We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was probably nice 10 years ago” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peace Laguna Resort

Save Saved
You added Peace Laguna Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peace Laguna Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   193 Moo2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Was probably nice 10 years ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Peace Laguna was probably a really luxurious place to stay 10 years ago. I think that's the last time anything was repaired or updated on the grounds. Three of us stayed in a bungalow style room and the view was very pretty from our room with the water and cliffs. There are also multiple swimming pools. However, the grounds are just a mess with overgrown plants and weeds everywhere. The place could really be a lot better with some landscaping.

The room itself was just ok. The beds are extremely hard and all of our towels were stained. They advertise an outdoor Balinese shower but there is no hot water. Inside the bathroom there is a bathtub which we all ended up using and just spraying ourselves with. After the initial sulfur smell from the tub we made do. There was also a serious ant problem in the bathroom so the rooms definitely need to be sprayed. Housekeeping comes very late in the day and doesn't throw away a lot of the garbage.

Wifi is only in the lobby area and very slow. The included breakfast is good and there are a lot of options. This hotel has serious potential if the owners would only take the time to spruce it up.

Room Tip: Choose one of the bungalow style rooms to get the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    149
    67
    23
    32
See reviews for
85
167
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Not worth it's money! The website photo's shows heaven on earth, you will get a dark room which is really out-dated. We had booked for what they call exclusive private lagoon villa's. No inside shower, the out-side shower was only ice cold water with a floor that wasn't cleaned before or between our stay. The jacuzzi took 1 hour to be filled! The furniture in the room was filty or broken.
The outdoor terrace floor was overall broken.
The dissappointment also continues outside the room: the pool had a temporary external noisy filter which has been there since eternity, the pool cellar was always open, which was very dangerous with a kid (we closed it daily, but they re-opened it afterwards).
Breakfast serves food, but not tastful at all, sometimes just bad.
Reception and management is not helpfull, staff has hardly knowledge of the english language.
We had booked for a week but left in the middle to a better hotel in the phuket region.
Only positive point: a lush tropical garden with lagoon and an exquisit view on the chalk rocks of the Krabi region.
They have gold in there hands to make this place a goldmine, but with the current attitude it will go the opposite way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location of the hotel is awesome as it is within walking distance to the Ao Nang beach, restaurants, bars and cafe. The superior cottage offers a jacuzzi bath and an outdoor "survivor" shower for the sporting! Its room is considered spacious and clean.

What I like most about the cottage is that it offers a private verandah facing the pond. It feels awesome to just lay on the lounger at night and star gaze. Only problem is that there may be mozzies!

Overall it was a pleasant stay. Peaceful indeed!

Room Tip: There are better affordable food along Ao Nang street just outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The most disappointing thing about the Peace Laguna Resort hotel is that it has such potential to be a great hotel; it is in a superb location with spectacular views of the Krabi landscape and is beautifully placed on the eponymous lagoon. Yet it fails to take full advantage of these features and there is much that undermines these positive aspects.

We splashed out on a deluxe cottage and were initially pleased with the room we were given. Despite the somewhat dilapidated air to the exterior of the building (and indeed all buildings on the complex) the interior was very nice. It was furnished in a Thai style and was extremely spacious. The view of one of the swimming pools and the lagoon was lovely. However closer inspection revealed some less pleasing features; there were stains and marks all over most walls and the outdoor shower was a bit dank, strange and didn't really give forth a steady stream of water at all. The water that did emerge was cold; there didn't appear to be any hot water option for the shower whatsoever. The same could not be said for the jacuzzi bath which we opted to use instead. Plentiful hot water, though I noticed a strange scum on the surface which was a bit disconcerting.

On our second day at the resort there was a rain storm and water poured through the ceiling of our cottage in several places. Of these leaks the worst were above the air conditioning, where it gushed onto the floor, in the bathroom, where it poured water all over the room, and above the TV. Watching water cascade into the electrical sockets of the TV was very alarming, and I phoned reception to inform them. Eventually we were told the roof couldn't be fixed and that we would need to move. I half expected to be upgraded, but was perfectly happy to be re-housed a few cottages down in a room of equal standard. Except that it wasn't! Although also a deluxe cottage, our second room had no view whatsoever and felt smaller. It also had far more marks and stains on the walls and the curtain on the patio door was hanging off the hook in a really unsightly way. Furthermore when we used the jacuzzi bath in our second room, the water smelt foul; just really, really horrid! It smelt like sewage and consequently we could not use the bath. The shower once again only had cold water and was totally uninviting given the stormy weather, but we ended up having to shiver under the trickle of cold water to try and get clean for the rest of our stay. The air-conditioning unit permanently sounded like it was breaking down when it went below 22 degrees; the noise it made was incredible and kept us up at night.

Breakfast was pretty grim to be honest. It had most of the components of hotels of a similar rating, but the food was largely dry and unpalatable. (The bacon was almost inedible!) There were at least twenty dead wasps in the pots of jam which had been partially covered. The pancakes with maple syrup were nice though! The waitresses were few and far between and seemingly rushed off their feet. Finding a table that was fully set, then getting someone to bring coffee and tea, then getting some milk was a mission in itself. The view from breakfast was lovely however.

We ordered room service on one of our days there and had cheeseburgers. They were tasty, hot and fresh, but the burgers were the smallest I have ever seen! They filled up about a third of the bun if that! We left our plates in our room and no one came to collect them. Nor did the maids who cleaned the room the next day take them away; they put them outside the door. I had deliberately not done that as I didn't want to encourage the plethora of insects outside to come to our door! Needless to say the plates remained there for the last few days of our trip, congealing and attracting ants.

One day I asked if I could borrow an iron and ironing board and was told that they would be brought to my room. I waited 45 minutes and then phoned reception again. The iron eventually arrived but the board had bits of metal poking out of it and was so hard and thin it was unusable.

None of these things on their own are a big deal, but after a while they mounted up, and having stayed in two lovely hotels prior to this one, the contrast was stark. Everything looked so shabby. There was clearly some kind of drainage problem (there didn't appear to be any guttering on the roof of the cottages) so water had stained all the outside walls by the pool a nasty black colour. The sun loungers were worn out and everything was just generally a bit tired.

It was the quiet season when we stayed at Peace Laguna so I imagine things will be a bit better at different times of the year. However the female manager at reception was fairly terse and uncompromising (although the male members of staff I spoke to were lovely) and I generally felt we had paid over the odds for an unforgettable and at times unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

First the good things: location, location, location. They have a direct access to the beach, about 400 m through a field, a safe path. The nearby view is spectacular, and there are many quite ok restaurants close to the hotel, try the Vindaloo Nights right next to the alley leading to the hotel area. Also, a very trustworthy local travel agent/chauffeur is located in that same alley, on the left when coming up the alley. Daily complimentary coffee/tea is a nice thing, a good chance to talk with the other guests. International newspapers daily, also.

But please note: Although it was advertised as a four-star resort, the truth is somewhat different. In some countries, the resort is **/**** depending on the room condition. Some of the private cottages fall into the *** category. We had terrible difficulties in having water - especially warm - and stopping the loo from flushing forever (environmental issues ahoy). The shower head had a serious leak as the metal spiral cover was damaged and had cut a hole in the rubber hose. It wasn't fixed until I mentioned about it the third time, after having cut my finger with it. Note: Keep valuable stuff in a safety box. Some rooms don't have them, be sure to check when accepting the room key. I kept my laptop and iPad in a luggage, behind two locks (one heavy-duty with a key, other with a 4-digit code) and I could've sworn my luggage digit dials were in a different position almost daily. Perhaps they'd just dusted my largish Samsonite?

The bridges in the hotel area were in the state of damn-near-collapsing, and the pathways that were paved with abt. 40x40 cm stones weren't actually the most even on the planet, thus making it _very_ hard to deal with when pushing a kid's carriage. Also, during the nights the area is almost totally dark due to malfunctioning lights. Stones + night + carriage = nightmare. If you happen to visit the hotel during the wet season, rest assured the stones you're walking on aren't in the same place in the morning! Our older son loved them, though. "Ooh! Crawling stones!"

If you use the complimentary WiFi (not easily reachable from the "outer ring" of the hotel area), be sure to use a suitable VPN connection from your homeland first, the hackers are _very_ active. A usual harm over there, not hotel-specific. What bothered me was the fluctuating price of the "faster WiFi" that needed a special account token. The speed was a quite fluctuating one as well, so I guess they thought we were even... use SSL/https or the spam gets out of hand in a flash.

The staff everything they could and were _very_ friendly and helpful, although the resources were somewhat limited. During our stay a tiny flood came in and almost completely reserved most of the staff, and the poor guys had to be in the water two whole days, trying to fix the flood wall with whatever they got. Impressive, although not effective: with some very easy changes to the wall they'd avoided the flood totally, as it probably wasn't the first they encountered. I must praise the restaurant staff: whenever our younger son showed a any sign of an early morning tantrum approaching, one (or all) of the helpful ladies came to the rescue.

Families with little kids, note: breakfast ingredients are placed underneath microwave plastic covers that actually don't cover the food totally. When used, the covers are placed all over the table/ice, then put onto the food again... Also, as the breakfast restaurant is an open space (as they tend to be in South Asia), all sorts of insects and birds have access to breakfast restaurant, too. I'd consider this somewhat alerting as the droppings aren't cleaned 24/7, but probably it's just a normal procedure over there and not worth pointing out. Maybe I'm just a hygiene freak (well, honestly, I'm not, not even close).

Once you get over the details, the big picture appears and you start enjoying your holiday: exactly what they aim for. Once you sleep in a room, it feels better in the morning light as you're accustomed to it. I only wish we'd paid much less for the stay.

Oh, one funny thing: there's a HUGE lizard in the hotel area lagoon (and several smaller 70-90 cm lizards) with an orangish-brown head. They never bother people, and the kids loved them. Keep your camera handy. The kids' play room is located in a separate building and is well maintained. We visited the room every day and it was always in a tiptop condition, very clean and air-conditioned.

Room Tip: Go for the "middle island" private cottages if possible, avoid the "perimeter edge&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

just got back from the peace laguna and overall had a really good time seen some of the pictures of this resort on tinternet before we went and it looked awesome when we got there we were booked in to a superior cottage wich meant we got an upgrade to a delux when we looked at the delux we went for the superior as there was in my opinion no real difrence and the superior was on the groun floor next to the pool wich suited us better. some of the buildings could do with a lick of paint wich they were doing each day. the suroundings inside the hotel are nice with plenty of wildlife ie frogs monitor lizards ect at the back of the hotel there is a gate wich takes you onto the beach in about a minute if you walk to the end of the beach you will be surounded by monkeys wich i thought was great. the breakfast area you have to go upstairs but i found the breakfasts not up to a good standard and be carefull when you come out as my wife fell as she came down the stairs as it had been raining and made the wooden stairs really slippy the staff are really friendly and could do no more for you they were great the hotel is in a great area to access the bars and eateries. so would i use this hotel again. no probs i had a great time

Room Tip: supperior cottages are every bit as good as the delux
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had an excellent 5 nights stay at the Peace Laguna Resort, Krabi from the 18th to 23rd of August 2012. Rooms 4204 and 4205 were given to us. As it was low season, the rates we had were so affordable. The manager, Michael was very pleasant and made our day everyday. The resort is on a very large property and it has a total of 6 lovely swimming pools (beautifully kept and clean), and we swam in all of them. A large spread of western and local buffet breakfast included, welcomes us every morning. At 4pm daily, there was hi-tea of tea, coffee and cakes or cookies free to all resort guests. A very good gesture indeed. The resort's location is great, about 300m (5minutes walk) to the famous Aonang Beach and there is a back door to the beach too, which takes 1 or 2 minutes on foot. Outside the resort, there are plenty of restaurants, shops, 7-11 styled convenient shops and night markets.
Now for the downside, the resort can do better with some more maintenance. A new coat of paint is badly needed in some areas. The wooden bridge have some broken strips with nails sticking out that can be dangerous if you are not careful. The toilet seat, shower curtain in our room (4204) need looking into. As the resort is surrounded by vegetation, there are cockroaches and mosquitoes. Spraying some repellents will do the trick.
There is a computer at the lobby for the resort's guest to use free of charge. The front desk staff Anne and Ma were very pleasant and friendly.
This review did not score an 'excellent' was because my back-pack was opened twice when we were not in the room. I had a number combination lock and the numbers were moved and the position that I locked was changed. That is to say my bag was opened, but luckily nothing valuable was in the bag. I told manager Michael and he promised it look into it.
We would definitely go back again and recommend it to our friends too.

Room Tip: Do not know the other rooms, but the standard room we had was good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peace Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Laguna Resort

Address: 193 Moo2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peace Laguna Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful setting with several lagoons and a great location. The Peace Laguna Resort & Spa is 4 star resort situated in Krabi, close to Ao Phra Nang Beach, and is made up of 149 cottages & rooms nestled snugly on a tranquil lake. The resort encompasses a very special blend of lush, unspoiled, tropical beauty and modern, luxurious living. It's quality and style blended with nature and is framed by a giant granite outcrop. The cottages are uniquely crafted from an embryonic spiral design and are equipped to the highest standards. Well located, only a short distance from all of Ao Nang's main attractions. Set against a backdrop of limestone cliffs around a central lagoon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Peace Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace Laguna Hotel Ao Nang
Peace Laguna Krabi
Peace Laguna Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peace Laguna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.