tennis, fishing, scuba and sightseeing for whales are on our list, this time we just relaxed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had checked into a hotel down the road. That place was so bad that we checked out and drove to the Costa Baja resort. It was like going from hell to heaven. The rooms are beautiful and extremely clean. At night it was so quite and the bed is so comfortable. The property is well maintained and the staff are all so friendly. When I return to la paz I will only stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent overall service with opportunity to improve service level in the attention to detail on the Beach Club (have to ask repeatedly for beverages and other services without being attended), even though is a great place to chill out. Excellent installations, cleanliness, service and friendliness of staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor are street level, while rooms on 2nd floor are on the dining room/pool area level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Bay, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Some friends recommended this place to us and it was beautiful! The hotel might have been the nicest place I have ever stayed at. It is clean, well built, friendly, very comfortable, and in a great location. We really love La Paz and the CostaBaja is close enough for a short drive into the city, but is also close to the beaches at Tecolote and Bandala Bay. We spent a lot of time at the beach club pool, a short walk from the hotel. The Hotel has it's own pool and it's nice but not right on the beach. The beach is sandy and flat, easy to walk into. There are signs warning about stepping on the tails of Manta Rays, but I snorkeled off the beach a few times and never saw any. And you have the chance of that happening on any beach in Baja. I enjoy the ocean as much as the pool and they are both as good as it gets. The only thing that might be a drawback to this place is it's not far from the Pemex terminal, so there was an oil tanker about a mile up the coast for a day while we were there. Some people commented on it, but I didn't mind. They had many different choices of seats around the pool and beach, chairs, loungers, hammocks, and some kind of thing we dubbed the banana leaf in the pool. The breakfast buffet is a little better than average, but for the price you could do better off the menu. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I had the best experience staying in this hotel. Since I booked it through the phone, Sahara was very nice. My suite was so beautiful, with the most incredible view, romantic sunsets, huge area in the bedroom, etc. We enjoyed very much the beach club with a lovely pool, the staff took us there in a small golf car. We found different kind of restaurants in the concept, but I would say our favorite was Azul Marino, in front of the Marina, and delicious dinner. All I can say is that everybody were really friendly, and efficient, and this made for us a wonderful trip to La Paz.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CostaBaja Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CostaBaja Resort & Spa

Address: Km 7.5 Carretera a Pichilingue, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#2 Spa Hotel in La Paz
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Paz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CostaBaja Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CostaBaja™ Resort and Spa is just 10 minutes south from downtown La Paz, the capital of Baja California Sur. The resort is set on the magnificent Sea of Cortez overlooking a 250-slip double-basin marina and a white sand beach. Just north of the hotel, lies Isla Espiritu Santo where you'll discover one of the greatest marine reserves in the world, along with the best sport fishing in Baja Sur. Endless Activities and Options on the Sea of Cortez Within the resort, activities are endless! Costa Baja offers exclusive access and preferred rates at Mexico's only Gary Player-designed golf course, the tranquil Espiritu Spa - featuring locally-inspired treatments and full spa services, three pools, as well as multiple dining options. Unmatched Guest Rooms and Acommodations: Unmatched in La Paz, Costa Baja features luxuriously-appointed resort hotel rooms with views of the surrounding area, private balconies and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your CostaBaja Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costabaja Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CostaBaja Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.