We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Tupe

El Tupe
Avenida Santos Degollados, La Paz 23300, Mexico
6121051877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 207 Restaurants in La Paz
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Pass in front of the place, it's abandoned.
A local friend told me they up and moved to Todos Santos hoping for better sales

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    5
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Out of Business - Closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

FYI - this restaurant is closed and a For Rent sign is in the building window.....they didn't last long, and after our experience, I can understand why!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

My wife and I ate at their new Todos Santos location only a few weeks after their relocation from La Paz on the recommendation from friends who were first-timers in Todos Santos as we were. What we experienced was SERIOUS cuisine, gracious service, and a very unique dining experience. The 2008 Carignan from the Baja they offered showed some real depth, complexity, and concentration as if they actually put some thought into what they poured by the glass compared to the plonk so many US establishments are able to get away with serving. I hope their move to Todos proves to be highly successful...these guys mean business and I feel lucky to have had the experience.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very very small restaurant, and I hesitate to call it a restaurant.
It's basically a house with four tables put in the living room, kitchen is not commercial quality, so I have some concerns about cleanliness although everything looked clean superficially.
Menu was oral, a waiter comes and tells you weekdays on offer, and it's all word stuff. Do not take kids there, they will starve. Actually, portions are so small, you might starve too, lol.
Prices are inversely proportional to your food portion, you eat little, pay a lot.
Overall advice: skip it

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food for Foodies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I'm a total "foodie" and look for things that are different, offbeat and not the "standard fare." I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and we decided to seek it out. It more than totally met our expectations. It's pricey by Mexican standards but totally worth it. For less than 50$US we had 6 courses of absolutely interesting food. Guajillo chile sorbet with fruit, coconut ceviche with cilantro and mango, lime, cilantro, jalapeno sauce, smoked tuna and marlin with guajillo chile reduction (basically a mexican bbq sauce), crab claws empanizado over a fried queso blanco with avocado creme and jaimaca mayonnaise, roasted lobster with cherry tomatoes covered with a queso and bean sauce, pinto bean pudding with cherry tomato jam over crumbled banuelos and key lime ice cream over amaranth seaweed crumbs. This restaurant is not for people who expect the usual. The service was perfect. We loved every second. We had the six course tasting menu and if we had been in La Paz longer we would have gone a second time. They do different things every day. Some days they do twelve courses...we wished that we had twelve courses. My best recommendation...YUMBO! Thanks Victor and the Chef for an absolutely wonderful evening and meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tupe also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to El Tupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.