We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our Honeymoon here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi + Free ABF
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“We loved our Honeymoon here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just got back after two weeks here for my honeymoon.

Before I start, let me address the two apparently 'controversial' items about this resort- the monkey trail, and the floating pontoon.

The Monkey Trail: one reviewer went as far as to say: "...with many narrow steps to climb up and down for 20 minutes + in excruciating heat and humidity with danger of being attacked by monkeys or robbed by thieves".

It took me and my wife (and then later another two couples) a whole 8 minutes to go up and down. We aren't particularly fit. The trail has lots of wooden boards to use to go up, along, then down. The boards are wider spaced in places, but at no point is it dangerous. Yes it's hot and humid, but...shock...it's like it everywhere in that area, not just the trail.

The monkeys themselves are totally chilled. As we aren't used to being so close to monkeys, the first time we had to walk past one sat on the hand rail, we weren't sure what to expect. They just look, then get bored. At about half three/ four PM, they all head down to the bottom of the trail and relax, grooming each other or just trying to eat coconuts. As for getting robbed by thieves- lol. There is a security guard shack at either end of the trail, and they keep an eye on who uses it. We only passed commuting workers at Centara, either going to or from Ao Nang or other tourists.

You do need to be able bodied, and kids will need to be told to walk slowly and surely, but it is no big deal at all.

Secondly, the pontoon- it's perfectly safe, and it looks worse than it is. It does roll up and down with the waves, but we used it a lot, and watched others use it and there is no issue. The Thais are very happy to help if you look like you're in trouble.

As for people not being told about the Monkey Trail and then complaining they feel isolated....really? They clearly use TripAdvisor, but don't bother reading about the resort they are spending £1000+ going to? Come on, pull the other one.

OK, so on with the review.

As has been mentioned, the resort is indeed isolated to a point. You can either walk out using the Monkey Trail, or if the tide is out, you can just walk around the outcropping and save time/effort. Also, a free shuttle boat is available that takes you to Nopparathara Pier, which is basically the other side of Ao Nang. You can then get a cheap (£1) tuktuk (motorbike with sidecar) back into Ao Nang. All very easy and no hassles. Personally, we never bothered with the boat as the Monkey Trail was so easy.

We arrived after sunset, and reception was busy but we only waited 10 mins for our room, and were given refreshments while we waited.

We stayed in one of the Villas next to the pool, with a sea view, and as such we had a slightly bigger residence than some of the other buildings. They knew we were on a honeymoon, so they had laid on some champagne, a cake and fruit as a nice welcome. Very nice touch! The villa had lots of space, a large living room with sofas and TV (which we never used so can't comment on the channels etc) and a large bedroom also.

The bedroom came with a king-size bed, which was very comfortable. Nice to see four heavy pillows supplied also. There was, like the lounge, a TV in the room which we didn't use, and also a desk in one corner which was great if you wanted to do emails etc. The villa has it's own dedicated wifi router, which is chargeable unless, like us, you sign up to their 'Club' service- more on that in a minute.

You get a well stocked (but expectedly expensive) minibar, but tea/coffee and bottled water is plentiful and free (as the tap water isn't drinkable)

The villa has 2 seperate aircon controls, one for the lounge area, one for the bedroom, and ceiling fans. Aircon was very good, no problem keeping cool.

When we arrived, we got a free Spa treatment for both of us, which was amazingly good! I don't normally care one way or the other for massages, but the whole environment of the Spa was brilliant and was very relaxing (we both went for the Aromatherapy massage).

I would *highly* recommend going for the Club upgrade, which was very much worth it. You basically upgrade before you go, and you get: free internet, turn-down service daily, free papers, 10% off at the Spa, complimentary laundry service (one piece each per day) and access to the Club Lounge. This was the real highlight for me of the Club Service, as it's a very comfortable building where you are treated so well by the attentive staff who always have a smile and you get to know (hello to Cha and Pat!).

The Club Lounge is open all day, and they serve Breakfast, Mid-day snacks, Afternoon Tea, Pre-dinner cocktails and Evening cordials- all free of charge. They don't skimp on the alcohol servings either, so beware!

Ao Nang itself is worth heading into, some great places to eat if you fancy escaping the resort (and the resort prices)- all cheap and very good. Also, if you fancy some nightlife, Centrepoint is a good place to start, you can enjoy cheap drinks and shisha pipes there.

OK, what else- the pools are unheated, but heating them is really unnecessary anyway. The sea is much more preferable anyway and is a stones throw from the pool.

Due to the sudden rain downpours, there are umbrellas everywhere for use on the resort, which is a nice touch.

There are 3 restaurants and 2 bars in the hotel, all of which are lovely. As we went in low season, I don't know if them being very quiet is a result of this, or people just not being that interested in eating/drinking in the resort.

You can also book trips in the resort, as they have a travel desk in the Library (where you can also get free wifi). I felt they were very reasonably priced (for instance, an all day Phi Phi trip was £35 each)

OK, so to the things that weren't so good.

Clearly the resort was undergoing refurbishment in the empty rooms, and they were beavering away to complete this before high season kicks off. This didn't cause any noise issues, but did take away from the serenity of the place. My point was really that some of the rooms (ours included) were due this refurbishment, and there were things that were starting to fray around the edges.

For instance- we had an outside door with a bolt that can be slid into the upper frame, and this would secure the door. Unfortunately, this whole bolt mechanism had fallen out (no screws holding it in!). Why the previous residents had't reported it is beyond me, but maybe there should've been checks in-between checkout of one couple and check in of the next?

Also, our balcony lights didn't work- this wasn't a simple 'change the bulbs' job either.

Finally, our bathroom sink wasn't draining properly.

Now, in each instance, a quick call to reception yielded a member of engineering coming out within 20 minutes to rectify the problem. Lets face it, things to wrong in any establishment- it's how, and how quickly they deal with it, that earns them the respect. I was very impressed with the speed of putting these things right (the lights issue was reported at about 9pm).

But, refurbishments are needed, it's little things that you barely notice but all stack up.

Also, a shout out to Sara and Jan, who were the ceaselessly working managers running around making sure everyone was happy. We met them officially when we were invited to 'meet the management' over drinks and canapes in the Rim Sai restaurant. It's nice that they care enough to get direct feedback, although only 6 guests were there (don't know how many were invited).

So, in summary- we had a fantastic time, the resort, the staff, even the unpredictable weather were all great. We'd love to come back soon!

PS. Those who complain about the staff not speaking English....really???!

Room Tip: Recommend either a high room near the back (but you will get raiding monkeys making for your minibar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear BugPowderDust

Thank you for sharing your comments following your honeymoon at our resort last month.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for clarifying for all our other readers the real facts about the 2 most talked about features of our resort.

I am glad you enjoyed your villa and the Club Lounge and my apologies that some of the maintenance issues had been overlooked in your room. As you have rightly mentioned the rooms are being renovated and have now almost fully completed so I am confident the wear and tear issues you have mentioned have all been rectified.

Thank you for specifically mentioning Sara and Jan, we have shared these comments with them and they are greatly appreciated.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    606
    262
    127
    80
See reviews for
428
1,239
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The service at the reception and for transfer could be improved. From that point of view this is not a 5 star hotel. There was also some issues with a bill for the mini-bar (we didn´t use the mini-bar at all). It took around 20 min to solve this (10 dollars) issue.

The lock to our room was broken, they had to climb onto the balcony to open the door with a screwdriver. So every time we was going to the room, we had to ask in the reception for them to come an open the door for us. Took them 3 days to fix the lock. We requested a new room but it was fully booked. We already had paid for the stay, otherwise we would have moved to an other hotel because of this.

If you are looking for a high class SPA you will find it here. Also the food at the restaurant was good, specially the Sushi. The location is also nice, but the beach was a bit crowded when fully booked hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear annacopenhagen

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations due to your arrival experience and please accept my apologies for the problems you experience with your door lock any for any inconvenience this caused. We are currently in the process of converting all our door locks from the traditional turn key model to electronic key card locks and we have experienced several challenges with the change over of the hardware.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food, in particular in Hagi our Japanese restaurant and the Spa provided with you with a great experience.

Once again thank your for your feedback and we will continue to work on these issues so we can meet the expectation of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in Centara Grand Beach on B&B in April 2012. The hotel is on a secluded location with stunning views. We enjoyed the feeling that we were in the middle of an isolated jungle. Jungle trees are all around the resort and expect visit by monkeys in your balcony in some mornings.

It was very enjoyable to swim in the pool as you could barely see the buildings but the rocks and plantation. Reception and service desk staff were very helpful and dealt with inquiries immediately.

Rooms are very spacious and has very big terraces. Our terrace accommodated two sunbeds, two coffee tables, a two-seater sofa, a table with two chairs. Plenty of space to chill out in the room or terrace.

Breakfast is repetitive and we felt like there was nothing to eat after 3 days. We did not have any stomach problems though. Dinner is expensive for Thailand standards but reasonable for a 5-star hotel. the BBQ buffet dinner on Tuesday nights cost 1,300 baht per person (eqv. to £26) including the service charge and 17% tax. Variety of meat, salads and seafood including lobster and grilled whole crabs available on an "eat as much as you like" basis. Expensive but worth the money.

Access to hotel is either by boat (free shuttle service) or 10 minutes walk on the monkey trail. You can see many monkeys in the afternoon - they are harmless unless you feed them or try to make physical contact with them.

In Krabi, i would suggest having hot stone massage at Boossabakorn Spa (10 minutes by taxi). massage is expensive but worth the money. We also had one hour oil massage on the beach for 200 - 250Bht everyday, cheap massage in terms of price and quality but relaxing but beware of mosquitoes there in the evenings.

Overall, I think the pros far outweigh the cons and I'd love to come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Definitely go for or upgrade to seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear oncu_gocebe

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay back in April.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

I appreciate your comments on the breakfast buffet however the chef does have several hot dishes, the pastries and the fruit all rotate on a daily basis.

The area surrounding the resort is very much like a jungle and I am pleased this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here in august of this year for the first ten nights of our honeymoon and it was fantastic. We booked with Virgin and they were absolutely brilliant. The hotel location is absolutely stunning with lovely pools and a gorgeous secluded beach. Yes it is remote and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone especially elderly or with poor mobility (though they're were both staying there plus children etc,) as access to ao nang is either over a slightly adventurous 'monkey trail' or via free speed boat which is at the end of an unfixed jetti. However staff were always on hand to help you across the latter and we loved the fact that the hotel wasn't accessible to the general public, it meant that whenever we wanted one we got a sunbed without any hassle and the beach was all ours!

We had a free upgrade to a spa deluxe garden room and it was gorgeous, we couldn't fault it. Waterfall shower, huggggeee comfy bed, jacuzzi on the balcony, air con, dressing gowns, room cleaned daily and a turn down service every evening. Yes there are monkeys around, it's a national park, but as long as you don't leave food around or your doors open then they're amazing to watch and leave you pretty much alone.

The one big downfall is that everything in the hotel is very expensive. Drinks, food and the spa are all significantly more expensive than anywhere else (massage in hotel = £35, in ao nang it's about £5.) Food at the pool and the other restaurants is ok, the Thai themed buffet was lovely. the japenese restaurant we ate at on the first night cost us £75 for two courses and a cocktail but it was the best meal we've ever eaten! If you don't want to spend a fortune then you need to make the effort to book the speedboat and go to ao nang for dinner - not a chore as there are brill restaurants and bars and it's ten mins on the speedboat and 5 mins in a tuk tuk.

Overall staff are fantastic, location is stunning-just absolutely beautiful and the facilities are great, but be prepared to spend a lot of money if you stay in the hotel 24/7.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, the higher up the better if you are ok with stairs. And ask for the jacuzzi room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Alison S

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

We do review our food and beverage prices on a regular basis and they are in line with other hotels in the area that offer the same services and facilities.

Yes we all agree with you that the location is truly unique and I am please this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

First of all, this hotel is not fit for the physically challenged, the elderly or families with very young children or infants. Make sure you are physically fit before you book this hotel. The website does not warn you of the extremely dangerous floating pontoon which is the only way into the resort if you take their shuttle boat (you must book your seats this advance, they do inform you about this in the booking but in very small prints). The only other way into the resort without having to take the shuttle boat is via a dangerous "monkey trail" with many narrow steps to climb up and down for 20 minutes + in excruciating heat and humidity with danger of being attacked by monkeys or robbed by thieves. The resort is often overbooked meaning you have to wait a long time past check-in hour to get your room. When the rain pours (and it does very heavily and for a long period), you are definitely going to get wet as all the facilities including your rooms are spread out in different buildings with no covered walkway. They have several buggies to ferry guests around but there are not enough of them around and certainly not enough staff to operate them. The room I stayed in was a Premium Ocean view room, located on the 3rd floor on a building without lifts and steep stairs, the room has an expansive balcony with sun loungers and daybed looking out onto the hotel gardens and the sea. The sliding doors need lubricating and the bed was squeaks every time I move my body. The bathroom is large and nicely decorated but the hardware show signs of extreme wear and tear. The reception lady who escorted me to the room failed to warn of me of impending monkey raids and the next morning when we went to breakfast forgetting to lock the sliding doors (we did shut them) and came back to the room to find that it was trashed by a troop of monkeys who stole minibar snacks and left piles of excrement everywhere. Luckily we kept or valuables and clothes in the wardrobe. It was good that housekeeping staff spotted the monkeys raiding our room and took photo evidence to void the minibar charges off our bill. The food in the restaurants are good and reasonably priced (Thai Fried rice costed about 200 Baht ++ ). Breakfast was also adequate with the standard offerings. The hotel has a water sport centre where you can borrow a kayak for an hour each time and venture into the bay at your own risk. All in all, this is a fun resort in a beautiful location. Don't expect five star service and be prepared to disembark on the shaky floating pontoons and walk up to your room soaked wet. The resort can become very crowded so don't expect a complete zen experience. I think you can find resorts with equally beautiful view that is located in a more accessible location at a lower rate. The choice is yours.

Room Tip: loved the premium ocean view room on the 3rd floor of a building not far from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear skyrider88

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us last month.

You are correct to state that the resort is not suitable for physically challenged guests as we do not have any facilities to accommodate them and due to the many steps in the resort as well as our unique location.

Please accept my apologies that the staff member taking you to your room did not inform you about the monkeys, however there is a sign on the entrance door as well as on the desk and in various documents handed to you including my welcome letter, I am sorry you did not have time to read any of these.

I am not aware of any thieves on the monkey trail and I have never heard or received any such reports in the past. We do have a security guard station each side and guests cannot enter the resort without registering with the security guard.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I am sorry we did not completely meet your expectations, but we will continue to work on these to ensure we can meet the legitimate expectations of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Overall this could and should be a fabulous resort; beautiful location, views and lovely rooms but is let down by appalling management.
Arrival is poorly managed - our taxi dropped us off at what turned out to be an 'outpost' of the hotel but as no-one actually talked to us or told us what was happening we didn't realise until we were asked to get into a minibus and taken to the boat. Now, you'd think that after checking in once and waiting for 20 minutes for a minibus and then taking a 15 minute boat trip that the staff at the hotel might have an inkling that you're on your way. Apparently not! We, and a number of other guest had to wait for our rooms and for our luggage to be collected from the 'pier'. Its simply very poorly managed.
Getting in and out of the resort is a bit of a hassle. Its either a boat 15 min boat trip or a 30 mins climb / walk. It's important you know access to Ao Nang is restricted.
Our room, whilst not troubled by monkeys, did have some sort of overflow pouring water out onto the floor by the front door which took 3 phone calls and 2 trips to reception and 2 days to sort out.
Breakfast is good but the service and food at other times is sketchy at best.
The bar under the library (where there is a happy hour) could be amazing but the large fish tank was constantly blurred with condensation on the glass and the staff are unbelievably slow at making cocktails. To cap it all, on one night when we went down there (a group of 10 of us) we found the staff (no-one else was there) watching the Hobbit film at an unbelievably loud volume and when we asked for it to be turned down (or off - there weren't any guests) they refused to do it!! Quite unbelievable.
The Spa is overpriced and again suffers from poor staffing - my wife and I both had massages interrupted by power cuts and the masseuse taking mobile phone calls! Both were also meant to be 90 minutes yet we were outside with a cup of tea after 75 minutes!
Local spas in Ao Nang represent much better levels of service at a much better price.
Check-out was also a fiasco and the boat to take us from the resort was almost 20 minutes late leaving making it a little too close for comfort for us getting our flight.
Staff were generally quite rude (unusual in Thailand) and 'Nick' in reception was a prime example of this adding arrogance as well in large measures.
This hotel is desperately in need of some good management and a bit of money spent on maintenance and staff training.
Shame really as it could be so good.
Avoid until sorted.

Room Tip: Get a room in Ao Nang at a different resort and take a boat trip to here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear CameramanG

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectation.

It was unfortunate that a taxi driver took you to our transport office in Ao Nang, where we do not expect to receive guests and without further details I can comment on why the staff did not inform the resort of your arrival.

However for the benefit of other readers of this forum our reservations department do advise guests how to get to the pier where you board the shuttle boat to the resort. Also the information about our unique location and our access is listed on our website.

I am very surprised at your comments about the spa as I have never received such comments in the past and will investigate this further.

Further to our comment about Nick at reception, we do not have any staff member of this name or any name similar, all our staff at the front desk are Thai with the exception of the front office manager.

We are currently carrying our renovations at the resort which are due to be completed this week which I am confident will address your comments about the maintenance.

Once again thank your for your feedback and we will continue to work hard to meet the expectation of all our guests.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in Centara Grand Krabi for 4 nights after spending a week in Phuket. The resort is located in the paradise! We arrived to Nopparathara pier and were waiting for our transfer for few minutes. After 5-minutes ride by speed boat we arrived to the floating jetty, where we were met by the reception staff. A friendly Thai lady brought us to the reception for check in. Our room should be ready by 2 o’clock, so we took our swimming suits and went to the pool. The swimming pool looked amazing and had ocean view from one side and mountains from another. The resort territory is very green and we felt very close to the nature. At 2 o’clock we went to our room. The room is spacious and cozy, so we felt at home there. It had a nice terrace, we liked to spend time there. The room was cleaned every day, staff made a turn-down as well.
It’s a family friendly resort, but as a couple we were also very comfortable there. Guests are mostly from Europe.
The hotel staff usually is warning the guests about the monkeys in the hotel, since they are very smart and can try to get into the room.
There are 2 ways to reach the Ao Nang town. The first one is by speedboat, in that way you’ll need to contact guest relations and they’ll book for you a seat according to the boat schedule. We used the second way, which was the monkey trail. For us it was more like an adventure, so the more we went, the more we enjoyed our short trip.
The breakfast was with a very good selection of food, juices, fresh fruits. In Ao Nang town there are also a lot of restaurants with nice food, so food won’t be a problem there as well.
Every day the hotel gives complimentary 1 hour kayaking. We went twice and it was fantastic, since we could come very close to the caves and enjoy a beautiful scenery.
During our stay we felt very relaxed, we enjoyed the nature, friendly staff. The location of the resort is good already, but the exotic plants that you can find in abundance in the resort make it even better and more unique. If anybody would ask me which hotel I’d recommend, I’d tell with no doubt that it’s Centara Grand Krabi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Anastasia M

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay in August at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

The wildlife and the location of the resort is truly unique and I am please this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.