We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Lucky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Manglares

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Manglares to your Saves list
Playa Manglares
Km16, Via Playa Blanca, Isla Baru, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Extremely Lucky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were extremely lucky to end up at Baruchica as the choices are limited for a few days outside of Cartagena unless you have a major bankroll to spend. If you are looking for a place that is neither a cookie cutter resort nor a high end spa this is the place to relax and meet fellow travelers (mostly from South America). Olga, Marcello and staff are wonderful people who make you feel at home and help you explore the area. The food and rooms are excellent. If you like birding bring your glasses and enjoy. Ask Olga if you can go with her as she drives around to get the freshest local fruits,eggs and fish and you will see a real slice of coastal Colubia which 99% of tourists miss.Olga is a very special person who makes sure everyone is involved in the dinner conversation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Playa Manglares, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
What a lovely review you had give to us. Thank you to yo and your lovely daughter to com and being part of our daily life during those magical days. We´ll never forget you. Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time! The setting will take your breath and your concerns away. Olguita is an amazing hostess who goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is unforgettable. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Playa Manglares, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you Helda, for you very nice review ! December would not be the same with out your visiting us.

Best regards for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

From all the places I've been and will like to go back, baruchica will be the first to pick, it is what I call a vacation a chance of pace, a place where you can leave the hectic world behind to gather your thoughts to look ahead, and when the sad time comes to depart you take with you the energy and refreshingness to go on
Every breeze and every leaf seems to care about you and not even mention the kind words and delicious food to fill and nourish your heart and soul
thank you dear Olguchica for your hospitality

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Playa Manglares, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you dear Angela. We will always waiting for you and your dear family to come back and take care of all of you.
Love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I don't have all the words to say how beautiful Baruchica is! My girlfriend who is originally from Colombia booked our stay here last month. Olga and her staff couldn't have been more professional, sweet and made us feel at home from the second we arrived. We came from Playa Blanca and enjoyed a beautiful outdoor shower. They then cooked us a fantastic fresh dinner, salad, fried fish caught that day, coconut rice and platanos. We relaxed in the hammocks and enjoyed such a nice sleep, so romantic enjoying the balcony view as well. We woke to a declious breakfast of fresh banana and papaya and fresh juice! We enjoyed a nice walk on the private beach taking in all the scenery after breakfast. The two girls who work for Olga couldn't have been more sweeter and capped our experience there. I honestly can't say enough about our experience here and wish the best of luck to Olga as they are building another house on the grounds to expand. I can't wait to go back and see their additions. Thank you so much to everyone there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Playa Manglares, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very mucho to both of you for this great description of the Baruchica ; Thank you also for the very nice pictures and the great wishes. We hope you will come back soon!

all the best for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is just a beautiful ecolodge!lovely atmosphere, tasteful décor, excellent location but most important of all was Olga who made us feel like home opening not only her house but also her heart offering an unforgettable experience!we were very well looked after, lovely meals! (Albita cooks with love! that's her secret!) and they also helped arranging transfers from Cartagena as well as to Playa Blanca for much fair prices than the ones you get on your own and making sure you are safe first!we became very fond of this place and we hope to be back soon...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Playa Manglares, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear friends from Bolivia; we enjoying very much your presence with us, the all histories about the beauty of your country and your special way of being.

Thank you very much for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Baruchica, like it's owner Olga, is magical. My wife and I spent 1 week there last summer lolling in the hammocks, picnicking on the nearby beaches, and swimming in the sea. We explored the island with our hostess who knows and is adored by absolutely everyone, so we journeyed to places that tourists rarely get to see. The compound itself is nestled in the trees on the edge of the bay, perfectly integrated into its enviornment. BBQs at night, sleeping almost under the stars. An unforgettable experience.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaPaulhiac, Owner at Playa Manglares, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Erik and Katherine. to have you here was the must remarkable experience of the last year. I always dream the bebe start here! all my love. Thank you for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Manglares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Manglares

Address: Km16, Via Playa Blanca, Isla Baru, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Isla Baru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Manglares is a very quite place for people who want few days in close contact with nature. 45 minuts from Cartagena de Indias, on the main road of the island , 10 minutes to Playa Blanca,The houses located in front of the nice beach at the beautiful Barbacoas Bay. To spend some time in relax on the hammock under the mangrove, it's one of the plans at Playa Manglares. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Playa Manglares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Manglares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.