We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Price & Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Av. Blancarte 130, Ensenada 22800, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 hotels in Ensenada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Great Price & Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

After spending two weeks looking at different hotels, I ended choosing Posada El Rey Sol over the others. What made my decision easier was reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. I booked my stay through Expedia and the prices were unbeatable (for those who have AAA towing services....make sure to take advantage of their discount, I received a $24/night discount). We stayed in a beautiful Mexican rustic style room with two queen beds, a small balcony with a beautiful view, loved the Mayan painting in the room & the bathroom with the traditional Mexican blue tiles was a great touch. Another thing that I loved about Posada El Rey Sol is the attention to the little things....we stayed 3 nights and every day when we returned to the hotel (besides our room bring cleaned) our towels were nicely folded and placed in a fancy way, our tissue box had a little decorative fan/flower, our toilet paper had a neat fan. The staff was an added bonus, always had smile on their face & greeted us like they knew us. I want to specially thank Rodrigo the reception manager for setting up a last minute tour to the Viniculas/Wineries, it was an amaizing experience. Overall during our short stay we felt like it was our home away from home. We will definitely return to see the whales migrate to the warm waters. Rodrigo when you have a moment please send me an email with the information about whale watching & any other tours that you may have. Thanks in Advance!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Ms. Rodriguez,

Wow, my staff and I want to thank-you for your wonderful review on your recent stay. We also appreciate that Tripadvisor influenced your booking decision to stay with us above the other hotels in the city. I will have Rodrigo send you more information on the many things to do in and around Ensenada, such as a new open ocean aquarium where you take a 40 minute boat ride to Punta Banda, feed or even swim with 150 blue fin tuna. Ensenada is the center of the wine capital of Mexico and great for tours to more than 70 wineries in the Guadalupe Valley, visit the only cheese cellar in Latin America with cheese and wine tasting for only 10 dlls, or go south and visit the original wineries towards Santo Tomas valley. Anthony Bourdain from the "No Reservations" TV program calls Baja the New Tuscany with great wine and fantastic restaurants. Hope to see you soon in Ensenada, Jean-Loup Bitterlin, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    60
    27
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
60
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff is exemplary, courteous and efficient. Front desk personnel very profesional and bi-ligual. Front Desk Manager, Rodrigo Ramirez, is your best friend in terms of following through on any additional attention you may require. Rooms are of a beautiful decor and equipped with every convenience. The free breakfast just another courtesy this 5-Star Hotel extends to its guests. El Rey Sol Restaurant is world reknowned and has been written up in Gourmet Magazine. ( Excellent food. First rate wait staff and the presentation and service impeccable.)
Security and safety at the Hotel above reproach. I am an American who has resided in Baja, CA - Mexico for over 15 years and would not consider staying in any other Hotel when visiting Ensenada on business. The location is central and convenient to whatever a travelers needs might be.

Room Tip: A room toward the pool area eliminates any noise that might be experienced by spending the night in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ensenadafan, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank-you very much for the wonderful comments on our hotel and restaurant. We strive to always improve our guests experience, as well as inform our employees of the good, as well as the comments that keep us up to par.
We are working on a pet spa stay where our guests can have money saving services with several of the better vets in Ensenada. A new adventure is now available in the bay near Punta Banda, an open ocean acquarium that has a 150 blue fin tuna that you can swim with, or just feed sardine to. We are also coordinating better wine country tours to other local areas.
We hope to have you back soon, so you can enjoy the many options in Ensenada.
Best regards,
Jean-Loup Bitterlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICALI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It is a great value hotel, you get a free breakfast in its french-mexican restaurant. And is strategically located far enough from the bars so you don't have any trouble sleeping with loud music. The staff is very courteous. If you want to go to the beach it is sort of away, you need to take your car to make to the closest beach.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a second floor room, in my last experience here the people making the room services w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo R, Director de Recepción at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Salvador,


We appreciate you taking part of your time to write this gentle review, it's good to hear that you found our staff courteous and that there were no problems during your stay.

We are glad that you also enjoyed our restaurant wich was founded 65 years ago, and still is recognized as one of the most important ones in Baja.

Thank you once again, and we hope to have you back with soon.

Regards,
Rodrigo Ramirez
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we travel to Baja California Sur we stay at this hotel on the return trip. Not what you would expect in the States but for Baja it is a nice place to stay. The parking lot is on the small side if you have a large vehicle. Beds are comfortable. The restaurant is French Mexican cuisine. The food is excellent. I would recommend this hotel/restaurant to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo R, Director de Recepción at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Julie79T


Thank you for choosing Posada El Rey Sol for your recent stay in Ensenada and thank you for taking some time to submit your review.

Having someone returning on various ocassions can only mean we're doing things right, it pleases me to hear that you find everything right.

Regarding the parking lot, we have a second and larger one that is located right next to the hotel where you can park up to an R.V. and has a 24 hour security guard on duty.

We look forward to having you stay with us once again pretty soon.

Sincerely
Rodrigo Ramirez
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were staying at a hotel nearby with a group of volunteers for a project we do in Ensenada. But we heard this place was great for a fast pass back into the US, so we decided to try one night here.
So glad we made the switch!
Rooms are bigger and cleaner than the other place. Staff was very nice and willing to work with us as a group. Only negative is the wi-if is a little troublesome at times but other than that no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo R, Director de Recepción at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sgm718,

Thank you for this kind review. We are pleased to know you had a good stay with us, and that you were happy after switching from another hotel. I'm sure now that you've tried the Fast Lane pass you will definitely want to return to Mexico knowing that you won't have to wait long hours to get across the border.

As for the Internet service, currently we have a 10 MB. service acquired, however, it seems that our ISP is having some problems that will surely be fixed by the next time you come and stay with us.

Thank you for taking time to write this review, and we hope to see you and your group in this your home of the El Rey Sol.

Rodrigo Ramirez
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great place. Amazing breakfast (real white table cloth breakfast included). More of a motel (all external rooms) than a hotel. Definitely not high class by American standards, and there were little broken things throughout the room and the hotel, but really great nonetheless. It feels like a worn out hotel that is past its glorious prime, but keeps up the charm and service. At $55/night (a special), it was more than worth it. I would pay their off season standard rates of $89 (posted in the lobby) just for the comfort of knowing that I wasn't staying in a super fleabag place.

Jacuzzi was broken due to vandalism, and it and the pool were worn out and the finish on the bottom was chipping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo R, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear reviewer,
We appreciate your comment, and also thank you for choosing us as your place to stay in Ensenada.

Currently we are in a stage of steady improvements in both quality and service. We recarpeted the entire hotel two months ago, we have also replaced mattresses, televisions, and we are servicing the jacuzzi and pool, so that they can be fully available for the coming spring-summer season.

We are one of the few hotels in Ensenada that allow pets, and offer complimentary full American breakfast at the legendary El Rey Sol Restaurant included with your rate as well as the Fastlane pass wich allows you to cross the border in less than 20 minutes.

We hope that you'll visit us once again, and take the time to look at different rooms, for we are a boutique hotel and each of our rooms has a unique style of decoration.

Rodrigo Ramirez
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We chose this hotel because we saw pictures of the room and they all looked very nice. The room we got was not at all like the pictures we saw. It was very rustic and smelled so much like it had been cleaned with bleach, that my throat started to burn. I DO NOT suffer from asthma but I'm sure someone who does would have had an attack right there. Well, we had to open the windows and leave the hotel for about two hours, to be able to sleep there. I guess we should have asked for another room but the hotel seemed full since the parking lot was full . Plus, I guess they use the same cleaning system for all the rooms. This hotel says they use non toxic cleaners, I guess they find bleach is non toxic. The parking lot was really reduced. A nice surprise was that breakfast was included in the Rey Sol Restaurant, although only two options were given (bacon and hotcakes or eggs and beans or french fries.) Coffee was on the house. Not that bad for a free breakfast. I would not recommend this hotel. Sorry...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo R, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear travelnut61

First of all, we regret that your stay at our hotel was not the best, as we try to keep our rooms in excellent condition in both appearance and comfort.

Also, our rooms are exactly as they are shown on the websites, but since we are a boutique hotel, none of our rooms are alike, hence, your room may not be the one you look on the web, however, this is the style and decor of the rest of the room.

We are indeed a green hotel, unfortunately sometimes we have people who do not follow the guidelines set by management, and rarely cases like this happen.

As for our parking, we have a second parking lot, which is guarded 24 hours a day by security personnel, and is located right next door from the lobby.

We hope you will consider returning to stay with us one day, and allow us to offer you an upgrade to another room, so that you realize that it was only a misfortune.

Best Regards,
Rodrigo Ramirez
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol

Address: Av. Blancarte 130, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming colonial boutique hotel is located in the heart of Ensenada. You can walk to more than 20 restaurants and coffee shops along the bazaar like streets lined with art treasures, each one more unique than the next.The intimate and friendly atmosphere will allow you to feel like this is your home away from home. The staff will point you in the right direction for whatever you are seeking.Come and experience our warm & friendly hospitality!Our staff will help make your visit to Ensenada a stay to remember filled with a variety of activities such as wine tours, whale and fishing trips, restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol Hotel Ensenada
Americas Best Value Inn Ensenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Posada El Rey Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.