We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but lacked staff attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estero Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Estero Beach Resort to your Saves list
Estero Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estero Beach, Ensenada 22800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Ensenada
Copperas Cove, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view but lacked staff attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked two days and though I am dissapointed at the service (the sink was clugged, the no towels, the AC didn't work, and I was oversharged, so I had to spend time fixing that), I would say the location is great; especially for Ensenada; next to the beach with awesome views. I would give it a five, but the staff overlooks simple stuff. They need to be more tentative; for being called a resort, I expected that. There were a lot of empty beer cans around the jacuzzi, and the bathroom was not cleaned the second day. Also, don't expect a receipt upon check out as they say they don't give you one exept for the handwritten one you get upon cheking in.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have an excellent view, though you have to deal with some noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    94
    33
    23
    19
See reviews for
75
76
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I spent the weekend at this Resort. Booked through Expedia the day before stay. It is out of the way and a little tricky to find. But it is near a lot of things like Walmart and SAM's Club. Everything went well at check in as it took less than 5 minutes, Porters helps us with our bags from the parking lot. (Where one checks in is quite far from where your room is The room was not modern but very comfortable (two Queens) and spacious (No Flat screen TVs or expansive Digital Program in English - No ESPN/CNN in English). We had a 2nd floor room facing the pool with a balcony and it provided a lovely view. Everyone from resort was very hospitable and friendly. When I needed direction, they steered me in the right direction. Spas were hot and my kids say the pool was fun. Plenty of seating and had couple of bars, (1 in the pool). Parking was close by, but no elevators. (But not necessary for two story building). It seemed many of the people we encountered had stayed there before. My only disappointment was with the Beach. While there were many Beach activities, the beach was small and to be honest, uninviting (the very opposite of the Pool area). The restaurant food was good, but the menu for lunch and dinner was the same. For those who like sushi, there was a sushi bar in the restaurant. Good News was there was a lot of Eateries within 20 minutes of the hotel if you had a car (along with an excellent movie theater with movies for those who need to see them in English). All in all we had a very,very pleasant stay there. One other point, Ensenada was not very hot in June (AZ was 117 and Ensenada was 80), so pool and Beach water was a bit chilly (it seemed to stop no one from swimming in the pool or enjoying the hot tubs)...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I loved this hotel. I went with my girlfriend for a get away and hit the wineries on the way home. We had a ocean front room which we loved! The pool rooms are nice as well but you have to listen to the kids play. The restaurant is good a lot of American and Mexican entrees to choice from. Service is wonderful. Everyone is very friendly. Bring your fishing pole! Great fishing wall and beach right there. Seals playing in the water. I cant wait to go back! Wineries are a must. Your missing out if you haven't been yet. VERY safe and comfortable. You feel like your in Sonoma! Easy day trip from San Diego.

Room Tip: Ocean not pool if you want peace and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are residents (Permante) of Estero Beach. For the past two years we had stopped going to the restaurant because the food/service was not comparable to previous years.

We went and talked with the new manager of the restaurant and were pleased with his philosophy, causing us to order a dinner (off the menu but they were delighted to prepare).

It turned out to be the best dinner we have had at the resort in about 10 years. Just outstanding.

It's obvious they are trying to upgrade the restaurant and the menu.

Congratulations to the Management and the staff for such a great meal. (Crab stuffed shrimp)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Estero since 2008 (see previous review). We're from California and I can't tell you how many people tell us not to go to Mexico because it is unsafe. We've never had any problems, but we do make sure to make the drive during the day and to take the toll road to Ensenada. Ensenada doesn't have 5 star hotels like Cabo or Cancun, but it has it's own charm and is perfect for travelers on a budget. Hotel Estero Beach is beautiful and safe. We LOVE the pool area and the view of the ocean. We just got back from a few days at Estero (May 25th-28th). We were happily surprised by a couple upgrades to our room...a flat screen, larger TV and an air conditioning unit. Also, the restaurant on the property had some new menu items that we enjoyed. It's so relaxing to sit and eat breakfast with the beautiful view of the ocean. Estero is popular and lots of fun in the high season, and fairly empty but romantic in the off season. We love it there and we hope you will too (but not so much that we can't get reservations whenever we want to)! ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My stay at this hotel was because of a wedding, we had a great time at the wedding, but the hotel needs some work, its old it need some renovation, the rooms are overprized. My room was very small no couch or sofa, the water on the showers was salty, I'm not sure why I know we are by the sea but the water should not be salty. For the prices the charge for the rooms I expected a lot more than what I got. The wedding was at the hotel and they do have an excellent view of the ocean, they just need to work on the renovation of the hotel, is too old for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I visited Ensenada Mexico in mid April to check out the crime scene and all the hoopla going on in Ensenada since 2005. We reviewed all the website and found them to be friendly and cautious. So we came and discovered Ensenada and all its beauty. We came in our RV and stayed at Estero Beach RV resort. What a wonderful place. Security was friendly and always around to ensure our safety. The grounds were kept up and they had both 30 and 50 amp receptacles. You need to check this place out if you are RVing or plan to stay in Ensenada. Walking around was like being in Cancun with plenty of places to eat and drink. Friendly people and chartering a boat for fishing was great and inexpensive. Have fun and be cautious by respecting all people in general.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estero Beach Resort

Address: Estero Beach, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ensenada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ensenada
#3 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Estero Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Estero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estero Beach Hotel Ensenada
Estero Beach Resort Ensenada
Estero Beach Ensenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estero Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.