We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY and Very Run Down - NEVER AGAIN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Villa Fontana

Days Inn Villa Fontana
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Villa Fontana to your Saves list
Days Inn Villa Fontana
Avenida Lopez Mateos 1050, Ensenada 22800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Ensenada
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DIRTY and Very Run Down - NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Not sure which room or nights the other reviewers had, but I'm actually shocked about the positive reviews others have posted. We booked this place through hotels.com and I expected far better on the cleanliness and basic maintenance. I have stayed in many motels/hotels and resorts throughout Baja, and this place was just inexcusable. Everything in our room was broken and covered in dirt and grime. The TV didn't work, the phone was missing the cord, the bed had springs sticking through the mattress, and we couldn't get hot water for more than a few seconds before it would cycle between luke-warm and frigid cold. We notified the front desk, and although apologetic, there wasn't anything they could do since it was a very full night due to Carnival. The location is good, but I would never come here again. We came home and took showers since just staying there made us feel dirty.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
7
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We payed $65 for that Friday Night. It served the purpose of sleeping for the night. If I was going to say more then one night, I would have stayed at the Best Western across the street.

Bath towels are thin, and bathroom facilities were adequate but well worn.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Park your car, you are there! It is not the Westin but for the price of this place you get friendly helpful service. The front desk staff has been there for years and everyone is nice to you. I have stayed all over Ensenada but me and my family keep choosing Villa Fontana.

  • Liked — Staff,Location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

So we decided to head to Ensenada for the weekend, I looked at some of the reviews and decided to take a shot at it anyway. The location is great, you are right in the middle of everything, the beach is with in walking distance. You cant beat the price ~$87 with AAA discount. The décor is old but it isn’t dirty. The balcony view was great, a little noisy if you are a light sleeper but nothing major.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

I did not make a reservation I just walked in to front desk.

We stayed just one terrible night.

It was very noisy from the discos near this central motel.
And all nigth wild (drunk?)kids screaming coming back to thier rooms.

The pictures shown are maybe from 1960's and theya have not made any renovations using all original furniture and possibly linnes.

I would not stay there ever.

  • Liked — available room
  • Disliked — Loud noise all nigth/ run down apearance
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed at this hotel every time we visited Ensenada over the last 7 years (twice every year). The hotel was a Days Inn. Since the change over, the place has gone down fast. Bottom line, this is a poorly managed low end motel 6 in the center of the tourist area. Expect no service from the management and signs of cost savings are every where. Pool closes at 8 pm, Jacuzzi is shut down by 7 pm. You get a tiny bar of soap, a tiny bottle of shampoo, 2 towels, and 1/10 of roll toilet paper even for a group of 4. Forget about asking for any thing more, the manager will direct you to the liquor shop next door where I think he either owns or gets a commission from. If you need anything done, talk to Milo (desk clerk) and avoid the male manager with PMS. You will know who he is after dealing with him for 2 seconds!! His sense of humor disappeared with his hair. I would not recommend this place for anyone. Best Western, across the street may be a better choice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Management
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

While this place is by no means an outstanding hotel, it definitely got the job done for me and my buddy. The location is awesome -- on a main avenue with great bars, shops, restaurants, and the harbor within a few blocks. I had no problem parking on the lot, and as soon as you park there really is no need to drive anywhere because you are in such a central location. The hotel was reasonably clean (motel 6 is a good analogy) and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I rated this a 4/5 because the great location, decent condition, and great price.

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Villa Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Villa Fontana

Address: Avenida Lopez Mateos 1050, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Norte > Ensenada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Ensenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Villa Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Villa Fontana Hotel Ensenada
Days Inn Ensenada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Villa Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.