We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Bismarksito

El Bismarksito
Paseo Alvaro Obregon entre Constitucion e Hidalgo, La Paz, Mexico
01 612 128 9900
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 209 Restaurants in La Paz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

You get a lot for your money here. By the time we finished the ceviche we ordered as an appetizer, we hardly had room for our entrees. Great food and prompt service too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    112
    48
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good fish tacos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We ate here twice in the last 2 weeks. Fish tacos were cheap- 12 pesos each - and included a good selection of toppings. Came for a meal off the menu after the Carnaval parade. We thought the food was good - and there was plenty of it. Great salsa with the chips!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Worst seafood i have eaten in Mexico and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place is very popular with locals and was recommended by our taxi driver. When we went there over Christmas it was the only place that we found that was near our hotel that was open.

We were offered the al carte menu and ordered shrimps in garlic - the shrimps tasted of practically nothing and were overcooked and rubbery, the serving was basic with vegtables / salad and rice but very little in the way of presentation. The grilled fish was slightly better but nothing to write home about. The prices for our food were much higher than elsewhere in La Paz and so i would highly recommend going somewhere else. - Azul Marino completely outclasses Bismark for food, presentation and value for money.

Dont bother with this and go somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Christmas Day and everything was closed. This was the only nearby place open and quite busy with locals which we thought was a good sign. Big mistake, the service was slow and the food below average, in fact it was the worst we have had in Mexico so far. And really overpriced. Don't bother going there, everything we tried was better and cheaper.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good local spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We walked by this place in the afternoon around 3pm, and it was PACKED with people. The rest of the Malecon was low traffic, and most restaurants looked empty. An obviously good sign, but we were not hungry at the time so we passed by. The next morning, we were looking for a breakfast spot, and we had already walked out of a couple establishments due to cleanliness issues. We saw Bismark Cito again, and we has it was open. We also noticed how incredibly clean it was, and even had hand sanitizer bottles on every table (a little strange, but a good sign regardless). We decided to give it a try.

They did not have "breakfast" food, as they are a Mariscos restaurant. They did, however, have an awesome taco bar open with several options to try. We laughed and decided to eat tacos for breakfast. We had shrimp tacos with cheese, octopus tacos, fish tacos - and all of them were great. They had a condiment bar will all the fixings, including several tasty homemade sauces (tartar, habanero, avocado, chipotle, green onion, etc.) and we washed it down with a cup of coffee.

Interesting and fun breakfast.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bismarksito also viewed

La Paz, Baja California Sur
 
La Paz, Baja California Sur
La Paz, Baja California Sur
 

Been to El Bismarksito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Bismarksito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.