We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in a castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   112/2 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Ayodhaya Suites Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
1 review
“Sleeping in a castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First of all, notice the exterior - it's based on a real castle (according to one of the managers).
We stayed a couple of nights in the cheaper "success" wing, and another two nights in the main wing. In both wings the rooms were big, but in the main wing (deluxe room) it was the biggest we encountered thus far, and very luxurious.
The service was top notch from check in to check out, and the staff went out of its way to help us with whatever problem came up. For example, in the success wing there is no kettle in the rooms, but we asked for one and it waited in our room when we got back.
The only problem I had was with the breakfast. It was ok, but could be much better. If you arrive late and there aren't many guests, there is a good chance that some of the food you see was there from the early morning. We decided to get a room without breakfast in our last two nights since they were way cheaper, so we just went out to eat.
One last thing is the swimming pool - the one in the main wing is big and impressive. There is a bar in the middle of it (you sit inside the pool), but I think it's only active in the high season.
All in all, we had a good enough time to want to come back. Also, did I mention you get to sleep in a freaking castle?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    18
    21
    45
See reviews for
42
70
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is totally run down which you will notice as soon as you enter via the front entrance. Buffet breakfast is disgusting and if you like mosquito's there will be plenty of them to accompany you in the dungeon which they call a restaurant for dining. Rooms are big and clean but fittings are cheap and nasty. Bed was so hard, so if you value your sleep dont bother even contemplating. The hotel is away from the main city centre so it will cost you whenever you want to go in which will be pretty much be everyday because there is nothing of interest near this hotel. Try and find somewhere else closer to the city centre to stay.
My partner and I do not recommend this hotel at all. BIG thumbs down!

Room Tip: There are better quality hotels within the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very well equipped hotel, but very confusing.
Accommodation was OK and they had adjoining rooms for the kids too.
made things a lot easier.
Door security was old, as you had "keys".
Inside, we had an old crt television.
The place looks like two worlds meet. One is a year 2000 hotel and the other is a year 1960 hotel. I guess we got the '60's one.
Staff were OK.
Walking distance to the local shops and night-time activities.
REALLY BIG pool area.
We were there in the lowest of the low season and there were not many guests there, except for the fully loaded quick-tour Chinese or Korean or Japanese bus of 50 or so who only stayed there to sleep.
If they attend to a few managerial problems, they may get the place back up to where it should be.

Room Tip: No real difference between any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked my Krabi holiday via Airasia Go flight and Hotel.
Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa is 10mins to Aonang town by tut-tut, if by foot about 30mins. At night not much activity near by except some local bars and restaurants. For better food you can drop by at Aonang. Basically the hotel facility is good the staff is friendly.

Room Tip: There is 2 wings at this hotel, Success Wing the room rate is much more lower compare to the main wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our Stay in this hotel was absolutely luxurious and all the staff were very kind and friendly to us. We loved the room and all it had to offer!
We would like to thank all of the staff who made our stay so pleasant!
Krabi- Beautiful!

Thankyou very much!

Todd and Verity x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

stay 1 night with my husband for a little get away. The rate was cheap but to be very honest, I would rather to pay a bit more to stay somewhere else.

When we arrive and try to check in, we walk into the main lobby, and the staff very coldly pointed to the back and ask me to check in at the different wing. At night, when we finish dinner and want to return to the room and try to walk through the man lobby, the staff ( seems to be the manager??) rudely stopped us and asked us where we are going and when finding out that we stay at the superior room, he then told us we are not allowed to go through the lobby and pool area to go back to the room. Staying in the superior room in the success wing, being treated like a second class citizen is definitely one of the worst one can experience.

Also, we bought some drinks and snack to take back but we forgot to get some ice. When we ask the hotel for ice, they charge 100THB for it!!!!! what a ripe off!!

The hotel definitely calls for a serious renovation. The bathroom door jammed, the shower head clogged, pool dirty and etc....

The breakfast is mediocre. It serves the purpose but no satisfaction or anything about it.

I honestly think the previous review giving it a 4 star is just being way too kind.

Honestly, pay a little more, stay somewhere else.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We checked in for four days recently. The hotel is definitely huge with 4 swimming pool but located far away from Aonang happening area about 1.5km away. Perhaps more suitable for people who like to stay a quiet area.Overall the place is old but well maintained. As any other old building except some old fashion design. There's a huge window open up to bathroom and even the closet door will access to bathroom as well. We stay in suite so the room is big and at night felt a bit eerie since the hotel was not full house. Breakfast is basic. The beach is in front of the hotel about 80 meters away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 112/2 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Ayodhaya Suites Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Theme Hotel in Thai Architecture Style with new owner and all new management team, this hotel is ready to offering the best services available in Aonang to all guest starting from April 2011.This theme hotel offers various food outlets and bars together with outdoor swimming pools both for adult and child. All electric system, Pool and water system in this hotel are friendly to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayodhaya Hotel Ao Nang
Ayodhaya Suites Resort And Spa
Ayodhaya Hotel Krabi
Ayodhaya Resort Krabi
Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.