We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop for everyone in Ensenada!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Guerrerense

La Guerrerense
Corner of 1st and Alvarado | Zona Centro, Ensenada, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 190 Restaurants in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must stop for everyone in Ensenada!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Every time I come to Ensenada I have to make a quick stop at this spot. You will always find it filled with people and sometimes a live band playing for you. Sometimes you will be able to see Donia Sabrina preparing the food. Get your tostadas to the right of the cart and everything else on the left... it is so good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    39
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The food is so fresh, so tasty, excellent salsas!! Is the best place i ever ate sea food in the world!! La Guerrerense is so kind and gently person. Almejas, pulpo and cocktail is the best food!! Mango salsa so good!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best places (on the street) for seafood that you can get!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

At "La Guerrerense" you get the quintessential Mexican food experience since it is a small cart parked in a corner and you will be eating standing up. The key of course is the quality and freshness of the seafood (in season you can get oysters bigger than your hands) The menu is not big but they make a lot of combinations, dishes with the same ingredients tend to have a surprisingly different flavor. Everything from a highly exotic sea urchin, scallop and crab tostada to the very basics of seafood. You can let them choose the menu for you (I recommend going that route) or if you are picky about something just ask them to serve you this with that. I know it is sometimes hard to understand that eating on the street can give you a similar or better experience as a gourmet restaurant, but for me is all the flavor and that you will get plenty of!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of the street food congress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had the seafood tostada at their stall at the world streetfood congress in Singapore. I think it was the best thing I ate. The freshness of the ingredients and the balance of spices were impressive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Don't get me wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I went Saturday may 18, 2013. OK, here's the deal. This is a good little cart a few blocks from the main street where the ships dock. Maybe it's because of all the hype that I came in with such high expectations, and yes it probably influenced my opinion. However, the tostadas were just o.k., (with some exceptions which I will get too soon).

First, I had the fish ceviche. Very average to below average, actually not so much flavor - I even added some of the sauces which helped a bit, but somewhat disappointing.

Second, the mixto tostada - better, very fresh with a good variety of shrimp,fish, and octopus, only a few dashes of sauce. I also added some cucumber.

Last, the erizo (sea urchin) and almeja (pismo clam) tostada...... Very good, although the urchin lacked a bit on the flavor...the raw clams were outstanding along with the added lime and avocado. Definitely worth the trip.

There's some great small sea food joints around ensenada and TJ that will make good shrimp and fish cebiche tostadas that will knock you socks off! but hot here. La guerrenses are just ok. with the exception of the sea urchin/clam which was very good.

my advice - go for the sea urchin/clam tostadas, skip the rest. There's some excellent alternatives around town.

PS I didnt try the sea food cocktails or the sea snail, but probably will in the near future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guerrerense also viewed

Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 

Been to La Guerrerense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Guerrerense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.