We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn something new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodegas de Santo Tomas

Bodegas de Santo Tomas
Avda Miramar 666 | btwn Calles 6 & 7, Ensenada, Mexico
52-617-83333 ext. 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 46 things to do in Ensenada
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1888, Baja's oldest winery continues in the Santo Tomas Mission's wine-making tradition and offers visitors samples of wines, breads and cheeses.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Learn something new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

decent wine from the baja area of mexico, well i had never even heard of it. well worth a visit even if your not bothered about the wine (which you should be) the crackers and chocolate make it interesting. some fine choices of wine and decent quality, well worth the visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    11
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ok
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice experience, but the chocolate was the best part”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went to several wineries in Ensenada area, there are LOTS. This was on our list, so we dropped by (no one was there but us).

The man walked out (after a bit) and advised it would be $ US 40 ($ 20 per person) for the tour, which included samples of 5 wines, olive oil and chocolate.

The tour was good, it was one of the best we saw all day. Very informative.

However when we went to taste the wines, the ones they gave us were not to our taste. Not a fan of the red wines, or any of the wines they provided. Disclaimer, we are not wine experts, just like to taste and drink it. As we progressed he observed we didnt care for the tastes, so by the time we got to the 4th and 5th taste, we were pouring it out.

Trying to salvage the time there, we asked to move on to the oil. He pointed to the cups and oil, and left to do something else. (I have always got bread or crackers, not straight oil), so for me, this was a not good taste. I asked him if we could try a taste of chocolate (after the oil and wine, we needed a palette cleansing), he said they did not have any to provide. (lots of boxes sitting here), he then suggested if we got some wine he could provide a taste. Well, we bought a box from him just to get the tastes out. The Chocolate was pretty good - type was matched to Chardonnay - a white chocolate/nut mix. So, basically US $ 49 later (tour plus chocolate) we left with a bad taste, good tour and ready to give up on the rest of the day. It was better at other places. I think our driver was embarrassed by the experience as well.

Since this review is of Santo Tomas - The area is very nice, the tour is good, and the tasting room very elegant.

Thats really all we can share.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Before my visit there, I didn't know that Baja California produce very good wines, I was pleasantly surprised with their quality and taste.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Mexican Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is the second oldest winery in the americas, They have many labels from very affordable to very expensive, all very good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nogales, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rich in wine tasting luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Everything about this wine tasting venue speaks good taste. The Bodega welcoming salon is rich in style and appropiate for a high end wine tasting room. The tour of the old Bodegas is educational and rich in history. A luxurious treat in the middle of downtown Ensenda.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodegas de Santo Tomas also viewed

Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 

Been to Bodegas de Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodegas de Santo Tomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.