We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Great Landscaping but Rooms are Somewhat Loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estero Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Estero Beach Resort to your Saves list
Estero Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estero Beach, Ensenada 22800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Landscaping but Rooms are Somewhat Loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

There are only two negatives about this hotel. The rooms are built from thin walls apparently since you can hear everything: feet, coughing, sniffling, laughing, talking, etc. Luckily most of the people who stay here are out for the whole day and I had a chance to nap since I was exhausted from driving 7-8 hours from Tucson, AZ. The only other negative was the lack of English channels. I like to fall asleep to TV for about an hour every night and I didn't understand any of the channels so couldn't feel "at home" about that. Also, the maintenance guy is great. We had no running hot water for showers and he fixed it within 20 minutes (but forgot to tell us it's running) yet we eventually figured that out. The outdoors section of the hotel is fabulous. The rooms get a small patio where you can sit and watch people play ping-pong or swim. The restaurant is great and the staff seemed friendly but very shy. I did like this hotel and comparing it to others in the area, it's really great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    105
    34
    26
    19
See reviews for
82
81
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is amazing and the staff is most helpful. The hotel is situated on an estuary with many rooms having spectacuar views of the evinvironment, sunsets and estuary. This is a one of a kind place and pictures do not detail everyting. The hotel has a webiste -- Google Estero Hotel Ensenada. The hotel is seculeded and has good security, something all visitors should appreciatte. I stay here because it is good, I feel safe and I have a great time. The facilities are in good condition and the pool area is always a party for families, not spring break mentality. Anyone who has posted negative things about the staff here is the negative person. I have never had a negative expience and this is my third trip here and about my 30th trip to Ensenada. Viva Mexico.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here during a birding tour trip of Baja. We were fortunate to have a private tour of the
cultural museum by the owner, himself. Great little museum and great host !!! Room was large
and had all the amenities. Overlooked the pool and bay - very nice ! Easy birding walking
along the malecon. Breakfast also overlooking the bay and very nice. Margaritas were included
for dinner. Safe and secure and within easy driving distance to "la bufadora". Would stay here
anytime in the Ensenada area !!!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at Estero Beach from February 15-17. I have been travelling to this resort for over twenty years. It was built in the 50's and you can tell. The thhing that makes Estero so attractive is that the facilities are very well maintained and the staff goes above and beyond to serve the guests. I had requested a room that we love and have stayed in before and they ade it available for us. It is a family owned resort and maybe that is the difference. Stay here and i promise that you wont believe you are in Ensenada. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The Maya rooms will have a better view of the ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel represents fantastic value for money. The rooms are quite large and very comfortable and clean. The staff went out of their way to help us with directions, taxis, anything! They couldn't have been lovelier. The pool area is fantastic. Food in the restaurant isn't great and the cocktails are too sugary and low on good liquor but at this price, one can't complain too much!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay @ Estero Beach! We rented a condo and it was really nice and roomy. I felt very secure @ this resort. The pool was very clean & the service was EXCELLENT! I would definitely stay here again. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were a group of three families visiting Mexico for the first time. After reading lots of reviews we decided to book Estero Beach Resort which seemed to be the best among the questionable other properties. We were very apprehensive given couple of bad reviews we had come across. However, our experience was in line with majority of the good reviews. See below for the details that may help everyone.

This property is as serene and beautiful as it gets. Its a two storey resort with spacious rooms. Multiple pools and heated multiple jacuzzis. The whole back side of the resort opens to beautiful ocean (its a bay actually) and mountains. The landscaping, roads, RV park are very well maintained. There is a large full service restaurant in the resort with excellent Mexican menu. Since most of our friends were vegetarians, we were surprised to find good choice of veggies, cheese and egg based food items. They have 4 tennis courts, 1 outdoor table tennis, bicycles (for rent), running tracks, all of these kept our group very busy for 4 days. The rooms, area, courts, halls and pool was spotless clean at all times. The staff was extremely courteous and prompt. The rooms do not have fridge or microwave but when we asked them for these, immeidiately they sent those up for our rooms. This resort also has an excellent museum on-site. Curious kids can easily spend couple of hours studying the replicas of ancient Mexican artificts and reading about history. This gated property also hosts private houses near the resort. There is no elevator given this is a 2 storey resort. The employees helped us get our bags up promptly though.

Couple of things we did not like are: (1) the Television picture was unclear in two of our 3 rooms. Those were analog TVs and probably the cabling had a fault. (2) Fitness center was closed. The front desk told us it was being renovated (3) Shower water was very hard and had a taint of salt as if it was not fully desalinated.

Obviously, the things we did not like were miniscule as compared to the overall excellent experience at the resort. We stayed at Estero Beach for 4 days and then went to stay at Rosarito Beach Hotel on our way back to San Diego. One disclaimer is that we stayed at this resort during slow time (last 10 days of Dec) so we did get lot of personal service and attention from the resort employees.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view also have ocean view. Second floor is better for peace and quite (no elevator t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estero Beach Resort

Address: Estero Beach, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ensenada
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ensenada
#2 Spa Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Estero Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Estero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estero Beach Hotel Ensenada
Estero Beach Resort Ensenada
Estero Beach Ensenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estero Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.