We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B with feel of a small resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz to your Saves list
Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz
De Las Rosas #300 | La Posada / Benito Juarez, La Paz 23090, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SPECIAL HOLIDAY RATES!
Ranked #1 of 22 La Paz B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“B&B with feel of a small resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Hacienda Paraiso is classified as a B&B, and it offers the warmth and individuality associated with the very best accommodation in this category. However, guests will find the premises akin to a small resort. Rooms are quite private, located in buildings separate from the main residence and all overlooking an ample courtyard with mature trees and buzzing with hummingbirds. After having the sopes for breakfast, you'll be inquiring about the price of a life tenancy. Richard and Gloria are splendid hosts, and one shouldn't miss a tour of Richard's working laboratory of local palaeontology.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
You four were our first guests from the Czech Republic and we so enjoted having you stay with us. Ale remembers how much you loved her sopes and is standing ready for your eventual assalt on a fresh batch. I miss our conversations.COME BACK SOON.
Richard and Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
184
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

My husband and I returned last week from a kayaking trip in Baja and we stayed at Hacienda Paraiso both before and after our excursion. The owners, Gloria & Richard, went out of their way to accomodate our needs and to make us feel welcome. Their place is a little paradise -- grounds are lovely and the rooms are immaculate. The breakfast, served on their beautiful poolside patio, was delicious. Both Gloria and Richard are very knowledgable about the area and did so much to help us in planning our day trips in and around La Paz. This place is a hiddden gem!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
The weather is changing and the BIG CHILL is coming. We have a spot saved just for you and the kayaks are ready to explore. We look forward to your return.
Richard and Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Our stay with Richard and Gloria was excellent. Upon arrival, we sat around and got to know each other a bit, which was nice and the dynamic was comfortable for the remainder of our 5 day trip. Breakfasts were always amazing. I woke up every day looking forward to the FOOD. =)

Because of our great hosts, we were able to enjoy the city of La Paz (and Todos Santos) due to their wealth of information that they gladly shared with us. They went above and beyond to provide us with ideas for outings, which was great because I knew nothing about the area!

We also fell in love with their cat and their dog (miss you, Neffy!) and bird... so if you love animals, their pets are very friendly.

The entire trip was memorable, and if staying in La Paz, I definitely recommend staying at Hacienda Paraiso.

p.s. Yes, there are simple rules, but these are basic and reasonable rules that you'd expect at anyone's home.

Thank you for the experience, Richard and Gloria! We were so happy to share our engagement with you!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We were thrilled to share your engagement trip with both of you and hoped it was the romantic bothoccasion you dreamed it would be. We thank you for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again.
Richard and Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hacienda Paraiso for 4 nights in November 2010 during our "babymoon" in Mexico. The owners, Richard and Gloria, couldn't be more nice or more helpful and made us feel welcome right away. In fact, they even upgraded us to a room with a bigger bed because I was pregnant. Our room was very clean, comfortable and charming and the courtyard was absolutely gorgeous. We didn't swim in the pool because it was a bit chilly, but it looked very inviting. The traditional Mexican breakfasts are delicious. We especially loved the homemade flour tortillas, which were "melt in your mouth" yummy! We spent most days hanging at the beach and swimming in the clear, aquamarine Sea of Cortez. Lovely Playa Balandra was our favorite beach and is a 30-minute drive from Haciendo Paraiso. The highlight of our time in La Paz was a day-long boat trip to Espirtu Santo Island. Richard was our captain and tour guide with his comfy boat. We spent an hour snorkeling with playful sea lions (amazing!) and on the way back we stopped to swim in a few of the islands coves - we had the crystal clear water all to ourselves! Upon our return, Richard served us his famous ceviche! A stay at Hacienda Paraiso is definitely a "bed and breakfast" experience. We had a nice time chatting with the other guests and Richard and Gloria during breakfast. During this time we got a lot of great travel tips and advice. It is only about 5-10 minutes via car to the Malecon and it was no problem to drive there and park for dinner and for our sunset walks along seaside walkway. Some restaurant recommendations include Rancho Viejo for amazing meat and fish tacos. For a romantic and “foodie” dinner, you MUST go to Las Tres Virgenes, which has a great selection of Mexican wine and delicious Mexican fusion cuisine. We also enjoyed the views, quesadillas, palomas and guacamole at Tailhunter! We can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Hey guys! Do we know how to take care of pregnant women or what? It was fun having you and discussing the various ecol;ogical issues affecting our world.All the wonderful places are here awaiting to accommodate your taste buds .It's gratifying to see so many "Bay Area" people discovering Hacienda Paraiso and the BAJA. Keep coming down.
Richard and Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Dearest Gloria Laura and Richard

Thank you so very much for your kindness and warm welcoming during my too brief stay at your wonderful Hacienda.

You were incredibly thoughtful. I remain amazed at your generosity - particularly your offer of the trip to Todos Santos to see the whales, the beach the town and the artists.
Wow.
You treated me like a true friend for which I am ever so grateful.
It was a joy to meet you and your son. His smile warms the heart as do you two.
Meeting you, and staying with you was the highlight of my Baja adventure.
The memory warms my heart.

Wish I had the words to express my gratitude and appreciation for you. I felt such comfort in your company.

Your are a blessing in this world.

Your Friend
Barbara

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
When we meet a person such as you, we feel the Hacienda Paraiso was a perfect choice for us. It is hard to describe how much pleasure we derrive from helping someone enjoy to the fullest the time allowed them to stay with us, one day or three weeks. We relish this as an opportunity
and a challenge and indeed an obligation to you. This is how we would like to be treated when
travelling. And to have you call us friends is the icing on the cake. Stay well and come back soon.
Your friends...Richard and Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We had planned on only staying a night or two, but after talking to the owners of this beautiful bed and breakfast we ended up staying there the 6 nights. We were delighted with how informative and helpful Gloria and Richard were, sending us out on day trips to some of the most exciting beaches . We also took several day trips to near by small towns to observe the whales and enjoy the art galleries there. The weather was beautiful, of coarse.I enjoyed the breakfast conversations, as the owners have a plethora of useful and interesting tips and stories. The food , by the way,, excellent, and so filling that I didn't even think about eating again until early evening, so if you are not a big eater be sure to let them know,, but I wouldn't ! The room was just right, comfortable bed, clean facilities,peaceful and beautiful surrounds,, guess you can tell I really loved this place, along with the people. I can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you for your return visit and your words of praise. As you know, we feel that like everything we do, our breakfast has to be more than just a Ho-Hum breakfast. and filling enough to take you to dinner .This saves you money and avoids your stuffing yourself all day. I learned long ago what it felt like after eating three meals a day for a few days.You almost don't want to look at food anymore.We loved you too and think about your return with a smile on our faces.
Yours....Richard and Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Our first welcoming encounter with Richard and Gloria who met us at their beautifully carved front door leading into their magical Hacienda Paraiso hideaway was just the beginning of what turned out to be best five days of our nine day tour of Baja California Sur. And it was Richard and Gloria who were almost wholly responsible for this.

I should say right here that the driving directions we downloaded from the Hacienda Paraiso website were perfect and we found the place with no difficulties.

After settling into our cozy but very comfortable room, Los Delphines, thoughtfully and delightfully decorated with visions from the sea, we were invited to sit outside in the wonderful garden compound. Besides the strikingly exquisite tile work in the pool there are sculptures by local artists, hummingbirds, an African grey parrot and the charming chihuahua named Nefertiti who will often choose your lap as the best seat in the house. We were offered drinks while we got to know our hosts, who were even more interested in getting to know us. This turned out to be exactly why our stay in La Paz was so perfect. As Gloria and Richard found out more about us, they began to suggest where might like to eat, what we might like to see and do and even who we might be interested in meeting in and around La Paz. They were the best concierges I’ve ever encountered anywhere bar none.

Gloria, I found out, is a self-taught artist. Her artwork and creative touches can be found all over Hacienda Paraiso. If this is your passion, she can point out the local artisans not to be missed. But more importantly, she is a warm, engaging, openhearted woman who obviously enjoys being the great hostess that she is. She is a real people person and if you are interested in knowing more about Mexican culture, the environs of La Paz and feel like you have been friends forever, Gloria is your woman.

Richard is a storyteller. And he is a fascinating guy. Ask him about his passion - fossils and seashells - and you won’t be sorry. His love for fishing and being on or near the sea is what brought him to Mexico and after finding his lovely Gloria on one of his first fishing trips to Baja, he followed his dream and together with Gloria, began to build Hacienda Paraiso. For us, he was the perfect host of a B & B, interesting, interested, and terrific tour guide, spotting us to the best beaches, best restaurants and best dive/snorkeling business.

And I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the marvelously creative Allie, our breakfast chef. Every morning there was a delicious Mexican hot dish (a different dish every day) to accompany the fresh fruit, yogurt, baked goods, hot coffee and tea. Her creativity was at her best when she managed to make my breakfast hot dish meat free. The breakfasts were so filling we often didn’t need to eat until dinnertime.

We love staying and B&B’s and have done so in many parts of the world. Each host and/or hostess has his or her personal style of managing. We were so taken with Richard and Gloria and their beautiful place we are already planning our next visit, hopefully before the end of the year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaparaiso, Owner at Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thank you for writing the review exactly as i told you to do. Actually you really have a way with
words and I'm very happy that you expressed them. We love to hear them. WE truly are interested in you as a person and what your likes and dislikes are. WE want to be as helpful as possible without intruding on your private time. And sometimes we nail it on the head with our
suggestions.Our very first guests were Canadiens and just needed their two weeks just to unwind and read,have margaritas by the infinity pool and enjoy the sun. I guess when you are a research neuroscientist, stopping the brain from running is what you need. They loved it, we loved it and they came back the following year for 17 days and brought friends. A perfect vacation is whatever is perfect for you. That is why we enjoy engaging in conversation when appropriate.We want to know how we can assist you in getting the most from your time in LaPaz .You also never know what kind of great info you can glean from a neuroscientist. At any rate,
we wil be waiting for you to come back for a repeat act. You guys were a super-pleasure to have as guests. More new friends...what can I say. thanx
Gloria and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz

Address: De Las Rosas #300 | La Posada / Benito Juarez, La Paz 23090, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Paz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new and beautiful B&B/Inn, decorated in Mexican style. Located 1 mile from the Malecon and one block from an Urban beach, where you can start your mornings walking or watching the most wonderful Sunset in the evenings! We are dedicated to creating a memorable and treasured vacation in a safe, peaceful and secure atmosphere. After a wonderful day enjoying the sites of La Paz you can come HOME and sip a delicious Margarita and jump in the beautiful pool. Sit on the terrace and enjoy your freshly brewed coffee and delicious breakfast while sharing the beauty of our garden and waterfall. -WiFi FREE!-Secure Indoor Garage Parking-Infinity Pool with Waterfall-Purified Water at all times-Exercise RoomAll (No Smoking )Rooms-A/C-Fans-In-room Personal Security Safe-Refrigerator-Satellite TV-Clock/Radio-Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Paraiso De La Paz Hotel La Paz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Paraiso de La Paz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.