We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate + Free ABF
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The hotel is located in a unique and gorgeous location, but is at the same time very isolated from everything. The only way to connect to ao nang is by longtail boat (doesnt work when it rains) or through the monkey trail (seriously dangerous). When it comes to activities outside the hotel we thought the best way would be to book with the hotel (guaranteed quality, right?). We found out later that the whole tour thing in the hotel is nothing short of a rip off. They book the cheapest and most terrible tours and get a huge margin out of it. We booked the phi phi island tour (recommended by the staff) for 1800 bath and we found out that nobody in the tour paid more 1100. The tour itself was probably the worst one we have had ever: 45 minutes late for the pickup, no safety measures, speedboat speeding at 60 miles per hour racing with another speedboat, and an awful staff. We complained with the manager and they refunded the money, but our day was lost anyways.
Besides the bad tour experience, most of the staff don't speak english, the internet is absolutely useless and the overall experience is not something I would recommend.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    601
    259
    127
    80
See reviews for
426
1,230
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Centara, Krabi, for a friend's wedding and had such a wonderful time. Transport to the resort was via a boat. You can then walk back over quite a steep hill (with stairs, and sometimes monkeys) to get back to the main street for a shop - or catch a boat back there. You can relax as much as you like or take advantages of the local activities, including morning yoga, paddle boarding, taking a (skippered) boat out for a day trip around the islands, or diving (PADI). Not to forget the day spa or cocktails by the pool!

The staff were so friendly and obliging. Our arrival and departure went very smoothly and if we wanted simple things, such as more drinking water, it was delivered straight to our room. (It is the little things, isn't it?:) ) Our apartment, set back about half way up the hill, was clean and very pleasant.

Breakfast each day felt like a feast! So much so that we didn't each much again until dinner time. An amazing variety of food to choose from.

We attended the hens and bucks party in town and caught boats back at night. The wedding was held on the beach. The scenery was stunning. It was a very special day.

I'm so glad we got the opportunity to visit the area, via our beautiful newly-wed friends, and stay at such a nice resort.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

when I arrived at the hotel, there were no drinking water in the room and room service took more than 1 hour to bring me water, room is a bit dirty not clean, to walk to Ao nang beach have to walk up the hill (shortcut to Ao nang) Hotel is not modern as other Centara hotel maybe because its built more than 10 years ago. Have to go in and out from the hotel by boat. beach was nice, went kayaking but they only give you 1 hour. Need reservation for the boat to get in and out of the hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful resort, friendly staff and a locale unlike anywhere else in the world, Centara Krabi hosted 15 members of our family - from Australia to Canada to Thailand - to a wonderful and warm 6 night stay the week before Songkran.
The setting is simply perfect, situated on it's own private bay in the national park, in between Ao Nang and Rai Ley Beach.
My Thai wife and I live in Bangkok, have traveled extensively throughout the Kindgom staying at different resorts, and this now ranks as one of our favorites.
Advice -> Dive in, enjoy the facilities and tropical setting -- that is private but with easy access to the wonders of Krabi and it's islands.
I must say as an expat living in Asia 10+ years, an individual needs to be pretty tightly wound to be complaining after a stay here! If at times service is not at the speed you might get in urban settings, pinch yourself and take a good look around where you are! (...a long way from home...)
For rooms, we highly recommend the Ocean View Deluxe rooms (higher up the better view/breeze), where the hotel grouped our family into 6 rooms side-by-side.
Breakfast is remarkable everyday, Roberto the pianist playing away, and both Lotus and the Thai restaurant are musts.
Centara had a promotion this month for bonus $$ dollars when you buy credit into the hotel for the restaurants/spa, and for our 15-large family members this could not have been better.
David, Mark and the staff were always attentive and helpful for whatever request we had.
Oh, and you will know what a cicada is after this visit!
Thanks again
Mike
April 6-12, 2015

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel the staff the location the view the service - everything amazing I loved every minute of our stay - watch this space I will be returning to this hotel on my return trip to Thailand!
The spa in the resort is fab 2
So close to the town by boat or walk loved the town as well

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wow - just WOW!

From the moment you get on the hotel speedboat in Ao Nang, you can just tell you are in for a treat.
The 10 minute ride across the water brings you up to the floating jetty which is in front of the hotel.

As you approach, you see the resort nestled in the forrest - and you can tell this is something special.

The welcome was fantastic, and after a quick refreshing juice and cool towel, and filling in your passport details, someone will collect you to show you to your room.
The lady we had was extremely polite, and explained each and every part of the hotel, and services available on the way to our room.

People complain about the walk to the rooms - yes, there are a few stairs if you are positioned at the back - but you can call a golf buggy to take you if you like.

The rooms positioned at the back of the resort offer the most AMAZING view.

We booked an ocean facing spa deluxe room and were not disappointed - having requested a high floor, we had the highest possible which was perfect!

The view was breathtaking - looking right out over the sea - you won’t be able to stop taking pictures. The jacuzzi tub on the balcony was large enough for 2 - maybe 3 if that takes your fancy ;-)
Especially great at sunset - which happens right in front of the resort over the sea - it’s a picture perfect setting!

The room itself was large with plenty of room. The king bed was more than adequate for 2, and the flat screen TV and DVD player had plenty of channels, in all languages.

There is a well stocked mini bar, with complimentary water refreshed each day. The prices were nowhere near what we had believed them to be - they were actually pretty good value.

The bathroom area again was fantastic. A free standing bath and huge rain shower area were superb - with a separate WC.

The beach and pool area ( of which there were 2 pools and jacuzzi area) were spotless and excelentaly maintained.
You get an hours free kayaking each day, which is great fun - you can head out around the coastline and explore the rocks.

There was plenty of sun loungers and the hotel was full. The bean bags on the beach were a great addition to sit and have a cool drink in.

The ‘On The Rocks’ beach bar was great, and again, not overly expensive for the setting. A Special mention to ‘Sheena’ - the friendliest waitress we have EVER met! If we could have put her in our case and brought her home - she’d be here now - she was great fun, and made you feel really welcome!

Yes, the hotel is separate to the rest of Ao Nang - this is not a bad thing at all!
You can get peace and quiet in the day, and then if you want to go to town you have a few options:

1. Take the Monkey Trail

Maybe not for the faint hearted or people that aren’t keen on heights. But fun, and easily done in 10 mins. Why people say it takes 25 mins is beyond me - they must walk backwards! It’s hard going in the heat - but the views and the monkeys make up for it.
We had no issues with the monkeys - they even jumped on our shoulders and played around with us - all very friendly, but I would’t advise you to carry food with you!

Also totally do-able in the dark, but you’ll just have to concentrate a bit more, and use your mobile light to help you out. Torches are provided in the room which you can take out with you.

2. Book the speedboat.

A regular free service from the hotel - this will take you to the Pier, and then you’ll just need a tuk-tuk into Ao Nang form there - but it’s only a £1 or so...

3. Long Tail Boat.

You can get a long tail boat from Ao Nang beach which will take you right to the hotel jetty - the price goes up after 6pm, but it’s easier than trekking the monkey trail in the dark ( which we did, just watch your feet and take a flashlight with you )

4. Wade around the headland

When the tide goes out it’s totally possible to wade around the headland to get to Ao Nang beach.

All in all - this was our holiday highlight - and if we are back in Krabi - we’ll be back in the Centara.

Thanks to all for a wonderful stay!

And for anyone thinking of staying here - think no more - book!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the back of the resort offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Troy A,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay overall and yes the arrival experience can be a wow as you approach the resort in the speedboat.

Yes the higher your room is located the better view is, however the trade-off usually means many more steps to climb or wait for one of the buggies to drop you back.

Our rooms are very generous in size with our minimum room size being 72sqm, including the terrace, so ideal for a couple, but also comfortable enough for a family of four in our twin bedded rooms.

Sheena is one of our trainees at On the Rocks who provides sincere service with huge amounts of energy and a very infectious smile….i will ensure she receives your praise.

Once again thank you for your tips to other guests and for your very kind and generous support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for 11 nights early March. From reading reviews early on we were incredibly excited about staying here and we're looking forward to relaxing after 3 nights in Bangkok.

However on the run up to leaving I was starting to get a little anxious about our choice of hotel as there were a lot of mixed reviews.

We Holiday quite a bit but this is only the second review I've done on Tripadvisor, as will only take the time to do so if I feel it necessary.

Firstly, those that have not rated this highly and have commented about the attitude of the staff? Quite frankly I'd love to know the type of hotels that you are used to!!

This was our first trip to Thailand, and I can honestly say, the people we met and the staff at the Centara were probably the most friendly, polite and curtious I have ever met. Wherever we went in the resort we were always looked after and it seemed that everyone was on hand to look after you.

We booked for club level which gave a little more luxury to the trip, lunch time snacks, evening drinks before dinner, nightly turndown service and laundry all complementary.

As for staff, Cha in the Club was lovely and Sheila at the On The Rocks is crazy, it's impossible not to have a smile on your face and a laugh when you talk to her.

We had a spa room which we only used a couple of times. The room was immaculate. te room, especially the bathroom looked a little 'tired', there were signs of repair to a lot of tiles, lime scale on the wooden blinds that went to floor level by the shower. The bath plug didn't work properly, but we reported it to reception on the way to dinner, and by the time we were back that evening it was sorted.

As for the Monkey Trail? Well it is what it is! My wife and I are in out mid 30's and excersise a lot. The trek is fine, however my wife freaked out when it came to going down the other side to Ao Nang. It is rickety, the steps are a steep drop and the hand rails somewhat wobbly, coupled with being pretty high up, it's easy to see why some one might get a little scared. However once at the bottom, we had a laugh about it, wandered round Ao Nang and paid the 200 baht each for a longtail boat back. I've always wanted to have a go in one!

Water sorts you can do as much or as little as you like, kayaks are a must, 1hr free per day and the scenery is even better than you can imagine!

Being a club member meant we had free water throughout the day, however a tip is to go to the gift shop to buy bottler water as its a lot cheaper than buying it from the bar. Alternatively it's about 30 baht (50p) for a 1.5 litre bottle in Ao Nang.

As for food, well what can I say, we went Half Board, so with the Club lunch snaks, we didn't need to pay for food. The Lotus Restaurant is buffet for breakfast and I thought would be the same for dinner, but in fact is a 3 course sit down menu restaurant. You could have as much Thai, western, European food choice as you wanted. We eat at all the restaurants and the food was simply stunning! Half board gets you access to all bar the Japanese restaurants.

This is the only hotel that I would not hesitate to come back to and would definitely recommend it to our friends and family. We're currently looking at booking again for next year!

David Martens, the staff, cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel and grounds are an absolute credit to you! Keep up the good work, and we look forward to coming back!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear butler51,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts and friendliness of the staff but also for making special mention of Khun Cha in the Club Lounge and Sheena at On the Rocks. These comments have been shared with them and are greatly appreciated.

I appreciate the feedback on the room and during our low season many of the issues you raised have been scheduled to be re-done.

We have to agree with you the upgrade to the Club is great value for money, a few glasses of wine in the evening in the bar would have already covered your cost to upgrade to get 5 meal services per day, including beverages. So even if you don’t book in advance, you can always book or decide to buy when you arrive at the resort.

Once again thank you for your kind and generous support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.