We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tailhunter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina

Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina
Pase Alvaro Obregon #755 | On the Malecon, La Paz 23020, Mexico
+52 612 125 3311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 188 Restaurants in La Paz
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Seafood, Hawaiian, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Torrance, California
2 reviews
“Tailhunter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a great time. Jon knows how to have a good time and he makes sure you will also. Loved the live music!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Jim:

Thanks for the good review, amigo! Come see us again soon with Don and the rest of the guys!

Stay well and best fishes always!
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    82
    31
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“From sea to dinner plate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What better way to truly enjoy your fishing adventure with Jonathon and the Tailhunter gang than to catch Dorado during the day and have it served to you that same evening at the restaurant. They also did an amazing job on some calamari ceviche from one days calamari catch...really spectacular.
This year Jilly even upgraded their red wine stock to include a couple of nice Chilean reds. An email ahead of arrival to Jonathon and he even chills the wine for us.
All in all, an excellent end of day destination while in La Paz...

John M Kennedy

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
John!

We really enjoyed your visit, my friend! And yes...glad we had some red wine that you liked for dinner every night. Jill is getting some new reds in so you can sample them next time your visit. Thanks again for everything and especially for taking the time for the great review. Stay well, amigo!

God bless and best fishes!
Jonathan and Jilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Oregon
2 reviews
“Joe and John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just back from a great trip to La Paz and this spot was a big part of the fun. Great view, food , and service. This felt like our livingroom with service and tequila. Looking forward to returning our next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Joe!

Great to have you visit us, amigo. We'll wait for your next trip down to see us with John. Thanks for the super review. Stay well and we'll see you soon!

Best fishes!
Jonathan and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Tailhunter Part 2 the dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was my second visit to La Paz and it's rapidly becoming my favorite travel destination. A big part of that is due to my experience with the folks at Tailhunter. For me, going to Tailhunter Restaurant/Fubar Cantina is like going to my favorite cousins' house for a cookout. Jonathan, Jill and all of the staff are warm, friendly people, that welcome you to their place like member of the family. The restaurant caters to locals and travellers alike. The tri level set up has a light,airy,tropical feel and the menu is simple but offers something for everyone. Jonathan brings his Hawaiian roots to Baha Sur and the result is amazing. There are also pure Baha items as well as American dishes to choose from and I have yet to find anything that disappoints. The evening entertainment varies from sports on well located flat screens, to live music(you may even see Jon set in with the band) to great music piped in through a really good sound system.I learned the true meaning of the word "Tranquilo" and could go on for awhile about the vitures of my whole Tailhunter experience, but it makes me long even more for the time when I can again feel the warm La Paz sunshine on my face and sit down to great times with my favorite Primos.

Ken Campbell
Huntington Beach, California

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Ken:

Amigo...what a super review. Just read your other review on our Tailhunter Fishing Fleet as well. Wow...speechless. Thank you for taking the time to put this all in words, my friend. Jill and I are going to save this one. We'll see you again soon. Stay well until then and God bless always!

Jonathan and Jilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Fishing and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went fishing with Tailhunters and caught mucho dorados.. Took our catch to Tailhunters Restaurant and had our catch cooked 3 ways. All cooked to perfection... The atmosphere was kick back and relaxing... Where else can you have your catch cooked to order, have a few brews and watch either the baseball play off or NFL game all at the same time.. We always make it a point to go every year... Great Job Jonathan!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan R, Owner at Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dave:

It's always great to have you and the guys visit. I have great images of you guys after a day of fishing just kicking back with beers, cooked fish and watching sports. Thanks for putting everyone together and visiting us every year. We'll start growing the fish bigger for next year and hopefully the tuna will show up as well. Thanks again and much aloha!

Jonathan and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tailhunter Restaurant and FUBAR Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.