We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good, esp liked the crab and uni tostada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Guerrerense

La Guerrerense
Corner of 1st and Alvarado | Zona Centro, Ensenada, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 206 Restaurants in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really good, esp liked the crab and uni tostada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great tostadas...liked the coctail at Mariscos Guero better but all the food was really good. A must go to when in Ensenada in the center of town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    46
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Must Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This could very well be the reason to go back to Ensenada. We followed Anthony Bourdain's suggestion and found this place when our cruise stopped here. Fortunately for us, it was not crowded when we were there. We waited a couple of minutes to see how things work around here. Then we ordered the sea urchin tostada. That really didn't taste anything like the regular sea urchin that we like so we ordered the fish and the seafood ones and they were just wonderful! The best was the clam thingy which they opened up the big clam, cut the meat and stuffed it back up with their special salsa, what a treat! Everything lookded clean and fresh. Definitely a must stop when in Ensenada.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Local experiende”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a street food, a small car where you can eat local tacos with seafood.
Located in the intersection of the 1st street with calle alvarado in Ensenada downtown.
Please be advised that hygiene is not the gold of this place, BUT if you really want adventure and enjoy a delicious dish same like a Mexican eat a taco, this is the place because you will notice this car in better conditions than other places.
Sea urchin, sea cucumber, oyster, "machas", clams, shrimps, mussels, are just some of the different options that you can add to your tacos. price is adequate to the amount and the dish and do not expect to spend more than 10 dollars ( for 2) if you just taste the dishes.
Do not visit Ensenada and skip this place, really you must try and taste at least one of the different options in the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Street Vender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Had no reason to leave the cruise port until we read other's reviews about this place. Decided to try it and very glad we did. Arrived about 1330 finding out there were only three choices left. Had the sea urchin, crab salad, ceviche, and an award winning combination of sea urchin, clams, avo and lime tostadas. I can not say enough about the taste experience we enjoyed. Took their advice about which sauces to place on each , what a treat. Wish we had arrived earlier to enjoy the other flavors. We asked the bus driver to drop us off passing other street venders with only one or two customers. This one was surrounded by customers. Don't be confused about the location being a cart on the street. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best Tostada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is literally a cart out on the corner and easily missed if you aren't looking for it.

Located on the corner of First Street and Alvarado, it is a jewel of a place for street tostadas. We tried shrimp and the fish tostadas and also the delicious shrimp cocktail served with avocados. Everything was super fresh. BTW, this is Anthony Bourdain's "find" in Ensenada.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guerrerense also viewed

Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 

Been to La Guerrerense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Guerrerense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.