We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, but if you look too close, you will see the flaws.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Baru

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Baru to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Baru
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km7 Via Portonaito, Isla Baru, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Baru
Certificate of Excellence
Santo Domingo Province, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing location, but if you look too close, you will see the flaws.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this place, and it was decent for an all-inclusive resort. To get to the resort you must drive thru the poorest part of the city, and it is quite depressing. Once at the resort, the beach and the pools look beautiful, and they are until later in the day you see things that don't seem right....like a fecal floating in the pool...and then when you tell an employee about the fecal, and he just scoops it out. The pool doesn't close, people just keep swimming. My husband caught a nasty eye infection that day. The good news? They had a nurse on staff...bad news..they gave him a very weak antibiotic so his eye infection spread to both eyes and lasted over 2 weeks and he had to visit another dr during our vacation because his eyes kept getting worse. I keep thinking how unsanitary those pools must have been....yuck. The food was ok, don't expect to have fine dining.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    680
    233
    87
    45
See reviews for
629
887
25
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights this August with a large party of friends, both Colombian and British. The hotel was not very busy, probably because it's the low season in Colombia, so this meant that there were never any queues for food or service at the bar. We also always got loungers both at the pools and on the beach.
The location is stunning. Once you've gone over the rickety ferry and the bumpy bus ride, it's totally worth the effort. Uninterrupted views out over the island and a beautiful beach curving out to the horizon. Because we were a large group we were offered drinks while we waited to be checked in. We also got given our wristbands early to get some lunch after the drive over.
Unfortunately we were then directed totally the wrong way to our room, which in the heat of the day was not great, but once we found it were pleasantly surprised. Aircon works and is hugely needed.
There are four pools all of which are clean and tidy, with free towels available and a range of activities. You can also head down to the private beach with lifeguards on duty. Both the pools and the beach are cleared at 6pm.
Food at the decameron was really good. There was a lot of choice, from local specialities to more standard fare. One of our nights seemed to be Mexican night and the chimichangas, tacos and fajitas were brilliant. The various bars are well stocked and service is friendly and helpful.
The only reason this doesn't get five stars is because of the misdirection to our room on arrival and the chaos to get on the right bus on departure. Both of which happened in the heat of the day and with no shade. Apart from this, thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Block 1 is the best with the sea views and direct access to the beach. But beware of the numbering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a great weekend there....my wife and I are from Bangladesh and were in Colombia for a work assignment from my office. Since we got married very recently we wanted to go somewhere nice and were referred to this place. Its just as great an experience as it sounds. The service is fantastic and the environment was very relaxing. Food was good, room comfortable, beach was clean and lots of fun activities....well mannered staff. Only issue was it took about an hour and half to get our luggage delivered to the room.

Room Tip: Book in advance by a few months to get good deals....or else can be a little expensive. Although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The prices are affordable, yet the most expensive Decameron there is. Amazing location and a very nice infrastructure. If you like the "All inclusive" type of vacations, this is definitely a top 5 hotels to go. They have great facilities for this. and tons of services. But it's way too crowded.

For me it was not the place to go. I like to walk along the beach and be sort of alone, or with few people around, meaning, no lines for a restaurant, no curfew, being capable fo reserve the menu restaurant by phone and not having to show up at 7Am. I expect good quality food and I definitely I'm hoping to stay in a Hotel with some sort of Green Policy (at least). Here there is nothing close to that next to the obvious. It's an island so they have to watch out with the water. There is not water during night time in your room.

If you are with a bunch of friends and want to party together and go crazy for a bit. This is the place. But it's not if you want to be in a romantic get away. I appreciated the trying from the Staff as they were in general kind, but the hotel it's just not build for couples.

Room Tip: I stayed in the section 4. It was quite and private. Also very centric. If you can get a higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited Royal Decameron in July 2013 along with 55 others from Trinidad. We are still missing the place! Great service, beautiful grounds and food galore! There was so much to do that you did not have enough time to do everything. The staff are continously working, you never see them idle one moment. The night shows were superb and very entertaining. My huisband and I stayed on the top floor and had a breath-taking view of the beach. We are back home two weeks now and everyone of us is still talking about the fantastic time we had. I would always recommend this place! You cannot give this hotel a bad rating, to do that would be dishonest!

Room Tip: Top floor has a fantastic view of the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is located about 1:40minutes driving private bus transfer from Cartagena city

The hotel architecture and design is superb, pools are nice and the rooms are really good,

The food is more below average compared to other resorts. The wine is below a table wine and very cheap. The coffee super bad and we got abdominal cramps everyday.

The only way to get an espresso or cappuccino is to go to the bar near the reception the other do not have the espresso machine

There was no shampoo provided on the second day, we asked for extra towels and never got them and the towels are super old and already becoming gray

Poor service and POOR MANAGEMENT and they need more personal keeping in mind that they have around 330 rooms and they are fully booked with people from South America . If every room has an average of 3 people there are around 1000 people in the resort, so if they are saving one dollar per person everyday they would save 360,000 $ a year so that is the reason for everything

We paid around 150$ per persona and 125 for our toddler, pretty expensive for the poor service and cheap food we got it

I would never travel there again and/or recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I used to love decameron but after some visits to different hotels you found there is a lot of other options that would exceed your expectations for less money, this hotel is located far from Cartagena city about 1:30 private transfer shuttle, the hotel infraestructure is superb, pools are nice and the rooms are really good, we booked trough hotels.com and found there the room we booked was not available, we almost got into a fight with the hotel manager since he just wanted us steep aside and agree with everything they wanted. I recommend to get a room on the 3rd or 4th block since the hotel is big and you don't want to spend your time walking to get into your room or any of the other services. Beach is narrow but clean, anyway if you don't like to be cramped you can take a small ferry that pass your trough a southern part of the beach where you can find more space and beach chairs to relax. The food is average compared to other resorts. Anyway i would not return to this hotel and i recommend it for someone who just want to enjoy a beautiful hotel building but poor service.

Room Tip: Try to get a Deluxe Room, those are oceanfront and would be central to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Baru
13.4 mi away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#3 of 3 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Scondida
Hotel Playa Scondida
#2 of 3 in Isla Baru
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hilton Cartagena
Hilton Cartagena
#45 of 127 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 127 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 1 in Isla Mucura
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
8.7 mi away
Agua Azul Beach Resort
Agua Azul Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Isla Baru
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Baru

Address: Km7 Via Portonaito, Isla Baru, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Isla Baru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Baru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Baru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Baru Island, the hotel Royal Decameron Baru is characterized by its beautiful white-sand beaches and crystal-clear waters surrounded by lagoons, exotic mangroves and the most spectacular multicolored coral reef. All these factors make the Royal Decameron Baru an exquisite location to rest, enjoy yourself, sunbathe, practice water sports and much more. The Hotel design is modern tropical style, blending in with the natural environment of the zone. This resort is located on Baru Island and only 90 minutes from Cartagena City International Airport. With 4 restaurants, 5 bars, 3 swimming pools, State-of-the-art Convention Center with capacity for 700 people and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Decameron Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Baru Hotel Isla Baru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Baru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.