We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, central Beach Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Gin House

Save Saved
You added The Old Gin House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Gin House
Oranjebaai 1, St. Eustatius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Bonaire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great, central Beach Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hotel was pretty laid back and very clean, I didn't have a fridge in my room but other rooms do. You get in the room two free water bottles and a ice bucket. At the flights of stair you can get as many ice as you want. The place is nice and quiet, every day there is something different at the restaurant. You get a big bed fluffy pillows and a nice flatscreen tv with lots of channels. Free Wifi! There is a continental breakfast or you can just order from the menu. The beach is 1 minute from the hotel, just a walk away. The staff was very polite and always there to help you. I had a great stay. The place to stay on Statia!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for a ground level room with a fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
18
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I made a solo island hopping trip to go diving and was referred to the Old Gin House by the dive shop that I used, as well as the wonderful online reviews of the hotel. I must say that this hotel is awesome. It has a very laid back feel and is clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly from the moment that I arrived and helped to ensure that I had a taxi waiting for me at the airport upon my arrival.

The hotel is clean and my room was very spatious. The air conditioner worked VERY good (Brrrrr!) and the view was awesome. The bar was convenient and the restaurant's food was extremely good. Breakfast was included and was more than just your typical continental breakfast. You actually get to order off of a menu! Be prepared to wait quite some time for your food, but that's what "island time" gets you! It's well worth the wait, though!

I am already planning a trip back to Statia and will, without a doubt, stay at the Old Gin House!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
568 reviews 568 reviews
314 hotel reviews
Reviews in 285 cities Reviews in 285 cities
894 helpful votes 894 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is the best hotel in Town. Princess Beatrix stays here when she visits Statia. The Winair pilots also stay here.

The common areas are lovely. The reception is in a lovingly restored Gin House and the bar/restaurant across the street is also very chic. You get a very good Wifi connection here (free but you need a password). If you don't have a laptop, a computer is available in the lobby.

We were in a garden room overlooking the pool with a King size bed and a single bed. The room was small and like an oven without aircon as there is no breeze that flows through. There were no windows--just a mosquito screen and wooden slats over them, so much of the cool air escaped--even though the aircon worked fine. The rooms and grounds could be kept cleaner. The pool in particular asa a lot of bugs--but you are in the tropics. The room was very dark and one of the lamps didn't work adding to the problem. TV is small but you get a decent selection of US, French and Dutch stations with the cable connection.Beds are very soft and so not good for those with bad backs.

Their former chef now works at the Blue Bead restaurant down the road opposite Golden Rock dive shop so they only serve breakfast. (Note Blue Bead is closed from July 23 until October, so you have along walk up the hill inot town for a meal.) They hope to bring in a Dutch check starting in September though. Breakfast is very good. Your choice of eggs, pancakes or French toast plus a selection of cereals, juices, yoghurt, muffins (packaged) and fresh fruit.

Receptionist was very friendly. One of the ladies that does breakfast is very nice too.

There is a tiny black sand beach in front of the hotel. If you are not diving there is little to keep you here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at The Old Gin House in March 2012. The hotel was quite nice, clean and spacious, and seemed to be the obvious choice when visiting Statia. The hotel property is parted by a narrow, main road (but there's hardly any traffic). There are rooms on the hillside and some on the bay side. Our suite overlooked the bay and was one of the best ones on the property (so we were told). Wifi only in lobby area, but connection was quite good. Not a destination for children.

The food was good, although I thought pricey for such a small island. Restaurant service was absolutely sub-par. We were there for a week and could not believe the lack of hospitality the wait staff possessed. Some were outright rude.

Nice room, nice view, nice location, not so nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are more expensive than those across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed at the OGH for one week in early May. Location is good, has waterfront and about 5 min walk from the Golden Rock Dive Center and Scubaqua. The rooms are spacious and fairly clean. A few staff try to be helpful but some seem indifferent. The pool was not filled and the wifi is limited to lobby and beach bar. Our dive/stay package included free breakfast which served better than other free breakfast places in dive resorts (freshly cooked eggs, french toast, and omlets).

Statia is still a Caribbean island undiscovered by most tourists and cruise ships, as it can't compete in beaches with other neighboring islands. This means the restaurant, bar choices are limited (recommend going up the steep hill to town which has better options). Statia has small beaches with black volcanic sand. Having said that, diving is spectacular (also, hiking to volcano I've been told) and if you're looking for a laid back place to relax and don't care about duty free shops and partying noises, you'll enjoy the trip. The island has less than 100 hotel rooms in total and this is the place to be. Recommend the Golden Rock Center.

Room Tip: Try to get the oceanview rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our stay at the Gin House was part of an overall magical experience in the Caribbean. When we arrived in Statia from Ontario, Canada, we had just had what we understand is a typical WinAir experience; a slight delay, followed by several more delays, coupled with no information about flight times. As a result, we arrived in Statia under cover of darkness. When we pulled up to the Gin House, it was lit up with a magical glow. The rooms were spotless and divinely air conditioned, the beds were so comfortable that the island residents we were visiting decided to stay a night as well.
We had great service from front desk to restaurant. Staff were almost always visible and available to help or offer more towels, since wet things never dry in that climate!
There are many common areas such as the open air table and chairs outside of the lobby, the poolside loungers, the loungers on the beach. These areas were all well maintained, very comfortable and ideal for our large group to congregate...or separate.
Our only frustration was that the cost was significantly higher than what we had been quoted. We had been quoted a price of $195 per room, per night, which included all taxes and fees. We were charged $225 per night plus all taxes and fees. The manager explained that the extra charge was for additional guests in the room, however we had made the reservation for the number of rooms and explained how many of us there would be.
That being said, I have plans to return to the Gin House. Statia is an island worth seeing twice and the Gin House is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The old Gin House is a really nice hotel on St. Eustatius. The setting is quite spectacular in the bay of Oranjestad. The breakfast area is really nice and tropical, right on the sea side and breakfast is actually quite good and included with the room price. You can cross the road and swim right in the sea. There are some down sides: there is no internet in the rooms; only in the lobby area or on the porch you can catch a WiFi signal. Another downside was that most of the times there was no one at the front desk. And last but not least, the restaurant at the hotel was not serving any dinner during my stay there. On the other hand there are other options in walking distance. I would especially recommend the Blue Bead, which is just down the road towards the harbor. Also recommended is the steep walk upstairs to the Fort, just a few steps from the hotel. Spectacular view of the whole bay. All in all, despite of the small down sides i described, I really liked the experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Gin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Gin House

Address: Oranjebaai 1, St. Eustatius
Location: Caribbean > St. Eustatius
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Eustatius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Old Gin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Gin House Hotel St. Eustatius
The Old Gin Hotel
The Old Gin House St. Eustatius, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Gin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.