We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added La Concha Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Concha Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera a Pichilingue km 5, La Paz 23010, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 hotels in La Paz
Vancouver Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“well worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

My wife and I drove the Baja in March and April 2008 and ended up in La Paz. We intended in staying just a few days but loved La Paz and area so stayed 2 weeks. We picked La Concha because it was the only hotel on the beach, and a nice beach area it is. If you are looking for a five star resort...this is not it. If you are looking for a very nice, romantic location with beautiful grounds to enjoy and fabulous sunsets this is the place. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable, good air conditioning, bar fridge, TV with english language channels. Showers take a while to produce hot water but it is hot and abundant after a few minutes. We didn't mind the small rooms since we were only there to sleep as there is much to see and do in La Paz and area. The beds were new and good quality, the staff was excellent in every regard and our stay very enjoyable. There are only 4 slight drawbacks to La Concha: If you are elderly or physically handicapped you would need to make sure you can get a ground floor room as there are no elevators, the hotel is outside of town a bit so you will have to cab it to town to do most things that are not beach/water related; the restauraunt ,while adequate, is not great and could be improved upon (you will want to go to town to check out the abundance of really good restaurants) and lastly: bar drinks are really far too expensive! I would especially recommend La Concha if you arrive by car or rent a car, or if you don't mind sharing/taking the inexpensive cabs. If you have access to a vehicle the beaches 20 minutes South of La Paz are spectacular (check out playa Tecolate etc.). Overall, La Concha is great, the grounds beautiful, the price reasonable for what you get...a real Baja gem!

  • Liked — hotel property and staff
  • Disliked — bar prices, mediocre restaurant
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    93
    49
    36
    25
See reviews for
49
93
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

I took a group of 20 divers to this resort.

First, get used to everything running about 20 minutes behind schedule. The bus that the resort contracted never showed up to pick us up at the airport. Only after contacting them several times, they sent the bus, which arrived about 40 minutes later.

The check-in process went smooth and we were given our coupons for the included "Continental Breakfast".

The rooms were fair, in a "Motel 6 kind of way" but they did have an ocean view. Unfortunately, the view was mostly blocked by a number of trees.

The food is inexpensive, but you get what you pay for. The food is poorly prepared. The $35 steak and lobster was overcooked and not worth the money. The lobster was a piece of rubber. The continental breakfast consisted of coffee, orange juice and an all-you-can-eat toast basket. I ordered Eggs Benedict and the "Hollandaise" sauce was a glop of butter (not even close to being Hollandaise Sauce).

They do make a mean Margarita from scratch at both the hotel and the Cortez Club, which is a separate owned bar on the premises.

Keep a close watch on your bar tab and review and sign it each time or you will be charged for other people's drinks that you didn't order.

The dive operation, Cortez Club was ok (not great). The trips to the dive sites are 40 minutes to 1.5 hours away and two of the three boats are way too small to make that trek. The dive crew was decent, but not in my top 10 list.

There's a small beach in front of the resort, but has about 10 feet of water during high tide and as low as a few inches of water during low tide. Sharp rocks all the way out from the beach, so bring water shoes.

  • Liked — Ocean View
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

I have been to La Paz for scuba diving every year for the last 3 yrs. Prior years I stayed at Los Arcos and at Club Cantamar. See my October 2007 review on Club Cantamar - probably would never stay there again. Los Arcos is OK - good location for shopping and dining in the middle of town across the street from the harbar with middle of the road accommodations but no beach access.

This year, I stayed at La Concha in Room 234 in October 2008 for 7 nights. Room had 2 double beds and was of moderate size. Difficult to know what we paid for the room since it was a dive, breakfast, room, room, transfers and air package for around $1350.

Overall this old hotel is an above average 2 star, but if better maintained it could be 3 star.

La Concha pluses:
Virtually all rooms have beautiful ocean view with large picture window and small balcony with sliding glass door. Furnishings included a small table and two chairs, one dresser with 3 drawers, and small closet.

Attractive, air conditioned dining room, with table service.

On site dive operator pretty good - Cortez Club
Rooms have good AC, refrigerator, coffee maker (but I had to ask for the coffeemaker), tv with 3 english channels (CNN,
ESPN, and Hallmark).
Free wifi in lobby (but no air conditioning in lobby!) and two free computers with printers, but no access anywhere else in hotel.
Staff very nice.
Free scheduled van service to town in morning and early afternoon (other wise a $8 taxi ride each way).
If they would fix the towel problem, the price would be a good value.
Attractive pool area with cabanas for shade and poolside bar area, wood lounge chairs (but hard with no padding).


La Concha problems:
Our group of 12 all had problems with no towels or insufficient towels in their rooms every day. When towels were provided, they were sometimes very worn, torn, dirty white.
Bathroom grout dirty and crumbling - badly in need of remodeling.

Insufficient drawer space for two people staying for a week. Only 3 drawers.

Dining room service sometimes very slow. Food fair to poor depending on what you ordered. Liked the Greek Salad, soft tacos were fine. Breakfast ham was actually chopped lunchmeat, and breakfast sausage was actually pieces of hot dog!!
Bar prices were high - $8 for a Pina Colada.

Too far to walk to town - about 4 miles. $8 cab ride to town. Cost goes up if you have more than 4 in a cab.
No other restaurants or shops close by though you can take about a 20 minute walk to CostaBaja Marina where there are several excellent restaurants with dinner costing from $10 to 30 per person excluding drinks.

Poor lighting in room makes it difficult to read while in bed..

No elevator - long walk up to 3rd floor rooms.

Bottom LIne: The accommodations overall were OK, not great, but the ocean views from the room were wonderful at a relatively moderate cost. I would probably never stay at La Concha again. The hotel is in need of remodeling. It is isolated and the cost to get to town is too high.

Recommendation:
Stay at the new and beautiful Fiesta Inn at the CostaBaja Marina. Expedia price for same time period in October was $105/night for Standard Room with mountain view or Ocean view for about $145/night. Free scheduled van service to town all day and evening till 9 pm. Beautiful pool. Wifi throughout the hotel and in rooms. Scuba dive pickup at the Marina using Baja Fun or Cortez Club.

  • Liked — Ocean views, pleasant dining room, on site scuba dive operator
  • Disliked — Worn out rooms, insufficient or no towels, too far from town and limited shuttle service
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

This is the place to stay in La Paz if you want to be on the beach. Book your stay at one of the privately owned condos in the tower.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

The resort is incredibly run down. It was written up as having gone through a complete rennovation. The advertising is so alluring, yet the reality is so totally different. It is indeed on the beach; however, most of the beach you can't go into because of the rocks.
All the rooms have ocean views. However, the rooms are so very small. The king size bed was outstanding. The TV great. However, the number of channels is limited and 3 out of the 12 were not properly working. the bathroom is small. The shower rod was secured in place by a crumpled piece of paper to make it stay. The drain cover was lose. The water pressure was not great. Both knobs said 'F" for "fria" which means cold water.
AC appeared new and worked great! The room did have a coffee maker, new, and a hair dryer, also new.
The safe deposito boxes, while they're under lock, the room where it's in, is not! The store closes at 4 p.m.!
The hotel is 8km from town. I'm very sad to write this review, but really, unless they truly renovate it all over, it's really not worth staying. At $95 per night, you're better off staying somewhere else. Really! Try Las Gaviotas, condo with a view, sleeps 6 for less than $150 per night.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — room too small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

This is our 3rd stay at La Concha. We love it because it is away from the city, clean-nice beach and good food. Each time we go it gets better. The new owner is upgrading everything. The food is alot better-more water pressure and more hot water(you can tell we have been there before). Good for kids all through our group was all adults this time. Food and drinks at the pool and now room service. We see the same people working there and they remember us and ask how our family is. Very good security.
Full service dive/fish/tour boat shop. We book out of Tailhunter-international.com that runs right out of the hotel for the hotel/fishing and airport pick up. Doesn't get any easier.
Rooms have air, TV, phone, air dryer, coffee makers. Computer in lobby. They even freeze your fish and/or will cook it up for you that nite. Grounds are always clean and they even clean the beach everyday. Not a lot of guests when we were there but last year in June the place was full. Very Popular.
I would highly recommend La Concha

  • Liked — Location, Pool, food, service
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

This is a lovely little property! We stayed at one of the condos, next to the resort. However, please BEWARE that there is a very LOUD construction site 50 yards from the condo building (and therefore right next to the patio and bedroom windows. If you rent #306, or any other condo on that end of the building- you will be subject to LOUD, yelling workers, beeping cranes, and constant cement mixers, from 7 am to 5pm, 6 days a week! The dust and noise were nonstop, and also directly effected our ability to enjoy the pool and spa. The owners of #306 did not disclose this construction when we rented from them through VRBO, otherwise we would have made another choice. This experience taught us to ask about nearby construction before we commit to renting! Hope this helps others when planning vacations.

  • Liked — View of the ocean
  • Disliked — Extremely loud and dirty construction directly adjacent to this property.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Concha Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Beach Resort

Address: Carretera a Pichilingue km 5, La Paz 23010, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Paz
#6 On the Beach Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Concha Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your La Concha Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Beach Hotel La Paz
La Concha Beach Paz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.