We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Gin House

Old Gin House
St. Eustatius
(599) 318-2319
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely old Dutch buildings beautifully renovated. Comfortable rooms and beds even if the mattresses are a little too soft. Pleasant swimming pool. The restaurant overlooks the beach and coastline - fabulous location. Restaurant service is Caribbean slow with orders often mixed up. Only 1 minute walk from the Scubaqua dive centre. Access to Oranjestad right behind the hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room was very nice (we stayed in one of the Ocean View rooms). The staff was very friendly (everyone we met on Statia was very friendly).

The location is great. We visited Statia to dive. It's a short walk to the Scubaqua dive shop (literally one minute walk), so diving is extremely easy. It's also a short walk to several nearby bars / restaurants.

The only downside so far as I am concerned is that they only serve dinner one or two nights a week at The Old Gin House. To be clear, dinner is the only meal hard to come by on the premises. They do serve breakfast and lunch every day, as well as refreshments every night.

I would stay at The Old Gin House again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ate dinner there on Barbecue night. Walked in without reservations unknowingly and were till seated and treated very well., Absolutely great food and good price for the food!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good but not excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the Old Gin house in December, the room was very clean and well equipped. However i did struggle to find a bed side plug, was charged an extra fee for the 'Free' Wifi.

The room was a little cold on arrival but it was winter time, breakfast was very good, and well presented, the staff were very helpful and well mannered.

Would stay again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Case, St Maarten-St Martin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this Hotel and it is just beautiful. Quiet, clean and friendly staff.
The rooms are cleaned thoroughly everyday, they are really well kept. The beds are probably the comfortable I have experienced in any hotel.
Thanks for a great few days and we will be back!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Gin House also viewed

St. Eustatius, Caribbean
 

Been to Old Gin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Gin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.