We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try harder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Save Saved
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Round Trip Transfer
Ranked #8 of 84 hotels in Ao Nang
Woking
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must try harder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The centara was the final destination of our honeymoon and we thought we'd saved the best for last.

We decided to book a jacuzzi room as it was our honeymoon and we certainly weren't disappointed. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. When we arrived in the room we were presented with a very delicious cake and rose petals on the bed to celebrate our honeymoon which was a nice touch. Really have no complaints about the room.

The breakfast was good with lots of variety. That said it was a daily battle to get any more than 1 cup of coffee. We would be offered tea or coffee when we first sat down and the waitress would pour a cup rather than leaving a flask of coffee so we could have multiple cups, which is fine if you are then offered another cup ( I need coffee in the morning). However we always struggled to get anyone's attention to ask for more coffee, in most cases giving up.

Another disappointing thing about breakfast was one morning when I selected a couple of pieces of bread from the bread basket and then looked down on my plate and saw that there were tiny ants coming from the bread, needless to say I left the bread alone for the rest of my stay.

I was quite disappointed by the service at the centara. We dined at on the rocks one evening and had to wait almost 15 minutes for our beers, despite it not being busy and then once our meal was brought out we had to ask for salt multiple times before it was brought over and some of the waiters seemed to lack the notion if service with a smile, felt like our requests were just a hassle. Whilst we did encounter some great staff I was quite underwhelmed in general by the level of service.

I would like to recognize Maw who was the waiter when we had private dining on the beach and he also served us at on the rocks. He's brilliant very happy and smily, professional and delivered great service if all the staff were like him I'm sure we'd have had a much better experience.

I also felt disappointed by the level of cleanliness around the resort. Whilst swimming in the pool one day someone had nicely left 2 beer cans on the side of the pool, there they remained for 2 days after. Also we used the same sun loungers for a few days running. There was a mound if cigarette butts ( not from us) that never got cleaned away. The ladies toilets downstairs from the lobby also looked like they could do with a good clean and spruce up.

All in all we did enjoy our stay but I do feel that a lot of work needs to be done to improve the level of service and also the general cleanliness if the resort. We paid a lot of money (for us) to stay at the resort and so I do feel slightly let down that our experience did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Becca W

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It is such a pleasure to receive compliments about our staff and thank you for specifically mentioning K.Maw who took care of you at your private dinner on the beach. These comments have been passed to him and they are greatly appreciated.

I was sorry to read that we did not completely meet your expectations however please be assured that we are all committed and are working hard to continuously improve the quality of our product and service to meet our guest’s expectations.

Once again thank your for your feedback.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    768
    474
    217
    114
    66
See reviews for
343
998
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just back to the awful weather in London after being in Krabi at 33c each day!

The hotel is set on a lovely quiet private beach, with a free shuttle boat service, great stuff.

Totally wonderful setting, hotel is like a number of small villas nestled into the hillside, so wonderful.

Staff are particularly nice, very professional yet totally friendly, thank you to them for making this the best holiday in a long time.
Lovely breakfast food, great to be able to sit outside next to thousands of fish, and the birds singing.


We ate out most nights as its so much cheaper than the hotel, you can get to Ao Nang restaurants by boat/taxi or the monkey trail, which although isn't particularly high, its precarious to say the least, not for the faint hearted, It takes about 15 minutes, I wouldn't risk it again, avoid it and get the boat, its safer! and you wont be dripping with sweat at the end of your journey!
Nice to see the friendly monkeys though, loads of them!

Ao nang itself is a bit trashy, some great cheap places to eat and drink, lovely food too.

Back to the hotel, the room we had was an ocean facing deluxe spa room, and very nice it was too, fully air conditioned, lovely bath, unlimited free mineral water.

My only criticism would be that there is now a bit of work thats needs to doing in the hotel, some fixtures/fittings etc.
This would bring it up to the 5 Star hotel it should be, as it it stands its a very good 4.9 star, but can very easily be made a 5 star!
The staff are 5 star, this is for sure, and wow, the location, brilliant.

We would go again for sure, thank you so much to everyone there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear mick054

Thank you for sharing your kind comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

We acknowledge more maintenance is required in some areas of the resort but please be assured that we are all committed and are working hard to continuously improve the quality of our product and service to meet our guest’s expectations.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Resort from the 15 - 23 Dec. 2012.
When I arrived at the airport somebody of the resort was already waiting for me to bring me to Ao Nang beach, where a former US Navy amphibian vehicle took me to the resort. I was surprised how far up the room is so prepare yourself for a bit of exercise to get to the sea-view rooms.
The Resort itself is beautiful in their own bay. Because of that you have to take the shuttle boat to the bier in Ao Nang. The idea is good but you have to book in advance when you want to go on the boat and it can be full quite quickly. Unfortunately it is only going every hour, even though the transportation takes 5 or max.10 min.
The Monkeytrail is definitely not suitable to cross to Ao Nang in the evening for dinner, but the hotel is clearly saying that it is NOT an alternative to the shuttle, it is kind of a hiking trail.

In the morning the money were very active on my balcony, but they are playing and as long as you leave them alone and/or have food with you they will not care about you very much.

The food was not too bad. I had Pizza in the restaurant "On the Rocks" which was very delicious.

All in All I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear outro92

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

For the benefit of other readers, the resort is situated on the side of limestone mountains therefore there are many steps to the higher rooms so that guests can enjoy the amazing view of our location, but unfortunately that means a little exercise or working up a thirst. I suppose there are various ways to look a this depending upon your level fitness.

There are a lot of comments on this forum about the hourly shuttle boat, but if I can explain this further, the trip does vary in time due to sea and weather conditions. The trip on average takes 15 minutes, however then there is loading and unloading of luggage and passengers and when you take this into account it is actually a 30 minute trip each way. Therefore an hourly shuttle is not unreasonable.

Once again thank your for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the centara for just one night as a treat to ourselves at the end of our honeymoon. We were staying the week at the mercure and as lovely as the room was , it wasn't quite the honeymoon setting we had hoped for.
The centara did not disappoint. The room was beautiful, we had the ocean facing spa deluxe. It featured a jacuzzi on the balcony, stand alone bath, rain shower and ample wardrobe space for our belongings. The king size bed in the centre of the room was so comfy also.
I decided to surprise my new husband with an evening of private dining on the beach. It worked it about £80 for the four course meal, delicious tuna loin, succulent salmon and an amazing marscqpone mousse to end. He service was superb and it as a real treat to end our honeymoon with.
The pool which over looks the private beach was relaxing and quiet most of the time. Just the annoying humming of the passing long tail boats on the ocean all day disturbed it.
The only thing which we didnt like, which was what initially put us off staying here,was the monkey trail. We endured it to get to the hotel during the day, it was bad then so I certainly wouldn't like to attempt it in the dark.
There is a boat which takes you into Ao Nang frequently, we got a place on it easily enough but were assured it fills up very quickly.
Would def stay here again and recommend to other honeymooners and families,beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear janeymadone

Thank you for sharing your comments following your one night stay as part of your honeymoon.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and that the private dinner on the beach met your expectations.

The monkey trail is not for everyone but we were glad to see you made use of the complimentary shuttle into Ao Nang.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon & really enjoyed our stay. The location on a private beach is what really sets it apart from other ao nang resorts. It is also what may make it a no go for some people in that it isn't the most accessible for some people.

It is situated roughly halfway between railay beach and ao nang. Access via water:you can get a long tail boat to & from ao nang to the hotel's floating pier or you can use the hotel's private speedboat (free shuttle service available at regular intervals daily) which takes you to & from a pier near ao nang & from there you can get a taxi/tuk tuk to ao nang or wherever else you wish to go. There is also a monkey trail which is essentially a wooden stairs & walkway through the forest/woodlands near the hotel which connects the hotel to ao nang. This walkway is not suitable for those with mobility issues or for young infants in buggies/prams. It is lit at night which helps but can be tricky to navigate if you have bags etc to carry.

Our room (1066) was beautiful, it had an ocean view with a lovely balcony on which where 2 loungers, a table 2chairs & a sofa. There was also a jacuzzi which took a lot of water to fill but it was lovely to sit in it at sunset! On arrival we were presented with a heart shaped cake, a petal filled bath & 2 intertwined heart shaped petals on the bed!

The room was kept very clean, the nightly turn down was a lovely touch & each night an orchid was left on each side of the bed.some of the rooms are accessed via lots of steps so that may be an issue for some.

Breakfast was very good every morning with a great variety for all nationalities that typically visit Thailand. All Staff were very friendly throughout our 5 night stay

The pool was small but never seemed crowded during our stay, the loungers did however full up fast each morning. Plenty space on the beach though which was beautiful & lovely to swim in the sea.

We had a lovely massage in the spa on site.

There were lots of couples, families young & older there.

Con: the 10% service charge & 7% vat added to everything, even if you went to the bar to get an ice cream you were charged a 10% service charge. It made us rethink eating & drinking in the bars & restaurant as the prices were already quite steep but became even steeper with the added costs. We did have a beautiful meal in the Thai restaurant but the pool bar ( on the rocks) was only ok & we never ate there again. We found it more reasonable to go into ao nang for dinner & 1 night went to railay.

Con: free wifi in lobby but you have to pay for wifi in the rooms.

All in all a lovely hotel which I would return to but it is expensive to stay there & even more expensive to eat & drink there on a regular basis over a few days. Also for some the access to the resort may pose problems.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Evergree

Thank you for sharing your comments with other readers following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet, the massage at Spa Cenvaree, and the staff took good care of you during your stay.

I appreciate your comments on the service charge on some pre-packages items and we are reviewing our systems with a view to changing this.

Once again thank your for your feedback and we hope we may get another opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great private location for a family vacation. Nice private beach with activities other than swimming to keep everyone happy(kayaking and hiking on monkey trail). Place can use better maintaince and cleanliness. Food and drinks are great at all hours.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view but no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear jundoone

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read that you and your family enjoyed your overall stay and yes we are very fortunate to have such a great beach.

We acknowledge and are working on improving the maintenance in some areas without disturbing guests, but appreciate your comments.

Once again thank you for your feedback and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

yours truly, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drøbak
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I work in the travel business and have seen many locations -this place is very special....Jungle, mountains, beach and luxury all packed into same place and the whole family (wife and 3 boys age 12, 15, 17) loved it ! If you just want to stay put, you have it all within reach and you will not miss a things; excellent restaurants, perfect beach, great pools, beach activities, quality spa centre, excercise room, medicine centre etc etc. You have your own private and quiet beach to find your peace, but you are just quick monkey track walk, or hotel boat or longboat to a more busy Ao Nang or some of the fantastic island of Phi Phi, Chicken etc .

In additional to this, the people are excellent. Extremely service minded, humble, caring and going out of their way to make this a great stay. This combination is unbeatable, and we will recommend this place to evereybody who just want the optimal vacation in the sun !

The Asheim family - Norway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Espen A

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read that you and your family enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Once again we truly appreciate your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.