We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort with exercise included” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi Free ABF
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Resort with exercise included”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Resort from the 15 - 23 Dec. 2012.
When I arrived at the airport somebody of the resort was already waiting for me to bring me to Ao Nang beach, where a former US Navy amphibian vehicle took me to the resort. I was surprised how far up the room is so prepare yourself for a bit of exercise to get to the sea-view rooms.
The Resort itself is beautiful in their own bay. Because of that you have to take the shuttle boat to the bier in Ao Nang. The idea is good but you have to book in advance when you want to go on the boat and it can be full quite quickly. Unfortunately it is only going every hour, even though the transportation takes 5 or max.10 min.
The Monkeytrail is definitely not suitable to cross to Ao Nang in the evening for dinner, but the hotel is clearly saying that it is NOT an alternative to the shuttle, it is kind of a hiking trail.

In the morning the money were very active on my balcony, but they are playing and as long as you leave them alone and/or have food with you they will not care about you very much.

The food was not too bad. I had Pizza in the restaurant "On the Rocks" which was very delicious.

All in All I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear outro92

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

For the benefit of other readers, the resort is situated on the side of limestone mountains therefore there are many steps to the higher rooms so that guests can enjoy the amazing view of our location, but unfortunately that means a little exercise or working up a thirst. I suppose there are various ways to look a this depending upon your level fitness.

There are a lot of comments on this forum about the hourly shuttle boat, but if I can explain this further, the trip does vary in time due to sea and weather conditions. The trip on average takes 15 minutes, however then there is loading and unloading of luggage and passengers and when you take this into account it is actually a 30 minute trip each way. Therefore an hourly shuttle is not unreasonable.

Once again thank your for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    615
    263
    127
    83
See reviews for
432
1,258
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the centara for just one night as a treat to ourselves at the end of our honeymoon. We were staying the week at the mercure and as lovely as the room was , it wasn't quite the honeymoon setting we had hoped for.
The centara did not disappoint. The room was beautiful, we had the ocean facing spa deluxe. It featured a jacuzzi on the balcony, stand alone bath, rain shower and ample wardrobe space for our belongings. The king size bed in the centre of the room was so comfy also.
I decided to surprise my new husband with an evening of private dining on the beach. It worked it about £80 for the four course meal, delicious tuna loin, succulent salmon and an amazing marscqpone mousse to end. He service was superb and it as a real treat to end our honeymoon with.
The pool which over looks the private beach was relaxing and quiet most of the time. Just the annoying humming of the passing long tail boats on the ocean all day disturbed it.
The only thing which we didnt like, which was what initially put us off staying here,was the monkey trail. We endured it to get to the hotel during the day, it was bad then so I certainly wouldn't like to attempt it in the dark.
There is a boat which takes you into Ao Nang frequently, we got a place on it easily enough but were assured it fills up very quickly.
Would def stay here again and recommend to other honeymooners and families,beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear janeymadone

Thank you for sharing your comments following your one night stay as part of your honeymoon.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and that the private dinner on the beach met your expectations.

The monkey trail is not for everyone but we were glad to see you made use of the complimentary shuttle into Ao Nang.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon & really enjoyed our stay. The location on a private beach is what really sets it apart from other ao nang resorts. It is also what may make it a no go for some people in that it isn't the most accessible for some people.

It is situated roughly halfway between railay beach and ao nang. Access via water:you can get a long tail boat to & from ao nang to the hotel's floating pier or you can use the hotel's private speedboat (free shuttle service available at regular intervals daily) which takes you to & from a pier near ao nang & from there you can get a taxi/tuk tuk to ao nang or wherever else you wish to go. There is also a monkey trail which is essentially a wooden stairs & walkway through the forest/woodlands near the hotel which connects the hotel to ao nang. This walkway is not suitable for those with mobility issues or for young infants in buggies/prams. It is lit at night which helps but can be tricky to navigate if you have bags etc to carry.

Our room (1066) was beautiful, it had an ocean view with a lovely balcony on which where 2 loungers, a table 2chairs & a sofa. There was also a jacuzzi which took a lot of water to fill but it was lovely to sit in it at sunset! On arrival we were presented with a heart shaped cake, a petal filled bath & 2 intertwined heart shaped petals on the bed!

The room was kept very clean, the nightly turn down was a lovely touch & each night an orchid was left on each side of the bed.some of the rooms are accessed via lots of steps so that may be an issue for some.

Breakfast was very good every morning with a great variety for all nationalities that typically visit Thailand. All Staff were very friendly throughout our 5 night stay

The pool was small but never seemed crowded during our stay, the loungers did however full up fast each morning. Plenty space on the beach though which was beautiful & lovely to swim in the sea.

We had a lovely massage in the spa on site.

There were lots of couples, families young & older there.

Con: the 10% service charge & 7% vat added to everything, even if you went to the bar to get an ice cream you were charged a 10% service charge. It made us rethink eating & drinking in the bars & restaurant as the prices were already quite steep but became even steeper with the added costs. We did have a beautiful meal in the Thai restaurant but the pool bar ( on the rocks) was only ok & we never ate there again. We found it more reasonable to go into ao nang for dinner & 1 night went to railay.

Con: free wifi in lobby but you have to pay for wifi in the rooms.

All in all a lovely hotel which I would return to but it is expensive to stay there & even more expensive to eat & drink there on a regular basis over a few days. Also for some the access to the resort may pose problems.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Evergree

Thank you for sharing your comments with other readers following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet, the massage at Spa Cenvaree, and the staff took good care of you during your stay.

I appreciate your comments on the service charge on some pre-packages items and we are reviewing our systems with a view to changing this.

Once again thank your for your feedback and we hope we may get another opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great private location for a family vacation. Nice private beach with activities other than swimming to keep everyone happy(kayaking and hiking on monkey trail). Place can use better maintaince and cleanliness. Food and drinks are great at all hours.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view but no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear jundoone

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read that you and your family enjoyed your overall stay and yes we are very fortunate to have such a great beach.

We acknowledge and are working on improving the maintenance in some areas without disturbing guests, but appreciate your comments.

Once again thank you for your feedback and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

yours truly, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drøbak
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I work in the travel business and have seen many locations -this place is very special....Jungle, mountains, beach and luxury all packed into same place and the whole family (wife and 3 boys age 12, 15, 17) loved it ! If you just want to stay put, you have it all within reach and you will not miss a things; excellent restaurants, perfect beach, great pools, beach activities, quality spa centre, excercise room, medicine centre etc etc. You have your own private and quiet beach to find your peace, but you are just quick monkey track walk, or hotel boat or longboat to a more busy Ao Nang or some of the fantastic island of Phi Phi, Chicken etc .

In additional to this, the people are excellent. Extremely service minded, humble, caring and going out of their way to make this a great stay. This combination is unbeatable, and we will recommend this place to evereybody who just want the optimal vacation in the sun !

The Asheim family - Norway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Espen A

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read that you and your family enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Once again we truly appreciate your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent four nights at this beautiful hotel and enjoyed every moment of our time. We were initially confused about the need to take a boat from the Ao Nang pier, but quickly realized it's a mean of convenience and the perfect way to intake the plave you'll temporarily call home. We were happy to hear of the trail that also affords access to Ao Nang, especially once we learned of the excitement the short, yet steep, trek involves-- the Monkey Trail did not get its name by chance! Literally 100's of monkeys live in the jungle and abound the trail-- an incredible experience.
The hotel staff were all very accomodating and did everything to ensure comfort and contentment. We loved the room, especially the HUGE bathroom and shower-- very nice to have some space there. The bed was also exceptionally comfortable.
The food was all very good, although we only ate at the thai restaurant and the beach-side bar. The activities desk helped us book an awesome Koh Phi Phi day trip and also was very accomodating when we needed to cancel another trip we had booked-- nice to feel like we weren't being sold on anything.
More than anything, the beauty of the surroundings complemented by the fine touches of the hotel make this place worthy of a visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Brittney M

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Yes the monkey trail is aptly named due to the monkeys living in the surrounding national park,
I hope you got a chance to see the gibbons as well as the macaques.

The tour desk staff try their best to accommodate all guests requests and I am also pleased to read they were able to assist you with your tours.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

First of all the location of the resort is splendid. Amazing soft beach and yes its private as well. Everything about resort was top class, The food, people, service, the beach... every thing is just picture perfect... Loved the restaurants and the live music :-). They know how to set the mood. We also did the private dinner on the beach .. a one of a lifetime experience.. expensive but.. you have to do it once. I would like to mention the service which was top notch. The people were very friendly and helpfull 10/10 .. There are monkeys one of them got us out of the Jacuzzi.. But they are not dangerous. The rooms were clean and spacious and with a spectacular view.
I would definitely suggest this place for a honeymoon. I say go for it.

Room Tip: Spa deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear gauravLanjekar

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the food, the service and the efforts of all the team.

Im glad to read that the monkeys did not affect your stay as they can be some what intrusive on occasions.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.