We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint, but needs a good scrub!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ao Nang Premier Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ao Nang Premier Resort to your Saves list
Ao Nang Premier Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Herbal Spa & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very quaint, but needs a good scrub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a tiny resort built on a very steep mountainside, so there are a lot of steps. There are only 8 rooms, my family group booked 3. They are all very spacious and slightly different in their quirky Thai design with part of the bathrooms outside. They have enormous stone bathtubs, although it took a long time to fill and the water was only luke warm. This was quite fun until I had to take a shower during a storm and also whilst sitting naked on the toilet realized I could see people on a neighboring hotel rooftop clearly, which was disconcerting. I don’t believe the other rooms would have this issue, so don’t book number 3! The swimming pool is cute, but the sauna has been dead for a long time. I injured my foot on a rotted piece of wood on the walkway around the pool. This place looked like it was beautiful when first built, but could do with a good spring clean. The staff was pleasant enough, sheets and towels were clean and it does have a nice atmosphere.
I found out the day we were leaving thet the resort will close for 10 months from April onwards for a refit. It would be worth a revisit once this is completed as a revamp is all it needs to be more comfortable.

Room Tip: Not cabin number 3 as this is the one neighbors can see into the bathroom! They are all very spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the resort for 6D5N in February 2014. It might not be everyone's cup of tea, as it is indeed under-maintained. On first impression, I loved it - only 9 isolated villas, very intimate and cosy. Quaint huts atop a hill, ours was 2 stories, with a detached outdoor bathroom and steps leading to the bedroom.

Upon going in however, the sheets were a little stained, place generally not very clean. Lots of mozzies (we burned Lavender coils from the 7-11 nearby), there WILL be a variety of bugs and creepy crawlies in the outdoor shower, cats appearing inside your hut & screeching at night, something even fell on our roof hut while we were asleep. The bathtub was filthy, but we requested they clean it before using it. The room was basic, but had everything we needed - safe, fridge, working WIFI, mozzie net.

We paid 1,375 Baht a night (incl. breakfast) - which was a very decent price. Staff were friendly. Location wise, it is about a 20-minute walk down to Ao Nang beach, or you can take a tuk-tuk if you're not feeling particularly active (40 baht). As the hotel is situated somewhat at the end, top part of the busy Ao Nang stretch. We rented a motorbike for a 2 days to drive to Krabi town night market, tiger temple, emerald pool & the hot springs.

Overall I really enjoyed the rustic-ness & secluded huts and was not too fussed. Imagine just like living in a jungle hut but with hotel service. Very cosy and definitely worth it for the price. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

What can be said about the premier resort? Well theres certainly nothing premier about it in fact quite the opposite this place is very run down and in serious need of some tlc that isnt my reason for telling you to avoid its two main issues really.
Issue 1 our delux villa was filthy the main sheets on the bed had been washed but the top blankets were covered in stains the kettle had a family of bugs playing house in it the fridge had dead bugs in the bottom of it whilst I appreciate this is thailand I have never found this problem before in a room that I have just arrived at. The floors were not swept or mopped the towels had brown stains on them and holes in. The tv didn't work. Now to the bathroom which I might just add is outside, there sink was disgusting and had certainly not been cleaned in months there were hairs and other things in the plug hole. The so called bath was so bad I wudnt bath my dog in it. There was shapoo and shower gel to use that had black bacteria all over the nozzle the bathrrom floor had clearly not been cleaned in years it was stained and dirty we showered with our beach shoes on,
Issue 2 there was no privacy to the room it had just net curtains we had to get dressed in the dark and I personally like to sleep with not much on and being over looked by a big hotel and people walking about this was not possible my poor husband was banned from his conjugal rights for the 3 nights we stayed here.
Just to recap our Delux villa was anything but the one delux about it was it de looked bloody filthy. The staff however friendly but young and workshy. Location was also good with just 10 mins walk to beach and quiet at night. Our recommendations would definitely be try somewhere else.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I would say a X'mas gone wrong! We arrived on 25th Dec 2013 evening. Expedia booked for us a deluxe villa for us. Little did we realised upon reaching here that what we saw was a cabin with sliding doors (no doorknob) in a jungle. The cabin has a bed inside, two lights, a fridge, a rusted electric kettle which we definitely can't use, one side table by the bed and a TV, with a safe box beside. Thats it? I asked the lady upon arrival whether there's a clock in the room. She said yes but there is none. No mirror, no tissue, nothing for self hygiene.

This cabin has a wooden ceiling and a roof above that. Our 2 nights of sleep was pure torture. We hear huge wings flapping and knocking against the wooden ceiling and against the sliding door. We dont get proper sleep. We woke up startled many a times and highly suspected a bat stuck between the wooden ceiling and the roof. Its very disturbing to know there is a huge creature trapped above our heads and if the wooden ceiling breaks, our lives are at stake. When asked the reception lady, whether there was a bat stuck above our head, she seemed amused. We questioned her repeatedly and she admitted to it. We have travelled to many places and certainly think its not justified in any way to a tourist by lying to us. We are utterly disappointed. After 10, no one is at the reception and all goes to sleep. They do best at what they do. Eat and sleep. Villas are pitch dark at nights. We used our phone lights to unlock the door and saw a huge frog on the sliding door. We certainly dont expect uninvited guests such as insects and amphibians cohabiting with us.

Next, the toilet. Its outside the cabin, a few steps down and we see the wash basin area, the mirror, a shower area and the toilet. No toilet doors, just 2 curtains. We have no privacy of doing our daily business. Especially with huge insects flying around and crawling below the toilet bowl. Yesterday there was a huge insect that looks like a cross between a cockroach and a grasshopper that fell off the curtain and started running around. Imagine, we are girls please. We cant be running around stark-naked. We are going to shower in an open concept toilet and realize there's no privacy and the opposite area had people gathering so you can imagine how our pride and dignity are at stake. The electric kettle is rusted. The filter is dirty. We bought sachets but sadly cant make hot drinks. We cant fill up water from the wash basin outside because it seems so unhygenic to drink from, knowing insects and animals surround this area at night while we are asleep. We dont wish to wait until a cobra or a python greets us at the door and seek for help which we arent going to get. It was a crazy place to be in and anything beyond and away for the hotel was amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We used this hotel and we found that it was clean and well run. There were 4 of us and we had 2 bedrooms. Some people will moan about small imperfections but we found the rooms very large and excellent value for money. We live in Thailand so we know the standards of Hotels and this one was excellent. The pool was old but well kept and we enjoyed our beer whilst relaxing in the water. The rooms are on a hill which has good steps, I have a heart problem and they moved us to the lowest room. There is a posh Hotel to the right and there is a mosque to the left, neither gave us any problems. Ao Nang is a very lively town with lots of good restaurants, the hotel provided an excellent breakfast which they cooked for us individually. We could choose what we wanted and they could even soft boil eggs. The staff were excellent and got well tipped.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with your health ask for a lower room, the steps are good but they seem to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had booked most of our accommodation on the beach, so thought we would do something different and book Premier Resort as it looked surrounded by beautiful garden. We stayed 4 nights, 4 nights too many. We will not come back to this resort as there were many problems. The pool was dirty, staff would be having their own breakfast when we would come down for ours and then hop up and go to make ours then return back to their own (while they were watching t.v), staff were a group of young girls, the shower was outdoors with no roof, the jacuzzi was dirty (didn't even use what we'd payed for), there were only half the windows in room with curtains- and these were see through so we had no where to get dressed and were awake as soon as it got light, the doors have big gaps above them so mosquitos were getting in all night, there was a snake outside our door one morning, we had possums running around in our roof (when we told staff they laughed) And our power in the villa kept tripping out and turning off- usually when we were in the shower, luckily my partner is an electrician so knew how to turn it back on... however if you were someone who had no idea with power, i doubt you would get it back on for a while because as i said the place was run by young girls- no maintenance people. Overall the place is very run down. Has potential to be a nice place, but unfortunately it is no joy to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This place has so much potential but it has really been left to be and is very rundown. The bathroom had several broken fixtures. It had a beautiful soaking tub that looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. The A/C in the room as barely able to keep up with the temperature and would take hours to cool the room.

We were the only people staying. Employee's acted as though we were a nuisance while we stayed. Breakfast was not good. It is right next to a very large hotel and our room balcony had a great view of the break area for the other motel. The A/C for the other hotel is loud and kept us up at all hours.

We should have known this place wasn't going to be great when the van driver that picked us up at the airport had no clue where it was and had never heard of it. A travel agency in town also had no clue where it was or had ever heard of it.

There must be better places to stay around the area. Best to avoid this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ao Nang Premier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Nang Premier Resort

Address: 20/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Herbal Spa & Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ao Nang Premier Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ao Nang Premier Resort is located at Ao Nang Beach in Krabi Province of Thailand. Serving as an accommodation in the tropical environment, offering 9 individual Deluxe Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ao Nang Premier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Herbal Hotel Ao Nang
Tropical Herbal Spa And Resort
Ao Nang Premier Resort Krabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ao Nang Premier Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.