We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Gin House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Gin House to your Saves list
The Old Gin House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranjebaai 1, St. Eustatius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

First of all, I must say, Winair flights are a nightmare!!! Luggage missing for 3 days until you finally go to the airport and look for it and get it your self. Waiting for hours and hours to fly to Statia beyond the flight schedule they give you. Enough said.
The resort was wonderful, we stayed in an ocean view room on the top floor across the street from the main hotel. It was a beautiful room and the view was top notch.
We had breakfast included and it was also great, we ate at different locations each night to shake things up. Walked into town(not an easy task), everything is up hill from the resort, but worth the trip.
Our main goal for this vacation was the diving, 3 dives a day. We were unhappy with the dive center but made the best of it. Wont go into lots of detail but email me if you want any other info.
Would we return? Yes to the Old Gin House, no to the dive center and would carry our dive equipment with us on our laps the next time. So if the luggage was never delivered to us, we could at least dive with operating equipment and masks that did not leak.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
24
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omro, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

The hotel is very well equipped, the large beds are comfortable. The rooms have lots of space for clothes and bags. The rooms are garden side overlooking the pool area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Anything you would need is provided. Shampoo, soap, big towels and 2 bottles of fresh water daily.
The breakfast is way too good!! Beautifully served in a wonderful seaside open air dining area. The hotel has two bars and two restaurants, which are great. The Wednesday Night Bar B Que has the best food!!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

The primary reason to visit St. Eustatius is to dive. We booked our stay through the Golden Rock Dive shop that is associated with the Old Gin House. The entire island has not been touched with commercial development. All the restaurants and hotels are privately owned and unique to the island. They are all rustic, but charming. The Old Gin House is the most charming. There is a welcoming bar with all you need for a pleasant evening. The food is well done and with some flare. We heard as we were leaving that 3 new chefs were arriving as well as a new manager for food and beverage. So, things will change dramatically after this review is posted. Do not expect Marriott luxury. The beds are fine and the rooms adequate. If you are a diver, you know what I mean. We stayed in a triple with garden view. The place was immaculate and well kept. The swimming pool is somewhat small with limited areas for lounging and the landscaping could use a face lift. The real draw to the OGH is its friendly staff. You couldn't ask for better spirited individuals. The OGH is loosely managed by Michelle and Glen who are friendly expatriates. The Dive operation is one of the best. The diving was magnificent.

  • Liked — The rustic charm and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The cardboard stuck in the bathroom window.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

The Old Gin House is a small hotel for international standards but the biggest hotel on the island. The staf is very friendly and helpfull. We found the hotel the nicest place to stay comparing the others only from the outside.

  • Liked — location and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Beautiful view and a peaceful nights sleep! Crisp, clean sheets and modern furnishings. No better place to wake up! The breakfast is hot, fast, and fresh and the staff is warm and friendly.

  • Liked — clean and modern
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2005

The Old Gin House is the best place to stay on Statia. Nice rooms, nice pool, great staff, great food. Book a seaside room if you can...the seaside suites are even better!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Gin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Gin House

Address: Oranjebaai 1, St. Eustatius
Location: Caribbean > St. Eustatius
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Gin House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Gin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Gin House Hotel St. Eustatius
The Old Gin Hotel
The Old Gin House St. Eustatius, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Gin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.