We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but def not the best seafood in La Paz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mariscos Los Laureles

Mariscos Los Laureles
Alvaro Obregon Y Salvatierra, La Paz, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 174 restaurants in La Paz
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good but def not the best seafood in La Paz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was in La Paz for a couple days before and after a camping and kayaking trip to Espiritu Santo. I had lunch one day at Los Laureles, ordering what was named a shrimp quesadilla, but it was really four shrimp tacos. Call them what you want. Either way, they were pretty good but nothing spectacular, and the relentless mariachi band including a snare drum and trumpet was loud enough to keep me from coming back again. El Molinito at the north end of the Malecon was a much better experience with the best shrimp tacos that I've ever had anywhere in California or Mexico.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    21
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in La Paz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The ceviche was as good as I have ever had. Grilled octopus with butter and garlic made us swoon. The seafood cocktail was a little bland for my taste so stick to the ceviches.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandora
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Still the one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Always our first night in la paz is the imperial shrimp here. So far this trip 3 meals here. All very good, always fresh seafood. The wIt staff are attentive and try very hard to communicate effectively. Extremely pleased to continue eating here while mear by

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, BC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Camerones and Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This restaurant on the malecon is a great seafood restaurant. We've eaten there three times and been quite satisfied with portions (lots of prawns!), the chips, the service and the quality of the food. On the third visit they gave us 15% off the bill. We recommend this spot for newcomers who like seafood.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Hyacinthe, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had the specialty of the house as offered by our kind waiter: schrimps and lobster. The food was very good and the service very courteous. Although the atmosphere was not candlelight and soft music, we had a great time. Very reasonable price for the quality. And we've noticed that many mexicans visit the restaurant which is a good sign. Simple but good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos Los Laureles also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Mariscos Los Laureles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariscos Los Laureles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.