We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No reason to leave the place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No reason to leave the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The place is a true vacation. With its own beach, you can enjoy time by the pool, beac and water activities free like kayaks, katamarans and windsurfing.
The food is great although expensive.
Rooms are big and nice. TVs are old but they told me they are. Changing them to LCD in a month - check it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Doron A

Thank you for sharing your kind comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    472
    213
    114
    66
See reviews for
333
991
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 1 week and really enjoyed it. Yes, it is a little bit expensive and yes the dependence on the shuttle boat can be a little frustrating but overall the good outweighed the bad. Great location with lovely beach and nice pool. Our room was ok but probably slightly overdue a makeover. All the staff were very pleasant and friendly, particularly the towel staff by the pool. We ate several times at the restaurant by the pool and it was good. We really enjoyed the Thai buffet night but the 'surf'n turf' night was a disappointment.
Many reports regarding the monkeys on here and we had one morning where a group made a determined effort to get into the room - much to the delight of the kids! So make sure you secure your room properly.
We tried out the spa. No real complaints but it wasn't knockout service.
We tried the monkey trail over to Ao Nang. My 7 year old managed it no problem albeit carefully but it was definitely not for my 3 year old. I would say it's not for under 5s.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear IanGD

Thank you for sharing your comments following your family’s recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay overall and yes the rooms are being refurbished commencing in May of this year.

The monkeys are a common topic of conversation in the resort and I am pleased to see they added to your experience.

Once again thank your for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Despite a slow start (our shuttle boat was late by 30 minutes), we had a really nice time at this expensive but gorgeous resort. We stayed 4 nights here then booked a cheaper hotel in the town of Ao Nang. Looking back, I think we wished we would have done the cheaper hotel first because arriving so late at night felt like a waste. Our room was great, double bed with a beautiful bathroom. Not very comfortable bed, but I have zero complaints. The internet did not work in our room, but that was ok. The staff went out of their way to accommodate and assist us including a surprise birthday cake and song (free of charge apparently) for our friend. The monkey trail is a great experience, but do not bring food (especially...um..bananas) as they will rob you. We booked one excursion with the hotel (4 island tour) and felt a little misled by our concierge. The tour and each island was very crowded and we spent 45 minutes at each island. We specifically were asking for something special, so my advice would be to research beforehand. However, same concierge suggested a great elephant tour (Nosey Parker),

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hot tub on the deck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Martin1019

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay. I have noted your comments about the bed, and the internet, both of which are being addressed during our refurbishment plans this year.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Spent 8 nights at this lovely resort recently and can highly recommend it. All rooms are ocean-facing, although they don't all have ocean views - we did, and it was great. Fantastic room, with the best shower I've ever experienced! Two large balconies (be sure to keep the doors closed so the monkeys don't get in). Accessible only by boat, so feels really safe and private. Our only beef was a slight lack of communication. For instance, we only knew about the monkey trail via Tripadvisor reviews and it wasn't until night 5 or 6 that we realised you could negotiate the rocks at low tide to and from Ao Nang Beach rather than catch the resort shuttle to the distant pier. Still, a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room up high, to get the views (and the bonus of a bit of exercise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Ouzo10

Thank you for sharing your great comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay. Yes our rooms are very generous in size and if you book a ocean facing room you will not be disappointed and the higher you are the better the view.

Once again thank your for your wonderful support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had 12 nights here in March 2013.

It is an amazing oasis near to the slightly seedy town of Ao Nang. Part of the appeal is the lack of easy access. There is no road to the resort, just a slightly precarious path known as 'The Monkey Trail' or a short boat trip from the pier at Ao Nang. This lack of access means that the lovely beach is virtually empty all the time and almost exclusively used only by the hotel residents.

The resort is built within one of the rain forest national parks so it has been developed very sensitively with low rise buildings thinly spread out.

The daily visits by the local monkeys are a major attraction. Don't try and conceal any fruit because they will find it! The sunsets are to die for.

The rooms are big with large beds and excellent bathrooms (monsoon showers etc). The linen is changed every day - important in the prevailing climate.

Previous reviews have criticised the staff's lack of English but, whilst it is a bit hit or miss, the staff do their utmost to be helpful and, if they struggle to understand, will always go and find someone with a better grip of the language. The staff could not have been more polite or pleasant with beaming smiles from everyone from the the managers down to the security staff.

The food in the restaurants, whilst pricey compared to local places, is really good.There are four restaurants to choose from with differing price levels. The food in the Lotus is international style and some of the best we have tasted anywhere in the world. The Japanese restaurant is very authentic but be careful not to over order as the portions are huge.

Cheaper but equally good alternatives are the beach bar and Thai restaurant. Wine in all of the venues is predictably pricey but beer and cocktails are around average for a resort of this quality.

Everything is meticulously well-kept. The pool area is a big favourite with the most comfortable sunbeds we have had with waiter service for drinks and food running throughout the day.

The spa treatments are very upmarket in gorgeous surroundings.

This is a real relaxation and pamper holiday if that's what you want although the staff will very efficiently organise trips to local attractions and islands at reasonable cost.

Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a jacuzzi on the balcony - good fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear BlackfeatherBerks

Thank you for sharing your positive comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the English speaking efforts and friendliness of all the team.

Our location is very special and we are pleased to read you enjoyed this as well as the presence of the local monkey population.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My two daughters and myself stayed in this beautiful property for 4 nights. That was the highlight of our trip. Staff is very helpful and always there to serve you. Top service. Our room was a bit high almost on the top but we did not mind, good exercise climbing up. Restaurants and food very good. Beach is not too big but never crowded. We used monkey trail to get to an other bigger beach Ao Nang - loved it. Monkeys are everywhere especially in the morning and late afternoon, so cute. We did feed them sometimes. Experienced a beautiful sunsets. Overall we great place to stay we truly recommend. We left sad because we are leaving but with big smile. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Vali1999

Thank you for sharing your kind comments following your families recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the friendliness and efforts of all the team.

We truly appreciate your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The resort is set amongst beautiful limestone cliff, nice rooms and good food but that's where it ends. The service from the staff is very poor, not friendly at all. Upon a arrival after a member of stafft took our luggage to our room, he literally stood their frozen staining making it very obvious we was wanting a tip right, the look on his face was quite frightening. At breakfast when the staff bring you coffee they don't bring you milk you have to keep asking for it...really not great service.

The hotel is very cut off from the town you either have to do the monkey walk or book the boat and then a tuk tuk into the centre.

I have been to Thailand a few times now and believe me their are places much better than this, with amazing service, stunning scenery and easy access to local restaurants when you can walk along the beach to them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear JoBYorkshire

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was disappointed to read we did not meet your expectation and that you found the staff unfriendly.

I was also surprised to read, considering your previous trips to Thailand, that you were not aware of our location as this information is featured heavily on trip advisor, on our website and also contracted with all our travel partners.

Once again thank you for you feedback.
.
Regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.