We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ensenada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added San Nicolas Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Nicolas Hotel and Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   First Street and Guadalupe, Ensenada 22800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 36 hotels in Ensenada
La Mesa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Ensenada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I spent two nights here last weekend. Good rooms,older hotel, nice facilities - bar, pool, hot tub, restaurant . The staff is great and I often use this hotel as a launching spot for my trips to Baja. A key feature is the secure parking with a 24 hour guard. While Baja is relatively safe these days I like not having to worry about my truck or motorcycle. I sometimes leave my truck here while moto riding further down the peninsula.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
17
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Although the hotel has good location and good service I had a terrible experience there. Unfortunately my husband and I came back full of bites from bedbugs!!!The rooms are quite old too. I do not recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have been staying at this hotel for years. Im talking over 20 years maybe 30..and ive always loved it. Its close to first street. Has a huge pool and its open late. Rooms are clean and comfy. It has privite parking and staff is great. However this is an older hotel, but although there are much newer hotels, theres something about this place that always brings us back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to Ensenada and to be honest I was a little nervous about the hotel. Fear not! The place felt safe, the room was very clean. I was very happy with the service and the room. Its not right downtown but there always a cab outside of the hotel, for about $8 they drop you off at the action. The hotel also has gated parking which I really liked also. I will be staying there again in the future :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Everything was just fine to celebrate our Labor weekend. They gave us a price and ended up over charging us more than the price they gave us. We were checking out of the hotel, while the valet parking guy was putting our luggage and bringing our vehicle to the front. We were crossing the border, when we realized our U.S passports weren't in the glove compartment, neither were a pair of Gucci sunglasses. We called the hotel and came up with a conclusion that they couldn't do anything about the problem because the lack of evidence. NOT RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I liked this hotel. It has personality. It has an aztec theme to it. Staff is very friendly. Beds are comfortable. Its almost walking distance to the main street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I have stayed at San Nicolas over the years and always return due to the ease of making reservations and the dependable service. From the front desk to the bell hop, everyone is pleasant and helpful. The hotel provides free secure parking with preferred spaces for the guests, while casino guests park in the gravel lot. The rooms are large and comfortable, but this is Mexico, so the wall AC units are a bit noisy and occasionally people running through the halls at night can be disturbing. The location is great, just a couple blocks from the tourist area, and without all the noise and traffic. Easy access, great location, and internet reservations make this place a keeper.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Nicolas Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas Hotel and Casino

Address: First Street and Guadalupe, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Nicolas Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting over 40 years of experience the San Nicolas Hotel & Casino in the downtown cultural center of Ensenada, Baja California gathers a convenient location and comfortable services by giving you a memorable experience where your comfort is our main goal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your San Nicolas Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Nicolas Hotel Ensenada
San Nicolas Ensenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Nicolas Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.