We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay here!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Inn to your Saves list
Desert Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Floresta, Ensenada, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Ensenada
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Never stay here!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

They offer wi-fi, newspaper, Coffe maker, AC, Phone all this is a lie they dint ive you anything the beds are hard the showersare the worst the restauant is really bad i will never come back here the rooms are dirty and old even my remote control was missing the battery plate and they just put tape over it they give u a remote control for the AC and there is not even a broken one inside.. You can hear the water from the toilet runing all night long i got charge a bag of ice then went to pick it up and there was none money still not back imy acct. thank God there was a oxxo (7/11) accross the st. And we were able to find some ice there and there is sings about no alcohol in the rooms they say you can get reasonable prices at the bar but guess what??? I stay for 2 nights and " the BAR" was never open so please stay away from this place.

Ps the pool stink

Room Tip: Dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    7
    7
    9
See reviews for
9
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hollywood
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel is so crappy. there are waay nicer/descent hotels on the main street where all the restaurants are at. when we got there check in time was supposed to be at 3pm. Told us they didnt have the room ready. Didnt check in until 5pm. We were tired, hungry and irratated by that time. The restaurant there does not serve any seafood (WTH, really? in ensenada?) the poor waiter just had the basics of the BASICS in food. ordered some nasty tacos that had boiled meat, which i prayed didnt mess up my stomach. as we were sitting in the "pool area" I wondered what amoebas were growing in there and it completely felt like i was inside an apartment building in LA. People had brought their own food and a grill and were feeding their families. the rooms were dissapointing...bed sheets with stains/ leaky faucets....the only plus side is that they have a guard that watches your car at night since you have to park on this little street by the hotel since the hotel does not have their own parking area. Also, it is walking distance to the main area where there are awesome restaurants like El Cid and Ensenada Bahia which the guard recommended. The actual hotel staff there was sending us elsewhere when we asked for good restaurants. Also, whatever picture this trips advisor shows must be of another hotel. it does not look like this at all!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I thought the negative reviews were just exaggerating but when I got there i found out they were ALL true. When I got there my room was not ready and they were dirty. I booked for one room and they gave us two accidentally, They kicked us out of one room eventhough it was their mistake plus they were rude about it! The hotel is old. The beds are rock hard. There is no parking space. San Nicolas hotel was around the corner and I honesty felt like leaving this hotel. The ONLY good thing about this hotel was that is was not too far from evrrything.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

This hotel was terrible. The pictures show a really nice hotel witha jacuzzi and room really clean. But that's not the case. The bed were really hard and not confortable. We had book the hotel for 4 days.End up leaving the next day. They dont have parking. So you have to park in the street. Not so safe. Terrible service. WE check out the next day and that was in JULY.. we got charge for 4 days and till now we still havent got re-envorse back!! Keep calling the agent and they tell me that they havent heard anything from the Hotel.. SO please dont be fool by the pictures. Is not worth staying there. WE ended up staying at the Best Wester same price and much better!!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

I'm on the third day of a one week stay in Ensenada. So far I think that the hotel is great. The staff are nice but thier english is a little rusty...no prob for me because I'm fluent in spanish. Its a small accomidation, the rooms are modest but cozy. You're a about a five minute walk from the main strip, which means that you can get a quite night of sleep... of coarse when you want to sleep. If you bring little ones I recommend staying on the third floor; the balconies are stucco and preety tall so you don't have to worry about the little ones falling off the edge....we have my mother inlaw on the second floor and they have iron rod balconies that a little one can squeeze through. The pool area is great. Theres a cool little covered patio in between the bar and the pool where you can enjoy the ice cold cervesas they have or nice margarita. One nice thing about this place is that theres an Oxxo right across the street. There basically like a mexican 7-11. The rates here are similar to the spots you find right on the srtip, but this place has just a little more to offer than those similar priced ones. If you don't feel like walking for food they have a restaurant downstairs thats pretty good. Not as cheap as some of the other places around town but its pretty good food. If you want a good recomdation on a good restaurant , you want to check out LG Restaurante...great food at a great price.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

This is a cheap and very basic accomodation. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean, but you can sleep at the Corona Hotel, which is only 150 m. away for just 10 USD more, and it is a more suitable option.

The hotel is better than the ones that the Desert Inn chain has in Loreto or Guerrero Negro, but in ensenada you have other options.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

9 friends of mine and I stayed here for my bachelor party. We got four rooms with adjoining balconies. Staying at this place was fun. it is a little bit of a walk from most of the action in Ensenada, but still fun. We bought insurance and parked three cars out front and did not have any problems with burglary. Better safe than sorry!

Obviously this place is not flawless and is probably comparable to a US Days Inn or Motel 6. It is priced well and provides a good place to party. The beds are not heavenly soft, but again, this is a cheap hotel even for mexico. If you are not afraid of this sort of thing and are looking for a party, this is the place to go.

Ensenada was great of course. Amazing fish tacos, good beer, and fun times. It sounds like the families did not enjoy their stay and romantic getaways def should stay away! But if you are going to party, check it out!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn

Address: Floresta, Ensenada, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Ensenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.