We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Nature!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close to Nature!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Was in Krabi for 5 days and stayed at the Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas. Like the name says it - it's a very private Grand resort that's really close to nature! The welcome at the airport was good but the welcome at the pier when you actually get to the resort makes you feel like a real VIP. The resident manager Luke is always there to welcome all the guests personally, and every travelling party had a staff to see them through check-in and to your rooms.

We've been to many beach resorts and I would have to agree that the rooms are very well maintained and clean. Usually if you end up staying at a beah resort (even when it's 5*), there's always a tiny bit of hidden sand somewhere in the room. We didn't feel a thing here. We had connecting rooms as we were travelling as a family of 5 and it sure doesn't feel like we were in connecting rooms.....more like we were in a 2-room villa.

Diving was so-so though cos there wasn't much choice and there may not be dives available on certain days due to low response.

We booked a jungle tour (hot spring, emerald pool & Tiger Cave temple) through the resort. The tour was fun and we had a great guide until towards the end. That's when it got tricky cos our tour never really ended as we had to find our own way back. We were not told to expect low tide and when we got to the boat to return to the resort, we were told that the speed boat wasn't operating due to low tide and then given wrong information by the boatman to take a tuk-tuk (we had to look for one ourselves and pay for it) and rush all the way to Ao Nang to catch the longtail. Guess what, there wasn't one available and the 5 of us (including 2 children & a senior), with our beach bags and wet towels, had to walk all the way back to the resort from Ao Nang Beach. Of course we complained and resident manager Luke was most apologetic and we certainly enjoyed the rest of our stay with no other complains.

Food is good especially the "Pad-thai" noodles. We ate most of the time at the resort. Once we ventured out to Ao Nang to this place called "Ao Nang Cuisine - the first and oldest restaurant on Ao Nang" for a change and it was HORRIBLE! Service was really bad (like we owe them money or some huge favour) and the food wasn't something you would want to put into your mouth. The plate of noodles had such a bad smell that it completely took away our appetite! So where ever you chose, don't go there!

During low tide you can always take a walk to Ao Nang or you can climb the monkey trail. The monkey trail is not as difficult as it seems..... just have to be a little careful. Well, my mom who's 74yrs climbed it so it's no problem for the younger healthy people.

Mariela (from Spain) who works at the reception and Nat (Thai) a waiter at the beach bar (On The Rocks) are both exceptionally wonderful staff. Look for them and you'll be well taken care off.

Will definitely still go back to Centara if we visit Krabi again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    760
    472
    213
    113
    66
See reviews for
333
992
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

The hotel is set in a stunning location, cut off from ao nang by steep cliffs.
Our room was great. We had deluxe ocean facing room which had a lovely view from the balcony. The balcony was huge and stretched round two sides of the room. The bathroom was an open plan wet room with a large bath tub,
The beach is nice and the water was warm. As the beach is private it is lovely and quiet and never felt crowded. The pools were also very nice and included a waterfall feature with a secret cave behind the waterfall! The only problem was some people leaving their towels on sun loungers all day even when absent for hours at a time. However, we never failed to get a good lounger!
The food in the Lotus restaurant and the Thai restaurant were great quality (we only ate at these 2 of the 4 restaurants). The nitrogen ice cream is fun! i would recommend trying both restaurants.
There were only a few down sides of the hotel, firstly the food and drink prices are far too expensive!! at least double of the prices charged in ao nang! I had an alcoholic drink at the hotel which was actually more expensive than the main meal i had in a good restaurant in ao nang the next night! saying that, the food at the hotel is very good quality and well presented.
The hotel is only accessible by boat or by the famous monkey trail! The hotels free speed boat service is fine except that they dont have boats from to and from ao nang l at frequent and convenient times. If you want to come back at a more convenient time, or if the free boat is sold out, then you have to pay 150 baht for a long boat transfer.
The monkey trail is scary!! when we went on it (only once) a monkey hissed at me and jumped on another girl's back! it is very steep and not very well constructed! however, it would not be too difficult for a reasonably fit person. It would not be possible for the disabled or young children.
The service at the hotel is great, all the staff were very friendly and helpful! The hotel also has the facility to arrange lots of tours. I would recommend the full day jungle tour going to the hot spring, emerald pool, elephant trecking and tiger cave temple. Hong island is also beautiful! We also did a tour to the famour Maya Bay in the Phi Phi islands which is unfortunately now very overcrowded and so far less enjoyable than hong island.
The hotel is very attractive and offers great views and total relaxation! i would definately recommend it to most people, However, the hotel is not suitable for the disabled, the floating pier (from where you get on and off the speed boats and long boats) is not very stable and it can be hard to walk on it. The rooms are also located up alot of steps! (which i understand is necessary to enable the great views!).
Overall, we really loved our stay at the hotel and i would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

we went here as a final stop on our honeymoon full of hopes. we were greeted on the wobbly peir and given a very warm welcome. as honeymooners we booked the ocean facing deluxe room and had petals on the bed, in the bath and a cake was brought up to us.as a result of this the bed was literally crawling with tiny ants, the cake had ants inside it and concidering the cake had been wrapped you have to wonder where they came from!we had to clean out the bath ourselves at 11pm and the bugs that were floating in the water.(yes i know there will be insects but we had stayed in more remote locations and not had any of these problems) after all this i was looking forward to getting into a clean bed but no chance. the cover had holes just were my head was and nail varnish marks all over the white duvet cover. the room was changed, only after i asked the someone to come and see for themself as the initial response was to send someone to clean it. the rest of our stay was ok, the food in the beach bar was same as UK prices if a little bit more but portions were large and food tasty. the rest of the staff were very friendly. food in the restraunt was ok, better food was available in ao nang for a fraction of the price.breakfast had ants crawling all over the bread and hot food section, how this has escaped so many reviews i dont know!the rooms were hardly cleaned and we had to ask for clean towels daily. old towels would be taken but not replaced. when we called to explain we got given bath sheets. no hand towels or any face. every day. the beds were not very comfortable, quite hard. the views are fantastic, the pools near enough empty most of the time even though sunbeds were mostly full by 10am. beach was nice, sea not swimable due to jellyfish but that could be seasonal. not clear blue water or white sand beaches. the staff were friendly and always smiling.but definately not a 5* in my opinion. the main thing this hotel has going for it is the location in the stunning cliffs with beautiful views.They had the extras such as a beutiful spa and services but not the basicis such as cleanliness. not on par with other Thai 5*'s

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORNWALL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We have just returned from a 3 week - yes 3 week - stay at Centara - and absolutely loved it!
We had a wonderful reception waiting for us on the floating jetty on arrival - Luke the manager personally welcoming each and every person getting off the boat! We were then escorted - myself being a little wobbly - by a member of staff along the jetty - and there are plenty of staff willing and available to help anyone who might need it - to the lobby for checking in. Once checked in we were shown to our beautiful room by Hasun - who explained everything to us and was extremely helpful.
We had wall to wall sunshine for the whole 3 weeks in this beautiful spot. I found it extremely relaxing and we spent most days lazing by the pool on sunbeds on the grassy area. The staff who ran the towels and excursions became very friendly with us and our 9 year old son - they were always smiling, laughing and joking and ever helpful!
I swam in all of the pools whilst we were there and the sea - spoilt for choice! The beach was clean and most days the sea was calm, although we had a couple of days when Titavit ( one of the towel guys) supplied a boogie board for our son to surf the waves!
We ate in all of the restaurants many times - the food was outstanding and extremely varied. Breakfast had everything you could wish for - even food for an extremely fussy 9 year old! Most afternoons we would treat ourselves to the ice cream menu - extreme berry is a must - expensive yes but well worth it!!
We only ventured out on a handful of evenings to Ao Nang - always by boat - it was never a problem booking a boat or getting one that suited our timetable. We didn't try the monkey trail preferring to take the boat - one night we walked around at low tide - this takes a max of 5 minutes to reach the beach on the other side.
I used the spa twice when I was there - well worth a visit.
My partner got a finger infection while he was here - there is a medical centre on the complex and he was treated very efficiently without any problem at all.
This was our first visit to Thailand and if we are lucky enough we will go back again someday - I would definitely return to Centara. We found the staff extremely respectful and courteous - always smiling with a friendly hello and a chat! So please don't be put off by the negative reviews - it really is PARADISE!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellington, northumberland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

My wife & I stayed for 13 Nights in an "Ocean View" room at the Centara ending 13 March. The only minus mark I would give the Hotel was on the first night in the Lotus dining room we did not make a booking and when we turned up on spec, were not made to feel really welcome. For the rest of our stay, all of the staff were really friendly & helpful.
Food in the hotel was very good in quality & quantity. The breakfasts were outstanding. Food & drink prices were such that we made good use of the regular shuttle boat to the Ao Nang pier. It was only 80Baht in a Tuk Tuk from there to the town centre. So long as we booked our boat times 24 hours in advance, we could normally get the times we wanted. A couple of time at the beginning of our stay, it was Spring Tides, so we were able to walk along the beach into town.
If you enjoy snorkling then the waters are a bit murkey near the hotel due to the type of fine sand in the bay, but a day trip to Phi Phi Island from the hotel's own pier gives you some great snorkling opportunities. The water is so warm in the area it is like walking into a warm bath.
It is a pity that it takes so long to travel to Krabi, but if it were close to home it would be overrun with British Tourists!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

I had booked seven days in a seaview room with club facilities however when we were checked into the hotel our room had a view of some rooftops and palm-trees; as I really wanted the sea view I asked for a move to a different room which was faciulitated almost immediately and could not have been better. The rooms was spacious, finished to an extremely high standard and had plenty of outdoor space although housekeeping standards fell short of the mark a couple of times (had to phone up for towels on a few occasions and the standard of cleaning in the bathroom wasn't great). The grounds, setting and staff were delightful, in particular the staff in the Spa and the Club. I think we caught the tail end of school holidays somewhere in the world so initially were a little perturbed by the amount of children in the pools and Club however it calmed down after a couple of days and the resort became particularly relaxing. We are not sun bed grabbers so were disappointed to see that lots of people were allowed to put towels onto prime spot loungers first thing only to disappear for hours over breakfast. The monkey walk was interesting but another easier way of getting around the headland is to walk on the beach at low tide. The most popular free boat return time from town of 22:30 always seemed to be booked although we didn't have a problem with the 23:30 slot. Krabi is simply stunning and I considered it a privilege to stay in such a beautiful environment, its just a shame that some of the other guests didn't appear to appreciate it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed at the Centrara Grand for 9 nights. Five this hotel this is not although a wonderful setting. Rooms where not cleaned to the standard I would expect for a 5 star hotel the Jacuzzi was not cleaned once during our stay I had to phone at 3.30pm to ask for the room to be cleaned.

When we were taken to our room there were only 3 beds and we were a party of 4. After a 4 hour wait we were given another room. I was disappionted to see people running to put towels on the sun beds not behaviour I would expect to see in a 5 star hotel. You are also given a card to claim you beach towel and if you do not return your towel you charged 500 baht.

We ordered from the menu the wrong item would arrive, sent it back they return with the wrong item again. We had cold food delivered to our table a number of times, Food came out at different times; we had finished our food before my sons arrived. When we complained we felt it was our fault this is not five star.

During an evening meal we noticed a rat by the beach bar Ok you are in a national park however a couple days later while eating breakfast we witness a rat run across the decking and into building. This hotel caterer for a lower grade hotel

They argued with us on our check out date which resulted in the hotel phoning our travel agent although we had given the paperwork we wasted 30 minutes. My husband went to pay the bill on the last night. At 10.50pm the phone rang asking what type of card he used to pay bill this call wake the whole family.

We loved the hotel and the location and had a lovely time. We felt that the staff were poorly managed and de-motivated. They were always kind and friendly. But the hotel was not functioning as a 5 star hotel should

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.