We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi Free ABF
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Despite a slow start (our shuttle boat was late by 30 minutes), we had a really nice time at this expensive but gorgeous resort. We stayed 4 nights here then booked a cheaper hotel in the town of Ao Nang. Looking back, I think we wished we would have done the cheaper hotel first because arriving so late at night felt like a waste. Our room was great, double bed with a beautiful bathroom. Not very comfortable bed, but I have zero complaints. The internet did not work in our room, but that was ok. The staff went out of their way to accommodate and assist us including a surprise birthday cake and song (free of charge apparently) for our friend. The monkey trail is a great experience, but do not bring food (especially...um..bananas) as they will rob you. We booked one excursion with the hotel (4 island tour) and felt a little misled by our concierge. The tour and each island was very crowded and we spent 45 minutes at each island. We specifically were asking for something special, so my advice would be to research beforehand. However, same concierge suggested a great elephant tour (Nosey Parker),

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hot tub on the deck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Martin1019

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay. I have noted your comments about the bed, and the internet, both of which are being addressed during our refurbishment plans this year.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    631
    268
    128
    86
See reviews for
447
1,285
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Spent 8 nights at this lovely resort recently and can highly recommend it. All rooms are ocean-facing, although they don't all have ocean views - we did, and it was great. Fantastic room, with the best shower I've ever experienced! Two large balconies (be sure to keep the doors closed so the monkeys don't get in). Accessible only by boat, so feels really safe and private. Our only beef was a slight lack of communication. For instance, we only knew about the monkey trail via Tripadvisor reviews and it wasn't until night 5 or 6 that we realised you could negotiate the rocks at low tide to and from Ao Nang Beach rather than catch the resort shuttle to the distant pier. Still, a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room up high, to get the views (and the bonus of a bit of exercise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Ouzo10

Thank you for sharing your great comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay. Yes our rooms are very generous in size and if you book a ocean facing room you will not be disappointed and the higher you are the better the view.

Once again thank your for your wonderful support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had 12 nights here in March 2013.

It is an amazing oasis near to the slightly seedy town of Ao Nang. Part of the appeal is the lack of easy access. There is no road to the resort, just a slightly precarious path known as 'The Monkey Trail' or a short boat trip from the pier at Ao Nang. This lack of access means that the lovely beach is virtually empty all the time and almost exclusively used only by the hotel residents.

The resort is built within one of the rain forest national parks so it has been developed very sensitively with low rise buildings thinly spread out.

The daily visits by the local monkeys are a major attraction. Don't try and conceal any fruit because they will find it! The sunsets are to die for.

The rooms are big with large beds and excellent bathrooms (monsoon showers etc). The linen is changed every day - important in the prevailing climate.

Previous reviews have criticised the staff's lack of English but, whilst it is a bit hit or miss, the staff do their utmost to be helpful and, if they struggle to understand, will always go and find someone with a better grip of the language. The staff could not have been more polite or pleasant with beaming smiles from everyone from the the managers down to the security staff.

The food in the restaurants, whilst pricey compared to local places, is really good.There are four restaurants to choose from with differing price levels. The food in the Lotus is international style and some of the best we have tasted anywhere in the world. The Japanese restaurant is very authentic but be careful not to over order as the portions are huge.

Cheaper but equally good alternatives are the beach bar and Thai restaurant. Wine in all of the venues is predictably pricey but beer and cocktails are around average for a resort of this quality.

Everything is meticulously well-kept. The pool area is a big favourite with the most comfortable sunbeds we have had with waiter service for drinks and food running throughout the day.

The spa treatments are very upmarket in gorgeous surroundings.

This is a real relaxation and pamper holiday if that's what you want although the staff will very efficiently organise trips to local attractions and islands at reasonable cost.

Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a jacuzzi on the balcony - good fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear BlackfeatherBerks

Thank you for sharing your positive comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the English speaking efforts and friendliness of all the team.

Our location is very special and we are pleased to read you enjoyed this as well as the presence of the local monkey population.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My two daughters and myself stayed in this beautiful property for 4 nights. That was the highlight of our trip. Staff is very helpful and always there to serve you. Top service. Our room was a bit high almost on the top but we did not mind, good exercise climbing up. Restaurants and food very good. Beach is not too big but never crowded. We used monkey trail to get to an other bigger beach Ao Nang - loved it. Monkeys are everywhere especially in the morning and late afternoon, so cute. We did feed them sometimes. Experienced a beautiful sunsets. Overall we great place to stay we truly recommend. We left sad because we are leaving but with big smile. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Vali1999

Thank you for sharing your kind comments following your families recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the friendliness and efforts of all the team.

We truly appreciate your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The resort is set amongst beautiful limestone cliff, nice rooms and good food but that's where it ends. The service from the staff is very poor, not friendly at all. Upon a arrival after a member of stafft took our luggage to our room, he literally stood their frozen staining making it very obvious we was wanting a tip right, the look on his face was quite frightening. At breakfast when the staff bring you coffee they don't bring you milk you have to keep asking for it...really not great service.

The hotel is very cut off from the town you either have to do the monkey walk or book the boat and then a tuk tuk into the centre.

I have been to Thailand a few times now and believe me their are places much better than this, with amazing service, stunning scenery and easy access to local restaurants when you can walk along the beach to them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear JoBYorkshire

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was disappointed to read we did not meet your expectation and that you found the staff unfriendly.

I was also surprised to read, considering your previous trips to Thailand, that you were not aware of our location as this information is featured heavily on trip advisor, on our website and also contracted with all our travel partners.

Once again thank you for you feedback.
.
Regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rourkela
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at this resort with my family. This places really scores high with the location and scenic views but I personally would not rate it as a 5 star deluxe property. Access to the property is only by sea ( the monkey trail they say is not very safe if accompanied by small children.) so it limits your freedom to access the town. There is a complimentary boat ride to the pier every 2 hrs but you really wouldn't want to follow a timetable on a leisure trip.
Staff overall is courteous..Problems are addressed to quite in time. Food is overpriced so are the rooms. I paid USD 400/night for a premium deluxe ocean view room in high season. Would recommend to look for other properties also at this price. As a person with fair amount of travelling experience I would say USD 300 is the max what rooms are worth here.
Room Service is expensive, eg. a regular chicken burger is for thb 400, the same burger you can have at their beach side bar for thb 250.
Enjoy happy hrs at the " ON THE ROCKS" beach bar and "THE DEEP BLU" bar.

Room Tip: ocean view room is a must in this hotel. if travelling with kids, take the premium deluxe ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear aps88

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I do not wish to sound insensitive to your comments about our prices, however I am sure you can appreciate it is all about supply and demand. We are by far, not the most expensive in Krabi/Ao Nang area, nor are we the least expensive. Also do to our unique location, which you have also stated rates us very high, incurs additional expenses in supplying all goods and services to the hotel.

We also survey our food and beverage prices on a regular basis to ensure we are in line with our competitor hotels that offer the same facilities and services. Centara also offers our Baht Bonanza program which if taken advantage, guests can save up to 50% off food, beverages and spa prices in the resort.

The room service menu is currently being re-designed and will match the same prices as in our other outlets.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Kind regards David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Me & my partner have just come home from a 2-week stay at the Centara. It was our first holiday away together so we wanted to make sure it was special... and for us it was a lot of money for a holiday! I did my research & read as many reviews as I could find about the Centara... worryingly a few of them were bad, stating things like the rooms weren't clean, furniture was old and shabby, service wasn't good and rooms didn't have hot water. I read all this just before we went & was worried sick we'd wasted all that money.
HOWEVER. I literally don't have a bad thing to say about the whole experience. From start to finish it was perfect.
The staff at the meet and greet are super friendly, everything is loaded onto the hotel ferry boat and off you go... on arrival at the hotel you're greeted with a smile and a cool towel to refresh yourself before you check in. The hotel & grounds are stunning... lush palm trees and greenery, winding paths and beautiful waterfalls all backed up by the massive limestone cliffs. We checked in no problem & were shown to our room, no.1111, an Ocean-Facing Spa Deluxe room. It wasn't much more to upgrade to this room from a standard and I SERIOUSLY recommend it. The resort is very hilly which is no problem if your fit and healthy, and they have golf buggies to transport you around if not.
The room was gorgeous.... huge bed and TV, with a table should we choose to eat in our room. The bathroom had a massive bath (big enough for two to squeeze), a rainfall shower and a smaller shower too. Our balcony had two sunloungers, a table and chairs, and best of all, a beautiful jacuzzi-bath with an amazing view of the bay. We made the most of that as much as possible!!!
The room was in a great state, nothing was old or shabby, everything worked and was clean. Lovely Thai girls came to clean the room every day without fail and there was a turn-down service included at night too where they leave a flower and bottles of water by your bedside.
Every single member of staff that we spoke to were friendly and polite, I recommend learning a few basic Thai phrases out of politeness (we learned hello, thank you, & do you speak english). The staff were brilliant when we were booking our excursions... we booked most of ours through the hotel as its safer and you get a receipt. The one trip they didn't offer was horse riding, I however did my research and found 'Krabi Nature Horse Riding' in Ao Nang, and asked the hotel staff to call & book for us, to which they happily obliged.

Breakfast in the morning was EXCELLENT. Every food you could think of.... cereals, yoghurts and fruit, croissants, pastries, toast with a selection of jams, all manner of cooked breakfast, pancakes, omelettes, cold meats and cheese..... the list goes on. Every morning we filled our boots! (and took some up to the room for lunch).

The hotel restaurants are spectacular too. Our favourites were Hagi and Rim Sai. They are expensive though and the only bad thing is they add a 10% service charge to every bill and also put a section for tipping at the bottom... after a hefty service charge we couldn't tip as well (we're not made of money!), which is sad as the service was excellent. There is a collection of musicians who wander around the restaurant serenading guests as you wait for your food.
I would recommend the Teppanyaki Lobster in Hagi... its more money but totally worth it as the chef comes out and cooks it infront of you on the plate... he was flipping the knives in the air and doing tricks and generally keeping us well entertained. And the end result was DELICIOUS. Lobster with sauteed vegetables all seasoned to perfection. The best meal we had out there.

The pool was so clean and beautiful. There are two-tiers to the pool and then also a jacuzzi at the top. During the first week of our stay the resort was much quieter and we loved it... during the end more and more people were arriving and the pool was much busier; some days it was hard to get a sun lounger.
The beach is nice and clean, and there are huge bean bags for you to be comfortable on (again, those get taken up quickly).
We took advantage of the 1-hour free kayaking at least four times while we were there and it was great to go off exploring. At low tide you can walk out to the limestone rock in the bay (must be tall though!).

We used the monkey trail to get to Ao Nang and back nearly every day. Again, if you are fit this won't be a problem, but anyone with bad knees or of an older disposition I wouldn't recommend this. Theres a steep climb either side, with wooden steps that have been nailed onto the hillside. Some of the steps are loose and uneven so you have to watch your footing and go slowly. Once you get up, theres a slight hill over to the other side where theres a steep descent. In the daytime you'll usually find lots of monkeys over at the Ao Nang end of the monkey trail, its funny to watch them jumping into the water from the trees and generally monkeying around. If you hold your hand out to them some of the smaller ones will climb onto you, theyre friendly but WILL try and get into your bag so make sure its closed.
Its safe to walk the Monkey Trail at night as there are lanterns but it will leave you sweating and red-faced by the end.

I hope I've covered everything. We had such an amazing time here and its really sad to be home. Im very envious of anyone who's about to go.... enjoy your holiday!!!

Room Tip: Ocean-facing Spa Deluxe rooms are worth the extra bit of money - simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear VickyM

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

As you know it really goes a long way with the local Thai people when guests make an effort to learn a few local phrases.

Yes all our rooms are a decent size with the total area being a minimum of 72sqm and we do make a lot of effort to try and keep the rooms in a good condition considering our difficult location to access as well as the harsh limestone environment.

I was pleased to read that the staff were able to assist you with the horse riding and thank you for the information as this is not often requested.

Once again thank your for your kind words and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi,

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.