We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Ao Nang
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Beautiful tropical grounds and truely wonderful staff.
Rooms were specious and classically Thai. Really beautiful.
A lovely way to experience Thailand for the first time. A town nearby to explore. Lovely for couples.
Food was expensive but nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Squiggle85

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the peacefulness of the resort and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Centara does emphasize their “thainess” and its great to know that this is appreciated.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    523
    234
    118
    72
See reviews for
377
1,077
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We both totally loved this hotel, the location and layout were fabulous. Having spent a few days in hectic Bangkok we were glad to be on the boat and arriving at this secluded hotel. Please do not be out off by previous comments About the floating jetty (fun) or the monkey trail/pesky monkeys. We saw one monkey in the whole 5 nights that we were there, yes the monkey trail is a tad challenging, especially if you are not a fan of heights however it took us about 10 mins to cross and that was in the dark!
The hotel itself is set right on the beach, extremely clean and gorgeous pool areas - the backdrop to the hotel is just stunning, set right into the cliffs. Our room was a premium deluxe with ocean view and I couldn't have asked for anything more it was gorgeous. Excellent cleaning, perfect view of sunset and the limestone cliffs. Huge open plan bathroom, with amazing rain shower.
We did go into ao nang a few times, however the quality of the food and service at this hotel made us happy enough to chill out here. Big praise to the trio of singers/ guitarists providing the entertainment, her voice was just superb - thank you!
We hired a kayak for an afternoon - the hotel provides them for free for one hour however we kayaked round to railay beach for lunch, much preferring our own beach at centara!
All in all a great 5 night stay - I would love to go back just to see that view again, the hotel are very sympathetic to their surroundings and take great care in the overall appearance. Fabulous stay!

Room Tip: Premium deluxe ocean facing rooms - great view of sunset, extremely comfortable loungers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ains01

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the in-house musicians.

Our location is as you put it simply stunning and after being here for 10 months I never get bored of the view.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A great arrival (by boat and onto the floating/bobbing pontoon) is always a great way to start a holiday. We were quickly checked-in and shown to our room which to be honest was a major disappointment. We had asked for an Ocean View room and could just about make out the sea through the trees from our 1st floor room that was overlooked by the staircase to the neighbouring block. I went back to reception and was advised that they would see what they could do and for good measure put a call into Trailfinders in London and asked them to use whatever influence they had to get us moved a.s.a.p. The next morning I returned to reception and was advised that we could move that day. We looked at the room and moved that afternoon with the minimum of fuss, albeit a bit inconvenient, but to a much more private room with a much better outlook at the north-end of the development. We very enjoyed the breakfasts and the choice of dining options in the evening but the beach bar lacked the feeling of a real bar. The majority of staff were very friendly and attentive and particularly the Head of Food and Beverages - I'm afraid that I can't recall his name just now but he was a star! The resident band were also very good (a pleasant surprise!) and the Spa was fabulous (if a little expensive - and particularly when compared to places in Ao Nang. Ao Nang is a short walk across the monkey trail (say 10 mins) for those fit and brave enough to tackle the steep open-tread stairs and the attentions of the monkeys or you could walk around the headland at low-tide or book yourself onto a return trip via the hotels courtesy boat (but make sure you get in early.!) All in all a great holiday and a fab place but we probably wouldn't go back to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: We had a superior room with a jacuzzi on the balcony (that we used twice in 7 days) but asked to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear melparkes34

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was pleased to read that the staff and you enjoyed your stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive compliments about our staff and thank you for specifically mentioning Jan our Director of food and beverage and our resident band.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and if we don’t see you back at our resort, perhaps you may want to look at our other Centara Grands in either Phuket, Koh Samui, Hua Hin or maybe the Maldives.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Fantastic location, excellent staff and fabulous choice of restaurants. Would definitely recommend this hotel to couples wanting to get away from it all and relax. The hotel is clean and the accommodation blocks are spread through out the grounds of the hotel. It was a five minute walk for us from our room to the main hotel, but they do have golf buggies for those not able or too lazy! The monkey trail is fine, you just have to look what your doing and be careful. We even managed the walk from Ao Nang back across it several times after one too many cocktails, without incident. Its so much quicker and easier than waiting around for the free boat. We stayed in November 2012, weather was mixed. Very hot and humid but rainy afternoons. But then it is the tail end of the rainy season, the hotel has umbrellas in the rooms for you to use. Make sure you lock your patio doors as the monkeys are so clever and will get in. Some guests still insist on feeding them so they do quite often appear on your balcony! They know where the mini bar is so just bare it in mind! Staff were great and couldnt do enough for you. We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days here, didnt want to go home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Litchfield Dizzy

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay in November at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

The monkeys are certainly an interesting resident to have in the resort, but glad to see they did not disturb you too much.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

From being met at the pier to the departure the experience was fantastic. Although getting to and from the hotel in most cases means catching a boat this gives an added attraction.
The level of comfort and friendliness of the staff was excellent and the breakfast set you up for the day.
Many of comments have been made about the Monkey trail, if you ignore the monkeys they are not a problem, however the upkeep of the path itself could be improved.

Room Tip: Being at a higher level kept noise and bugs at bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear kew129

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our friendly staff.

I appreciate your comments about the monkey trail and we are constantly working on improving this.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed December 2012 8 nights.

We had saved hard and were looking forward to a luxury 5 star hotel, however the experience we had was far from 5 star and left us feeling disappointed.

We had booked a Spa deluxe room and upon arrival we were presented with room1045 at the top of the resort. Our allocated room was in an appalling state. The room was filthy and very run-down. Here are a few things that we noted. mouldy table lamps, stains down the walls, stained furniture, cracked sink, thick dust on surfaces, toothpaste still on most of the bathroom furnishings, damaged furniture and doors, cracked tiles on the hot tub. When we asked reception to be moved to a more suitable room, they offered one alternative room as they said they were fully booked. The second room offered was in a better state, but still not what you’d expect for 5*. As this appeared to be the only option we accepted the room. There was still heavy staining on some of the sofas, and mould in the bathroom, and the room was generally dirty. After pointing this out a ‘deep clean’ was offered which consisted of changing the stained sofa cover and cleaning the floor. Why a 5* hotel needed this bringing to their attention is beyond me, you would expect the floors to be cleaned as standard in a 5* hotel. To be fair to the hotel we were then given a 'room supervisor' for any other problems.

Following the initial bad first impression left by the room, we couldn’t help notice that the hotel is running in to a state of disrepair and in desperate in need of renovation or even general maintenance. Pools were dirty with scaling and moss on pool walls, also many cracked tiles on the pools which were badly reattached with silicone glue (reflective of the maintenance on the rooms spa tub). Public areas were not much better with loose walkways, blocked communal toilets overflowing & flooding on numerous days, blocked pool showers, food stains down the restaurant walls where breakfast was taken. These were all things that should be noticed by management and addressed for a hotel claiming to meet 5* standards.

The resort was in a lovely location with nice views and we had no problem with access to Ao Nang as we booked the boat most days or walked round at low tide. The monkey trail is easily manageable but note that you will get bitten by mosquitoes if using in the early evening. The beach is lovely, but note that you will have the drone of long tail boats passing all day (however it is the main coastal transport and should be expected in Krabi).

We didn’t eat at any of the hotel restaurants as prices are much more expensive than in the town, this results in the hotel being vacated by the majority of the guests in the evening which is a shame as if the hotel was to reduce the prices people would be more willing to dine in and spend the evening in the resort rather than leaving it with a deserted atmosphere.

On a positive note, Mr White who assists with the boat service was an excellent ambassador for the hotel and was really helpful and welcoming on many occasion.

To summarise although the hotel is in an idealistic location, it is run down and is in much need of renovation and is far from the standard of a luxury 5* resort. I have noticed on other reviews that there is some maintenance due to be scheduled in 2013, however they still charge prices that are representative of 5 resorts when at the moment it’s pushing to meet a 4* standard at best. I would warn people not to dismiss some of the negative comments made, unfortunately we did thinking people were being 'picky' and we were left feeling letdown and disappointed, especially with regard to value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Karl G

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. I cannot excuse the cleanliness of your room and I have since discussed this with our housekeeper to ensure the staff concerned is re-trained and more attention is giving when checking the room, before guests arrive.

We acknowledge that some of the rooms are dated and that is why we have offered discounts off our usual prices to be in line with other resorts of a similar nature.

As I have mentioned on this forum we are improving the rooms on a regular basis and by later this year they will refurbished and updated.

In terms of food and beverage prices, we regularly monitor and review these and they are in line with other resorts in Krabi that offer similar facilities and services.

Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of Khun White who takes care of our guests on the boat, I will be sure to pass these comments onto him.

Once again thank your for your feedback.

Kind regards David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went to this hotel as part of our honeymoon. The location is stunning and your arrival to the hotel by speedboat is great. However this is assuming that the weather is nice. We were fortunate to arrive mid morning on a nice day. I would not like to walk the jetty in poor weather. During our stay and as a result of the weather we mostly ate in the hotel. We had signed up for the free Baht's and this worked out very well for us. The food was excellent no matter where you ate. The only restaurant we didn't try was the Japenese one. At On The Rocks I tasted the best Singapore Sling ever. We couldn't fault the service, altough the times did vary for your rooms being made up. Different people did different things at different times which meant that you could have staff coming and going throughout the day. Whilst this wasn't an issue for us, we did have 3 days of very wet weather and a few people spent this time in and around their rooms, so I can imagihe this would have been frustrating. The rooms itself was lovely, although the hand held shower did not work.

The beach and pool area are very well maintained, staff went out daily to sweep the beach. The view from the pool and beach is amazing. We did have our dinner on the beach one night, as part of the private dining option. Again this is a great idea, weather permitting. We were fortunate enough that although it had rained the team were happy to set it back up for us to dine a little later than initially planned. The alternative option of "private dining" in the restaurant wasn't ideal. I have to caution though the amount of food you get served with the private dining is too much. It is 4 courses, but your main course consists of 4 full dishes and 2 portions of rice.

I agree with a number of the posts on here about the monkey trail. It is a very poor access route into Ao Nang. Our rep had avised us that we didn't need to use the hotel long boats to get in and out of Ao Nang as there was taxi boats from Ao Nang too. We decided to walk into Ao Nang over the monkey trail and then get the taxi back. We made a bad choice as the taxi's weren't operating at 10.30pm. This left us no choice but to head for the monkey trail (we had no torch). The access is through the last fisherman's pub, which had closed so we had to access it via the beach. This meant wading through water. Thankfully the security staff from a near by hotel helped us or we would have been stranded for the night.

We would definately go back to this location, but not in November as if the weather is poor the location is too restrictive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Lorraine S

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

We were all pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team, including the ones organizing your private dinner on the beach.

Unfortunately it appears the weather patterns are changing all around the world, we had very little rain in our wet season and now experiencing rain in what should be dry season. I think it is hard to predict what the weather will do.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we hope we can welcome you back when you are next in Krabi

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.