We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent French cuisine for 1/3 the price of USA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rey Sol Restaurant

El Rey Sol Restaurant
Avenida Lopez Mateos 1000, Ensenada 22800, Mexico
011-52-646-178-1733
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 181 Restaurants in Ensenada
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent French cuisine for 1/3 the price of USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

So many good aspects of this great restaurant, which dates to the middle of the last century. The sidewalk dining area is very nice, but the real deal is inside the main dining room. Great menu, great service, very good wine selection featuring some of the best labels from nearby Valle de Guadalupe wine region of the Baja peninsula. Seafood dishes are terrific, and the filet mignon is awesome. This family-owned business knows how to do everything the right way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Owner at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic comments, we pride ourselves on being Mexico's oldest French restaurant with 66 years of experience. We focus on our original recipes and quality that remains until this day. We hope to have you back in our dining room soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    38
    26
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consistently the best meals and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The meals and service of this fine dining restaurant are internationally recognized. Have been eating here nearly 30 years whenever In Ensenada, B.C. Salad, rib-eye, wine and dessert run USD$25-50 (300-600 M.N.) depending on your wine selection. Given the superb wine list you may well spend beyond your budget so beware. Service by long time waitstaff is excepcional although at times it can be a bit delayed. Just order drinks and prepare to relax while your great meal is being prepared. Food choices vary widely from burgers and fries to calamari, beef and fowl. All have been consistently prepared each visit. After a long day of walking and shopping I have found the best way to wind down the day is spending quality time with friends at El Rey Sol.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Owner at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and preference, we are proud to have customers like yourself. Our mission is to give the best customer service, provide quality through our extensive menu, and to let us be part of your wonderful life. For that, we thank you again. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came for breakfast. We enjoyed the patio, but would sit in the restaurant next time for a better ambience. The restaurant was clean and the service was great. Reasonably priced for the quality of food. You may think you can find similar in the states, but I the selection of entrees were somewhat authentic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Owner at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our award-winning restaurant, El Rey Sol. We pride ourselves on our experience of 66 years, we focus on offering quality cuisine following our original recipes. We like to think we are a little piece of beautiful France's heart. We hope to see you back soon in Ensenada, enjoying our extensive menu and wines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“One night great, next night not so much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I first ate here three nights ago and everything was terrific. The food was excellent particularly the chicken in a sauce with prunes, the decor was nice and the service was fine. I would have given El Rey Sol a five star rating based on that experience. It was so good I decided to return and tonight the service was poor. To begin with there was a large shard of glass under the table. Even though the restaurant was empty it took over 20 minutes for the waiter to take my order and this only happened when I tracked him down. Then it took another 20 minutes for my salad to arrive and again this only happened after I got up from my table to find my waiter. At least the food was good once again. The restaurant is expensive by Ensenada standards but inexpensive by US standards.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“I dont know about the past... but these days is good, very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Staff is friendly, location is great, street watching is superb, the food is very good and the desserts, hmmm yes, the desserts, those are outstandingly (if that word exists!) good! Anyhow, if you made it to Ensenada, do yourself a favor and do try to eat or at least have dessert here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotter60, Owner at El Rey Sol Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sergio, My staff and I thank-you very much for your very positive comments about El Rey Sol, Mexico's oldest French restaurant with 66 years of experience. My mother, know as dona Pepita, was the founder in 1947, left us many great memories, recipies, and a focus on quality that remains until this day. We have received the 5 Star Diamond award given to the top 50 restaurants in Mexico for the past 9 years. We hope to have you back soon in Ensenada, enjoying our great local wine, as well as great food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rey Sol Restaurant also viewed

Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
Ensenada, Baja California Norte
 

Been to El Rey Sol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rey Sol Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.