We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm and tranquil retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunda Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunda Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunda Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19 Moo 3 | Aonang, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 80 hotels in Ao Nang
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A calm and tranquil retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Overall a nice place to stay, nice location, peaceful, two 7.11 shops within easy walking distance, plus Thai boxing stadium close by again walking distance, both swimming pools were cleaned and maintained. Reception staff helpful, drivers always fun and smiling, cleaning staff could do with a little push, not the best. and i would reccomend not to pay for the breakfast in advance certainly not the best ( and we are not fussy eaters) if there are not alot of people staying at the hotel you can get a menu (very limited) cooked fresh however if the hotel is full there is a buffet breakfast and all food was cold! although it had burners underneath they were never alight to keep the food warm, if you ask for freshly cooked eggs every morning, they are fine with this just explain you dont like cold food. as we stayed for 18 days we missed quite a few breakfasts that we had already paid for, however the hotel overall is a good base and we would definatly go back and reccomend but would not pay for the breakfast, in saying this we ate there at night twice when we had a storm and food was lovely, it is a muslim run hotel so no alcohol allowed with your meal but we had a couple on the balcony, Tanya the manager is very friendly and always there to offer advice, All in all a good hotel, and would def go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    162
    43
    16
    4
See reviews for
30
114
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night at the Sunda Resort March 2, 2013. We were impressed with the lovely setting amongst the lush vegetation and the quiet nature of the resort. The two pools were spotless and we had them almost all to ourselves. The rooms while basic are clean and comfortable. The one downside to the room is that the door to the room is a glass sliding door with no screen so in order to have privacy you need to have your curtains closed when in the room. The breakfast was not the most extensive that we experienced while away but it was adequate. Please note, there is no alcohol served in the restaurant.
The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, amazing value for the money and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a door versus a sliding glass door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

hi,
we stayed here for couple of days.
hotel was above expectation......
good rooms, excellent and friendly staff, free tuk tuk service to ao nang,
overall a very great experience staying at Sunda resort.
recomended.

Room Tip: you can choose a pool view or a garden view room both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sunda from 4th to 7th February 2013.
It is such a calm relaxing place, but only a 5 minute ride away from the centre of Ao nang and the beach. You could easily walk, but it was so hot, we decided not to.The hotel runs a free shuttle service. You have to phone to get them to pick you up again, but don't worry if you don't have a phone as the shopkeepers are more than happy to phone for you.
Our check in was smooth and we were greeted with a cold strawberry drink.
The rooms were simple but spotlessly clean. The shower rooms were open, although ours did have perspex so we didn't get any unwelcome guests (Bungalow 114). Our son's bungalow (113) only had a perspex roof and often had gekos in and out. No snakes found their way in.
The room was a little dark, but only to be expected with all the lovely trees and vegetation surrounding it. Our balcony was next to a stream and we thought there would be a problem with mossies, but all was OK.The evening meals were freshly cooked, tastly and substantial, as was the choice. Breakfast was a little disappointing on the first day. It was buffet and in fairness we did go to breakfast late so there wasn't much choice. However, once you knew what to expect, it wasn't too bad. The cost was reasonable and a lot less than our last hotel. Fruit juice 50baht, fruit shakes 100baht, chicken in oyster sauce with rice 100baht, desserts were about 90 baht.
My husband hurt his back whilst we were there and the staff were marvellous. They rang round to different doctors to find the one that would come out to the hotel for the least money. As he couldn't walk to the restaurant, they made up his meal so that it could be taken back to the room.
Because he stayed in the bungalow all day one day, the cleaner couldn't come in, but she left a bag of fresh towels, toilet rolls etc at the door
One swimming pool was in the shade, the other in the sun. The one in the sun was having new gardens planted and there were three new ponds there too.It'll be great once it's all established.
This is a muslim run resort so no alcohol.
It isn't a place for young people wanting lots of entertainment and night life. It is very peaceful and laid back.
Everyone was pleasant and helpful and we would definately go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sunda Resort at the end of January 2013. We booked a pool view villa for 4 nights. The first night we got villa P06 with a connecting door. We didn’t like this villa because the connecting door gave a lot of extra noise and the view from the terrace was terrible. We couldn’t see the pool from the terrace because it is facing a noisy machine room used for cleaning the pool. The last three nights we stayed at villa P17 which was much better. This villa had no connecting door and the terrace had a side view to the pool.

Both villa’s had the same large size. We found them very comfortable. The cleaning was done well because both our villa’s were clean all the time. The semi outside bathroom was fine but needs some improvements. Because it’s an open bathroom mosquito’s can easily come in. So keep the door to the bedroom closed! The shower was terrible. Water was spraying everywhere but not on our body’s. Water pressure was quite low also and water temperature was quite cold most of the time. The floor of the shower was made by three big stones which we found uncomfortable. Most of the towels provided were worn down (see picture). They definitely need to replace them.

The villa’s are situated in a nice garden. It gave a beautiful tropical feeling. But they should take care about the plants. Some of them were dried out and we missed the flowers. The buffet breakfast was simple but enough. We liked having breakfast outside every morning. We had dinner at their restaurant two times and the food was fine. A little more expensive than in town but the meals were very tasteful. The staffs at the the reception and at the restaurant we very friendly and helpful all the time.

Despite the necessary improvement we were very happy with our stay at the Sunda Resort.

Room Tip: Avoid villa's with connecting doors. A lot of noice is coming through these doors. Only a few of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very relaxing, spotlessly clean, very friendly staff who were very helpful, they have a shuttle bus which is very helpful and can drop you off and pick up at different points in the local area. Tuk tuks very cheap in area anyway. Lovely beaches in area, would recommend. Nice pools to cool off in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was in Sunda resort for 1 week in November 2012. It was beautiful: the resort is surrounded by nature and there are 2 swimming pools. The staff is kind and nice!They have a free shuttle service that takes you to Ao Nang and Nopparat thara beach (10 Minutes) or they rent also scooters. In the morning you could find everything at the breakfast buffet. The only problem was the mosquitoes, but just have mosquito repellant and antihistamine cream and it's all ok!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang
Address: 19 Moo 3 | Aonang, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with us at Sunda Resort, where you will always be welcomed with a warm, friendly smile. You will experience nature at its best in the tranquil, garden setting and are just a ten minute walk to beautiful Nopparat Thara beach. Make Sunda Resort your ‘home away from home’ and discover the true hospitality of Thailand - The Land of Smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.