We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great restaurant - Muchos Gracias Solange” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manzanilla

Manzanilla
Teniente Guerrero | Zona Centro, Ensenada, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 180 Restaurants in Ensenada
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What a great restaurant - Muchos Gracias Solange”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Our part of 8 was treated so well to fine food, beverages, service and management tender loving care. This is a must stop while in Ensenada.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    6
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“La Manzanilla Restaurante lives up to its reputation...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My best friend who lives in Ensenada (and I do too on the weekends) had been wanting to try this restaurant for quite sometime. So we were able to get a reservation and I'm very glad we went. This restaurant is 21st century chic in the Port District of Ensenada with an ambience that one would expect in the Tribeca neighborhood of New York City. An incredible blend of modern with antiques, intimate, and best of all you can carry on a conversation without screaming. I was "blown away" by the decor, but most importantly (obviously) by the cuisine, absolutely amazing. Their petite homemade rolls as starters set the stage for an incredible dining experience with impeccable service. From the appetizers to the desert and coffee, everything was artfully prepared and delicious. La Manzanilla has joined my list of favorite restaurants in Ensenada. And the secret is, the dining in Ensenada is "World Class" and fortunately people are starting to discover that....

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best chefs in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Benito (owner) is one of the best chefs in Mexico, the only thing is he rarely ever cooks here, wich I feel affects the food that you get wich can range from great to average if he´s cooking or not. Also don´t expect very much from the place as ita a funky old warehouse that can get really cold and if going for lunch usually a lot of flies. Had 3 flies in a glass of wine in one lunch. Probably at dinner with more people and smoke the flies get out. It´s great if the Chef is in, the problem is how do you know.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Supposed famous, bad service, regular food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is supposed to be one of the best in Ensenada. We arrived early but when we were given the menu, the waiter told us they didn't have many of the food options. The food we finally chose was good (not more than just good). The place was full of flies, and the service was bad. To end the meal, we asked for coffee, which they didn't have. For sure, we are not returning to this restaurant

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“It's not a Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I liked the location, easy parking and quiet. There's outside seating! and the decor is trying for New York or L.A. stark, which is probably a good choice for the building. The food was delicious, nice small portions, well presented. cooked correctly Although the menu was in Spanish the wait staff was very helpful. I just wish it wasn't so stark.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manzanilla also viewed

Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Manzanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manzanilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.