We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great pool, overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PP Casita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added PP Casita to your Saves list
PP Casita
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   125/89 Moo 7, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 stars 520 Reviews
Woodland, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location, great pool, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We didn't have a hotel booked when we arrived on Phi Phi and it was a huge scramble to find out. Most of the lesser priced hotels were sold out. We settled on PP Casita despite it being over budget. The location was great, easy walk to the beach and beach bars and close to the action on the walkways, but overall the place is not worth $120 USD a night. The rooms were average, definitely not as nice as the pictures. I still don't get the lack of shower curtains in Thailand, but that isn't specific to just this hotel. The breakfast was mediocre at best. The wifi was terrible, seemed to only work in the early mornings when not a lot of people were on it. The women at the front desk were rude and pushy, we debated staying one more night and asked if they had any rooms, but it took forever for her to give us a straight answer. Do you have a room or not? Yes or no, it's that simple, I don't think asking us if we can pay for it now, if we were already staying there or if we wanted our same room was necessary. The best thing this place had going for it was the pool. If we came to Phi Phi again, we'd definitely book a room before arriving and would not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    222
    141
    39
    33
See reviews for
11
188
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We only found PP Casita upon arrival to Phi Phi. Bungalows are very small. Not very much room with bags etc in them. Tho very clean and really quite cute. Wifi was fast in our bungalow.

Breakfast was included. It was basic - bacon, potatoes, limited fruit and the option of having he chef make omelettes.

Pool was amazing. Small area, never too busy, great place to relax when you feel like a change from the beach.

The beach was 3 min walk. Lots of shops and restaurants right outside. It was close to the nightly beach 'party' and you could hear the music in the distance from our bungalow (pretty sure you could hear it all over the town tho)

I would definitely stay at Casita again! Good value for money!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at PP Casita at the Villa Room, the most expensive as we were on our honeymoon. The room itself was fairly nice, a little bit past it's sell by date but clean enough and not badly decorated but certainly not worth the rate we paid. Additionally you're paying for what is a nice terrace except you never want to go out there, the smell of sewage and other nasty things is overpowering.

Had we paid half the price it would have been a bit more fitting. Overall I've stayed in worse places but you really don't get what you pay for. Be wary before paying the big rate for the Villa room as you will not be getting the luxury you expect. Stayed in central Bangkok for 2/3 of the price in an EXecutive room in a 4 star hotel with free cocktails at happy hour to give you some idea

You are also in the party side of Tonsai here, i.e. the dirtiest, smelliest and loudest part. The noise from the beach bar wasn't as bad as I thought it might be though can imagine it would be an issue in some of the bungalows which are closer to the action and not as insulated

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Moved to this hotel after an awful night stay in another hotel on the island. Found the staff quite rude however the bungalows are nice, clean and the pool was good. Location is three minute walk to the beach, if that, and surrounded by nice restaurants and bars. Wifi didn't seem to work so well in the bungalow however we did end up staying here for a week so can't complain. I would come back here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

PP Casita delivers on the promises in its advertising. Clean, safe accommodation at a reasonable price [not the cheapest or most expensive available]. Not many frills, but overall decent value for money. Pool is good [could use a few more recliners], breakfast standard, rooms a tad old and jaded but kept very clean [linen changed daily]. Staff friendly and helpful. Not too far from the beach but a bit of a long haul from the jetty. The promised "meet on arrival" didn't materialise so there was no assistance with luggage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed out on Phi Phi Island for two nights just prior to Christmas - we had three rooms (my husband and I, sister and son) in the hotel buildings (as opposed to the villa's or bungalows) and the rooms were fine. They weren't as large as most I stayed at during my three weeks in Thailand, but they were clean and comfy enough. The a/c struggled a little, but it was damn hot so that wasn't a surprise to be honest.

The "resort" itself is very cute - laid out in a tropical garden setting with the bungalows (which looked sweet) and the hotel building towards the back of the property. I never did see the villas - which we had tried to book but were full. I hadn't read any reviews of this place as my sister (who lives in Phuket) had booked at the last minute when she couldn't get into where she usually stays, so I had not seen all the negative reviews on here.

For our stay we didn't encounter rude reception staff - they weren't overly friendly - but they certainly weren't rude. We also found our rooms clean with no nasty smells or suspicious bed linen. The bathroom was fine - small - and yes, the shower did tend to run onto the floor, but so what! We had a very small balcony with a couple of chairs - it was quite pleasant but we didn't really use it as we weren't on Phi Phi to sit on a balcony.

The pool area was quite nice - not all that large and no where near enough pool chairs - but isn't that always the case in high season! The breakfast was very ordinary and I didn't bother on the second morning - very ordinary, most stuff not hot and not a great range to choose from.

As stated by everyone previously - the resort is about a 10-15 minute walk from the pier - we didn't bother with a pick up as we only had light bags for our two nights - so found our way there through the maze of streets all lined with bars, restaurants and shops - this was half the fun I thought. We also didn't have any noise problems from the nearby bars - so not sure if it was because we were so exhausted when we got to bed that we just went straight to sleep or if it was because our rooms were quiet rooms.

Phi Phi itself was great - packed solid in the few days before Christmas. Certainly a place for the young to let loose - and even us oldies let loose a little - but it is a party island! If you are looking for a romantic spot then this is not the island for you - well not the main part of the island. For two nights it was great fun but I wouldn't have wanted to stay for too much longer. We hired a longtail for three hours one day to do some exploring (rather than hop on a speed boat with a huge crowd) and this was great - we paid 500 Bhat for the three hours and we got to go where we wanted to go. I would definately recommend this option over the more crowded faster tour boat option. In our three hours we went to Maya Beach, the lagoon, did some amazing snorkelling - it was a great day out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I first stayed in PP Casita 6 years ago and think it had been recently refurbished as I remember the rooms being very nice. 6 years on I'm not sure if the bungalows have been refurbished as they were quite scruffy with chips in the door sealed with selotape and a lot of chips in the paint work. Compared to everywhere else we stayed in Thailand, this was the most expensive place but this was unsuprising.

The breakfasts are good and the swimming area is very nice, as are all the plants and trees that pave the way to the bungalows. It's a reasonably priced place to stay on Phi Phi but definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PP Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Casita

Address: 125/89 Moo 7, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PP Casita 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your PP Casita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pp Casita Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
PP Casita Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PP Casita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.