We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of my year, every year.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Verdugo's Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baja California
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martin Verdugo's Beach Resort
Save
You added Martin Verdugo's Beach Resort to your Saves list
Mar de Cortes | Los Barriles, 23501, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 359 Hotels in Baja California
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best of my year, every year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was my 5th consecutive year visiting Verdugo's, and it again was a great week. You get treated like family (not the family you avoid and dread seeing at the holidays, but ones you really like), the fishing's great, the resort is really taken well care of, and the price can't be beat. It's the best week of sleep I get every year, on top of everything else. The only category I gave less than a "5" rating is the restaurant, as it's only open 'til mid-day. If you're on the water (as almost everyone is) all day, no issues. But if not you'll need to leave the resort. The good news is that there are plenty of places to get a meal within a short walking distance, so it's really not any inconvenience. You have the option of a room with kitchenette, too, so if you make the short walk to one of the two grocery stores you can stalk up on rations and be doubly-covered. There's a nice pool on the edge of the beach, a great bar also over-looking the beach, and free wireless. Everything you'll want and need...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

having missed last year it was nice to get back to the east-cape,the resort just like the fishing was the very best layed back but lots of fish.this year was not full as other years but all the staff and boat crews were on top form to make sure we caught lots of big fish from Marlin to Roosters if you are looking for old mexico with great fishing look no further.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

our stay was to fish, everything including the town was very clean, the food was excellent, and people very very hospitable, i will most definitely return, i loved it. and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, Idaho
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

I've been to Verdugo's twice now. Once in February of 07 and again the following June. The February trip was to celebrate my wife's and my birthdays. (I managed to sneak a little fishing in also.) The sun and sand were a fine escape from the long Idaho winter. The food, the pool and the Palapa bar were enough alone to justify the trip. We arranged to be picked up at the San Jose Del Cabo airport. The ride to the hotel was comfortable and enjoyable. Our room was clean and the pool was only steps away. The view from the restaurant was incredible. The fishing in February, I thought, was surprisingly good. This was our first attempt at deep-sea fishing. Ronnie and Poncho, our captain and mate were very professional and informative. In 2 days of fishing they managed to put us on Sierra mackerel, 3 Dorado and a small Marlin. I also caught a couple Permit and a small Roosterfish on flies from shore in the mornings as the sun rose. The wind was a factor. Feb might be best for wind surfing there but don't be afraid to try a trip on a Super Cruiser. The fish are out there. The June trip was with a couple of friends, Bill Paju and Jim Desser. This trip was solely for the inshore Super Panga fishing. Our guides Alfredo and Israel were great. They put us on Roosterfish, Pargo, Dorado, Pompano, Triggerfish, etc. The weather was superb. A visit to Verdugo’s is a comfortable, affordable escape to Baja. If you’re driving your RV this seems to be the place to park. Very well kept and a short walk to the beach. I am indeed looking forward to returning to Martin Verdugo’s Beach Resort as soon as I can.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

have stayed here last few years in may hotel good ,clean,and good for the money.staff our very nice,and helpfull.fishing top class must be one of the best places in the world,it has it all both inshore and offshore,this place is not cabo thankgoodness,but a top class fishing spot with great weather,food,clam sea,it has it all.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — long way from uk
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baja California
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn
2.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
Fiesta Inn Mexicali
#1 of 16 in Mexicali
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
3.3 mi away
Araiza Mexicali
Araiza Mexicali
#3 of 16 in Mexicali
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Araiza Calafia and Convention Center
2.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial-Mexicali
Hotel Colonial-Mexicali
#10 of 16 in Mexicali
3.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lucerna Mexicali
Lucerna Mexicali
#2 of 16 in Mexicali
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Verdugo's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Verdugo's Beach Resort

Address: Mar de Cortes | Los Barriles, 23501, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Baja California
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Baja California
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Martin Verdugo`s Beach Hotel Baja California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Verdugo's Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.