We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve celebration was a bust.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Tres Virgenes

Las Tres Virgenes
Calle Madero 1130, Zona Centro, La Paz, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 207 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve celebration was a bust.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent about $60/person. Special Menu for NYE dinner was ok, no party favors given out to welcome New Year...and the DJ has to be one of the worst we've ever heard. First he should have started putting some killer dance music at least 45 minutes before midnight, and then he would change the music halfway during a great dance song, talk about dance buzz kill. AND, he was freaking 2 minutes late with the New Year's countdown! Who does that? So lame. My group of 10 people finally left after 12:15 am. Just couldn't deal. So disappointed. Found better place to dance in town. Ugh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesse1972, Manager at Las Tres Virgenes, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I am sorry that you left 15 minutes after new years, but you missed out, you didn't give the DJ a chance. Most of the guests stayed and the party got going, until almost 5am people where still dancing their night away. It was a great party, sorry you left too early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    41
    20
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I feel I have to write this review as it seems that we're not the only people who have had the same experience. We live in La Paz & have been going to Tres Virgines for years. 7 of us went on Saturday with reservation & waited at least 1hr 10 mins for our meal, it wasn't that busy & there were 8 waiters that we counted. It wouldn't have been as bad if they were attentative & served us more pitta bread & drinks, but at this they failed miserably. My friend complained afterwards ( even though the food was good apart from one cold meal which was sent back plus cold mash on another plate) so the owner gave us 15% discount & said this had never happened before, well it has & he probably didn't know but now he will. It ruined our evening as we were supposed to meet friends for drinks afterwards but they had left by the time we got there thinking we weren't coming.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“out of food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Tried three different items on the menu and they where out of each of them. It was recommended by our hotel but we ended up finishing our drinks and leaving.......they did comp the drinks for the mix up which was a nice touch! We wouldn't go back!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by locals for our "date night" during our vacation in La Paz. The standout is the Caesar salad, which is hard to explain because a Caesar salad normally does not get me excited, but we learned it was invented in Tijuana and the inventor passed on his recipe to the "Tres Virgenes." The salad is made in front of you and is a 10 minute ordeal. Who knew? The rest of the meal was delicious, the setting romantic, and the rose martini and wine selection delicious.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Love this restaurant- what a surprise! The courtyard in the back is fabulous! Never would have know from the front. The meal was delicious - and the basil martini was out of this world!
If you are going to La Paz, be sure to stop here ( a reservation would be helpful). It is not to be missed! Very romantic in the courtyard also!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Tres Virgenes also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Las Tres Virgenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Tres Virgenes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.