We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Angel Azul Hacienda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Angel Azul Hacienda
Save
You added El Angel Azul Hacienda to your Saves list
Independencia 518,e/Serdan y G.Prieto | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 La Paz B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Quiet and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

El Angel Azul is such a great place to stay. Walking distance to the city centre, restaurants, markets and even the boardwalk - the most famous part of La Paz. The breakfast is really delicious and fresh. The place is quiet and very romantic, especially at night and all lit with blue lights. And the garden with humming birds and many plants and flowers was my favorite place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    25
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
104
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My son and I found El Angel Azul on our first trip to La Paz in 2007. Since then we have enjoyed Esther's pleasant and generous hospitality two more times. If you are looking for a comfortable, quiet, and convenient B&B (walking distance to the zocalo and malecon) with clean accommodations at a reasonable price, efficient and amiable service, a fine breakfast, a small bar, interesting library and lovely grounds, it can't be beat. We would choose it anytime we travel there, and BTW we prefer the ‘historical rooms’!

Dayle C

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here for after coming back to La Paz from a turtle conservation trip in Magdalena Bay, and I have to say it was magnificent stay! Ester welcomed me in with open arms and even gave me a little discount because I was on a trip promoting sustainability. My room was clean and very cozy and colorful, but the garden was what took my breath away-- wow!! So much greenery!!! The pets were a nice touch too, both were very friendly (the cat seems to be a bit of a snuggle muffin if you pay attention to her.) Breakfast the next morning was lovely too, and as a vegan they accommodated me very well. The cooking staff were very lovely too! :) When I was leaving I saw a bunch of pamphlets they had on things to do in La Paz, so that was a nice bonus. Unfortunately I only stayed there for a night before my plane left, but if I could I would return again and again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband spent two nights here before going on a cruise. It was a delight. We debated getting a place on the water, but opted for El Angel Azul in the center of the old town. Great decision. It is in a 19th century Spanish court house, adding to its charm. Esther has created a sublime garden in the courtyard setting...we could have spent the day right there. Esther is very helpful and directing you to restaurants (all we had time for).

The best part is to find how safe La Paz is. We walked around in the evenings, to and from various restaurants, or along the water, and it was safe as can be. I even saw single women doing the same..day and night.

Go there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at El Angel Azul! The rooms were clean and spacious and nicely decorated. Esther was a great help at recommending shopping and restaurant options. The grounds were beautiful and secure. The breakfast was just right! Esther makes a great margarita!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wartau
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I arrived in La Paz in the middle of the night. But I was already expected at the door. Esther is a great hostess and I felt home right from the start. The garden where you can have your breakfast is just terrific! For me, the "El angel azul" is the place to stay in La Paz.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is the 4th time my wife and I have stayed at the El Angel Azul in La Paz in the last 7 years. It was as fabulous as ever. Esther is a great hostess. The rooms are very comfortable and the inner court yard is beautiful and serene. The breakfast is wholesome and served by friendly staff. The price is reasonable. We always look forward to a few days of r&r in this wonderful setting.
Pam & Tony L

Room Tip: All the rooms are good as they all face into the inner court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Angel Azul Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Angel Azul Hacienda

Address: Independencia 518,e/Serdan y G.Prieto | Centro, La Paz 23000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Angel Azul Hacienda offers you rooms where you will find privacy and a quiet ambiance right in the center of La Paz. El Angel Azul is housed in a national landmark - the former courthouse of Baja California Sur and you are invited to use our big Mexican kitchen,living areas and our courtyard garden and we offer everything you need to feel at home ! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Angel Azul Hacienda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.