We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
Bucks United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I travelled with a group as my best friend and her fiancee were getting married. I had a deluxe ocean facing room. What can I say? the staff were amazing, helpful and friendly. The facilities were all we needed and more and the resort is tucked away in its own bay with private beach, so we felt safe and not crowded, like some of the other beaches in the area.
I loved the monkeys invading the resort and being cheeky. I loved the monitor lizards ambling by. I loved travelling by longtail boat to visit neighbouring towns and beaches. This is truly an amazing resort and if at all possible, I'll be back next year. 2 things to note: Firstly, on check-in you will be asked for a deposit of 20,000 Baht (but you can charge meals and drinks to your room and use it that way, so although it's a surprise, it's not a problem). Secondly due to it only being accessible by boat, it's really not for anyone who has difficulty getting around. If you are thinking of this area of Thailand for a holiday - this is by far the best place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    542
    240
    119
    73
See reviews for
383
1,114
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The service at this hotel was terrible. The staff would often ignore you and we had to stand in a line to get into breakfast. Room service would bring some of the meal and leave out salt and pepper. There were loads of children screaming and running through the dining room. We had to leave the Hotel to get decent food. The Hotel can only be accessed by boat or a treacherous step over a mountain. We were not aware of this. If you missed the shuttle you would have to pay about $10 to get over to the main land. Once off the boat we had to walk on a slippery rubber platform to get to the hotel. This place is definitely not for older people. The staff who worked on the boats would ignore us when we ask for the side blinds to be lifted when it was very hot. The chairs along the beach were taken by the same people who would put their towels on them from early morning till the end of the day regardless of whether they intended to sit there or not. We don't intend to visit again.

Room Tip: Ocean facing with a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kennedy766

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay with us and for this please accept our apologies.

I am also sorry you were not aware of our location and access before you booked but these details are listed on our website and listed with all our travel partners. Without any more details of your booking it is difficult to comment further.

Once again I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion but we will continue to work on improving our product and service so that we can meet the expectations of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent 4 days here after visiting phuket. Our travel agent ensured our arrival on the pier coincided with the hotel speed boat schedule, so there was no hanging around. The location is simply stunning and you can't beat arriving by speed boat. However with regards to the speed boat transfers, it is worth planning your evenings in advance if you want to go outside for the evening and if staying in its best to reserve a table in advance.
you can access the village by the monkey trail, which is good fun, we were lucky to time our crossing each time with low tide, which made it easier, suggest taking a rucksack to keep your hands free and to keep your purchases safe from the monkeys, as we did some blatant liberation of obvious snacks.
The Japanese restaurant is good, a little pricey, if possible book a seat at the teppanyaki grill, great fun.
Other reviews mention the rooms are tired, we didn't think this.
our recommendation would be to make this an adult only resort, making it even more special.
The Japanese restaurant is good, a bit pricey, but reserve a seat at the tepenakk

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear SJBMB,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and yes our location is one of the most talked about aspects of our resort.

The chefs in our Hagi restaurant were also pleased to read you enjoyed the restaurant and thank you for recommending our Tepanyaki as the chef’s work hard on their social skills but also their knife juggling and food handling techniques to ensure the guests at the counter have a great evening.

Yes the monkeys can be very cheeky and a back pack is ideal to carry any items when you cross the trail.

Once again thank you for generous your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The one stand out at this Resort was the breakfast, lots of variety, great food and interesting local fruits. I would definetely suggust taking an umbrella and a torch, even though the resort is well lit if you are walking back after dinner it helps to have a torch. We stayed the last week in November and a storm seemed to come in every afternoon, hence the umbrella. We got stuck at the pier one afternoon in a storm and the boat was delayed then out of the blue one of the staff handed out plastic ponchos (it was a bit late by then). This resort only for the fit.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor,because the monkeys climb up there and you can hear them running across the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Catherine C,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

The chef was very pleased to read you enjoyed his great breakfast buffet as he really makes a lot of effort to ensure there is a large variety but also he ensures that many dishes change each day.

Unfortunately the weather in the south of Thailand has not been great this year, we have experienced rain in most months and still to-date we are receiving regular rain which is highly unusual.

Once again thank you for your feedback and trust we may get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First of all I think the most important thing to mention is the location, you can only reach the hotel via the monkey trail from Aonang beach or by boat. This wasn't a problem for us as we are young and able to climb the steep monkey trail however I couldn't imagine my parents enjoying the hike everyday. You can also walk round the cliff to Aonang beach when the tide goes out, there were always lots of friendly monkeys along the way. The hotel does provide a free speedboat but you do need to book your seat in advance which I did hear some other guests complaining about. We stayed for 5 nights in an ocean view spa room which had an amazing view from the king size bed. Bathroom had a large bath tub as well as a powerful shower. The balcony was large with jacuzzi and sun loungers, we spent two whole days just chilling on our balcony in the tub admiring the view watching all the boats. The monkeys only visited our balcony once in the morning during our stay, myself and fiancé were fascinated it was a great experience but keep your balcony doors locked at all times. We spent our other days out on tours and only used the pool late in the afternoon when it was virtually empty before getting ready and heading off back out over the monkey trail to Aonang for dinner where there are lots of different restaurants to choose from. Please note the trail is well lit at night. Breakfast was included and we had lunch twice overlooking the beach, prices are more than if you were to eat out but what do you expect its a hotel not a hostel. The only negative comment we have would be that wifi was only free in reception, we think that all guests should get free access in their room as most other hotels half the price in Thailand offer this free throughout the whole property. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear CKWJRW

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay in March at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and yes our location is truly unique and spectacular.

The monkey trail has changed since you stayed due to new regulations introduced by the new government, so it is no longer in the same condition as in the past or lit up at night, therefore a torch is now required.

Our spa rooms are the most popular room types with Jacuzzi tubs on the balcony and yes a perfect location to relax and enjoy the sunsets.

Once again thank you for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my partner just come back from this stunning resort, we spent 5 days and wish we stayed longer. The staff are amazing, always happy to help with a smile! We had a ocean facing villa with pool- well worth the money!! Always clean, amazing views from the whole room.. something everyone would love waking up to. It's abit of a steep walk up to the room but we didn't mind at all. Little bit more expensive in the restaurants on the resort but the food and service is great! We didn't have any problems with the boat, very easy to book and always a pleasant journey. The monkey trail is very fun if you want to have monkeys climbing over you (and taking your snacks) they can be spiteful but the hotel does warn you about this. The trial itself is a long way up and back down, can be quite dangerous so be careful! Even though this resort is very private your not really that far away from anything. I would recommend this hotel it made our stay in Thailand one to remember and we will be back no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Kealey C,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Yes as the resort is built on the side of a hill surrounded by amazing limestone formations so there are many steps within the resort which keeps us all fit but also works up a thirst and appetite.

Once again thank you for your support and recognition, Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although on the mainland this solitary resort and its bay, which is surrounded by tree lined cliffs where the monkeys reside, is really only accessible by the hotel's speedboats or privately owned wooden longboats (both only suitable for the able bodied) - you can pre-book the former in the hotel's library to take you to (and be collected from) the outskirts of the nearby town of Ao Nang. Alternatively you can return to the Centara on a longboat from Ao Nang beach. The latter boats can also be booked in the hotel to take you to the next and bigger bay of Railay. 'The Monkey Trail' at one end of the resort's beach has a very steep ascent up 50 or so wooden steps with a wooden and rope handrail to the cliff path and obviously a similar amount down. (There are warning signs in Thai and a guard who takes your room number as you leave and return!) I tried it but there was then a deep stream to cross to get to the next beach or a walk inland at which point I gave up! Our room were very well appointed with air conditioning and a fan, 2 king size beds, a wet room, separate toilet, mini bar, TV and numerous light switches! We had a side balcony with roller blinds and a front one with a view over the gardens. We would have liked to have been able to walk to other restaurants outside the resort but certainly 3 of the 4 we tried were good, especially the Thai one. There was a lot to choose from with the buffet breakfasts. All the staff were helpful and courteous. Not a great deal of water sports for those who wanted it, apart from kayaking and diving trips could be arranged. Lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds around it or on the grass areas nearby, plus a separate pool near the Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear NinaS_8,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team. I was pleased to read also you enjoyed the great breakfast buffet and three of our four restaurants.

Yes our location and access is unique and the monkey trail is an option but on occasions the tides can be a challenge on the Ao Nang side, which sometimes means a longer walk around the stream through the carpark to get into town.

I have noted your comment about the watersports and will look into this further.

Once again thank you for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.