We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Fonda
Highway 1 | On right going south, Ensenada, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 181 Restaurants in Ensenada
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: http://lafondabaja.com/directions/
Restaurant details
Description: http://lafondabaja.com/directions/
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Average food, omelate, beans and chips, pretty average. A little high priced for average food. Always wants cash no cards.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not what it once was...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sad to see what's become of this roadside icon, during a business lunch that left all five of us wondering what has happened. I remember it from six years ago as one of "the best" between downtown Ensenada and the USA border. Not this time. The talapia filet was undercooked and covered with a pasty sauce, although I ordered it grilled and plain. The black bean soup I remembered and recommended to others was almost tasteless. The carne was overcooked, tough, and too dry. The chips were stale and the pico de gallo seemed left over. I expect a lot better lunch for 130 pesos per person. Maybe that's why we were the only customers at 1:00 in the afternoon. Oh yeah, almost forgot -- the men's room was dirty and stank of urine. Never again; nunca.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place for Sunday brunch - LOTS of variety - eggs, meats, cereals, pastries, tacos, pizza, pancakes, tamales....pretty much everything you would want to try. I was able to try a few meats I would otherwise not have ordered. LOTS of salsa's and toppings for everything. The pineapple tamales are something to make sure you have - delicious!! Free bloody's and marg's with meal - not bad, but not great. The view was fabulous - right on the water. This place has obviously been here awhile. Worth a stop if you are in the area. Good value for the brunch price, especially since it included drinks. Fabulous guitarist playing the day we went - made the meal even more enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still a great brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

While reviews are mixed; so are my likes and dislikes for foods. La Fonda's brunch provides the diner with enough opportunity to sample a large variety of Mexican foods beyond the taco and the burrito. Their tamales are great! I certainly found much to satisfy my hunger. The Margaritas and Bloody Mary's are tasty; NOT watered down.
The Ocean view setting lends a relaxed and calming. Great place to party with friends!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Come for the sunset but stay for the food! Da Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Beautiful view, romantic setting, Great Food, Soup (one of the best in Baja Norte), Salad and entree all included. Large portions, however, smaller with new owner than the old owner. Nevertheless, a great meal, a great sunset and always friendly people. My wife Cathy and I eat here twice on our two annual trips to Rosarito Beach! Wine list very resemble, Mexican Coffee a must after dinner. Cook took me into kitchen one year and taught me how to cook Salmon in Vera Cruz Sauce! Waiters efficient, friendly and always helpful. Entertainment good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.