We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Nicolas Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
San Nicolas Hotel and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   First Street and Guadalupe, Ensenada 22800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Ensenada
Ventura, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here based on TA review. We were very disappointed. Our room smelled old and musty with chipped tiles and peeling paint. We paid for two nights but left after one night. No refund. The front desk staff were not friendly. We will never stay here again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    12
    9
    13
See reviews for
19
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The first time here but just for a day visit.Casino requires u to exchange US dollars for pesos before gambling but when u cash out make sure u are asking to cash u out in US dollars othervise u will end up having all money in pesos (unless u dont mind).Very friendly servers but the food did not impress much.The place is beautiful and very clean.Pool area quiet with nice music and fast service.Overall strong ★★★★

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

This hotel looks great , the pool is spectacular and the staff is awesome. The casino is busy without seeming too crowded and has recently expanded, it's alice with the sights, sounds and energy of gambling, but walk outside to the pool and it is quiet and serene.

This is a great place for a weekend away from any part of Soutthen California to a.clean, friendly, kid-safe escape

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Try the Hotel and you will keep coming back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Went to Ensenada for Valentine's Day, didn't know it was the weekend of the carnival. San Nicolas was the only hotel with rooms available, booked one, got there early on Saturday 2/14. The people at the front desk were VERY nice, and hospitable. Checkin time usually at three, we got to our room at 1pm, which was great. The room was ok, overlooked the pool and gardens there, very pleasant, nice balcony and breeze. Very good value, will come here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We normally stay at Estero Beach but wanted something close to town. We checked the reviews on San Nicolas and decided to stay there. The staff was friendly but the rooms need a lot of remodeling, the bed was hard, we woke up with back pain. The hotel smells like cigarettes .. Due to casino. Do not get room 212 therw us a lot of noise ( music , maintenance etc)

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

On our recent Baja trip, this hotel was the only one we booked in advance, we are glad we did. Location is a bit out of the way, but it is only one block from one of the best steakhouse I have been to, there are pharmacies, and boutiques nearby also. The pool, bar, and dining areas are attractive and clean. The comfortable room we had overlooked the pool & spa. There is a complimentary breakfast included in the room price. There is some remodeling being done in the casino area and off the lobby. The place seemed empty & was one of the quietest hotels I have experienced. The Wi-Fi is good and fast. There also an ATM (bank machine) in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Located at the quiet end of first street therefore was a 10 minute walk from the main tourist area . There are few street lights around therefore I would advise to bring a flash light if walking at night.

We arrived at the check-in time however were told that it would be another hour wait for an available room which was a little off-putting. We were advised that we could sit by the pool/swim in the meantime however we sat at the pool bar instead and ordered a drink, which was slightly expensive for just a soda. Sure enough, an hour later a member of staff notified us that our room was ready.

Check-in was smooth and having heard me speak English the front desk assumed I would be paying in US Dollars therefore proceeded to ring up the bill, however I opted to pay in pesos instead (I had already checked the exchange rate and used it to my advantage).

The room was located on the third floor facing the pool and had a balcony complete with chairs and a small table. The view was lovely as we were able to see the mountains in the far distance beyond the pool and in the evenings there was an outside light which was nice.

The room itself was very dark with the walls and ceilings all made of dark wood although there were plenty of lamps available. The King bed was adequate although not the most comfiest and there was a stain on the top blanket, luckily there was a sheet that we could use instead. The television was old but adequate and there were plenty of electrical sockets available.
The a/c was very effective however it would have been nice for the hotel to provide in-depth instructions in how to operate it.

The bathroom was small and plain looking however I enjoyed the large shower cubicle with a powerful shower and constant hot water. It was also nice to have the hot/cold water knobs on the opposite wall as opposed to being directly under the shower head. Attached on the wall were shampoo, conditioner and shower gel dispensers however there was nowhere to place any of your own personal toiletries.

The pool is used by guests and non-guests therefore it can get pretty busy at the weekend, the best time to use it is during the weekday. The pool itself is relatively new and the depth ranges from 3ft to 5ft. The three jacuzzis were faulty and rarely worked however when they did, the water jets were very weak. The cleanliness of the pool area is much to be desired as throughout my stay I failed to see a member of staff clean and tidy up the pool area. Not the most hygienic of pools when you are surrounded by trash with the occasional serviette floating in the water as you swim. The sun loungers could also do with a wipe down too.

The attached casino was nothing special and we only ventured inside as the hotel had given us two vouchers for a complimentary beer. However I'd advise you to save your time as the "beer" was disgusting and we ended up leaving it after a couple of sips and headed out to town.

If the price was right I would stay at the hotel again however if not, then the hotel across the main road isn't bad (see previous review).

Room Tip: *Located on the third floor is a large painting of the Mexico Declaration of Independence and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Nicolas Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Address: First Street and Guadalupe, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Nicolas Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting over 40 years of experience the San Nicolas Hotel & Casino in the downtown cultural center of Ensenada, Baja California gathers a convenient location and comfortable services by giving you a memorable experience where your comfort is our main goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your San Nicolas Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Nicolas Hotel Ensenada
San Nicolas Ensenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Nicolas Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.