We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good tropical quiet retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunda Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sunda Resort to your Saves list
Sunda Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 stars 325 Reviews
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Really good tropical quiet retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The basics of the hotel are excellent! The check in process was quick and easy and the staff were professional.

The room was more than adequate and had all modern facilities as you would need including air con, fridge (with free water daily), wifi and satellite tv.

The pool was great and the free shuttle transfers are a real bonus.

The only one thing I would suggest would be to have a better shower, but that is a minimal worry!

Very much so recommended. I am here with two friends for a Christmas holiday break.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    163
    40
    18
    5
See reviews for
31
122
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was there with some friends. We booked the hotel through airasiago (or you can book it from booking.com) 2 weeks before the trip and got a pretty good deal. One chalet only costed us RM80 per night which is considered super cheap. We were served with a welcome drink upon arrival and were given keys to the rooms. The rooms are very spacious and clean with free wifi. We had some problems with one of the safes in the cupboard and the friendly staff came over straight away and fixed it for us.

Transportation is fairly convenient. They provide free tuk tuk rides(big ones which can fit more ppl unlike the 2 seater ones in bangkok) to the Ao Nang street which is less than 5 mins away. Call the hotel any time before 10pm and they will send you back to the hotel.

They have different prices for rooms facing the garden and the swimming pool. Of course those facing the pools are more expensive but the pools are just a small walk away from our chalets so that didn't really bother us.

The good thing and also bad thing about this hotel is, its further off from the street. Compared to other hotels which are just walking distance from the Ao Nang street, you will definitely need a ride to the hotel and the road to the hotel is extremely dark and deserted, which is also a good thing because you can have a good night's sleep without noises from the night life on the streets.

Overall, RM80 a night for a stay like this is really a steal. We really enjoyed our stay there!

Room Tip: Whether the room is facing the garden (cheaper) or facing the pool doesnt really matter because they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had been to sunda in september with my friends for a vacation. Its a pleasant place, cool, calm and something which one would like to have for a vacation.
The beach is near by, so no hassles as they have the free tuk tuk service.
You can also rent a bike, if you'd like to for a small amount.
Also, the staff is very friendly, the smiles on their face just remove your tiredness after a long journey one takes to reach there from any part of the world.
Even not being well versed with engligh, they made sure all our needs were understood and catered to in the best possible way.
We being pure vegetarians, were served veg food and the food was awesome, the hospitality excellent.
Next time I visit thailand its going to be sunda once again.
The place is not expensive and its best for the money infact more value.

Room Tip: Any rooms would do. All rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

this is one of the best hotel service i had. from free shuttle service, internet, free calls, bell-boy, reception - everything. it is oddly located somewhere (i forgot where) but they provide free shuttle service to ao nang and nopparat thara beach - which is very convenient. the pools were just okay and the view is so-so. shower is poorly designed and it leaks to bathroom is always wet after every shower. the ambiance was very nature-y and it was well maintained - even have wild lizards roaming around the canal which is good if you are a fan of nature. may probably be the best hotel service in krabi.

Room Tip: make use of their free shuttle service to ao nang and nopparatthara beach. ao nang to shop, nopparat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had been to Krabi for 3 nights and Sunda was an ideal choice - Its a 45 mins drive from Krabi airport and its set apart from the bustling Ao Nang Beach in calm, natural surroundings.
Despite not being very well versed with English, the staff were very warm and hospitable and all our needs were catered to.

Our package included breakfast which decent- not really the best but definitely not bad at all. The hotel has a number of cottages with clean ,well maintained rooms and a couple of swimming pools to go along with it. The best part about the across would definitely be its location- surrounded by lot of vegetation (it also has a small stream that runs across the resort) and its staff, who serve you with a smile.

Guests get a free pick up and drop shuttle facility (upto 9.30 pm) to the two beaches of Ao Nang and Naparathara which are both a 10 min drive away.
U can get bikes for rent from Sunda too @ 200 Baht a day which is convenient but you pay a bit more than what you can get elsewhere.
We also booked all our sightseeing trips to James Bond Island, Phi Phi etc from the Resort itself and the Biba - the receptionist, helped us get a good discount as well.

We also got a number of useful tips from Tanya,the manager @ Sunda on stuff to do at Bangkok which was our next destination. Overall , Sunda is definitely a recommended place to stay in Krabi!

Room Tip: Just make sure you have a good amount of natural light coming in - sometimes due to the vegetation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently stayed at Sunda Resort and was not at all impressed with the services recieved. The bathroom was not that great and the breakfast in the morning was just ok. My other friends told me for the rates i was staying i could find other property right on the beach front. i went with a group and all my other friends did not enjoy it either. At night there was a lot of noises and we could not get any sleep. the pool is really small and not as big as seen in the picture. I would not want to go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After spending a month in Thailand our last 2 nights were spent at the Sunda resort, and what a fabulous way to end our trip to Thailand. Although the resort is a little out of the way they provide a free shuttle until 9.30pm even though it is only 60baht in a tuk tuk. On arrival we were made to feel really welcome;the rooms were spacious and clean and the pool area was nice and relaxing. On our last day we checked out at 12 but didn't fly until 8pm. We stayed around the pool at the hotel and they had a shower room for us to use before our flight. They even arranged the airport transfer for us! Overall, I would definately recommend staying at Sunda whilst visiting Ao Nang!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunda Resort

Address: 19 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3-star-boutique resort in the villa or bungalow style. The property is provided 48 guest rooms and classified to 3 room types; The Canal Side, The Pool side, and the Garden View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunda Hotel Ao Nang
Sunda Hotel Krabi
Sunda Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunda Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.