We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inhospitable hospitality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   112/2 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Ayodhaya Suites Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 83 hotels in Ao Nang
chennai
1 review
“Inhospitable hospitality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to this resort on the 24th of December as were to stay there only till 26th of
december - we booked through Expedia. We made the payment for the lodging through expedia and were ready for a wonderful experience. Imagine our horror and irritation on being told by the hospital staff that we were supposed to pay 14700 THB (+ or - 500)for "Grand gala dinner on Christmas eve" for 2 adults and 2 children inspite of the hotel rules saying that the charge is only for adults. We claimed that we were not informed about it during the time of booking. We said that we do not want such an expensive dinner because being typical south indians, we were not going to relish any of the thai food spread in the buffet, but it was of no avail. They had the audacity to tell me that i had to pay that amount if i wanted to stay at the hotel whether i attended the dinner or not. Also, i was free to find another suitable stay if we did not pay. My God - the audacity of the staff and there ws no senior staff member to take up the issue with. Very bad and we felt so cheated and irritated with the whole thing. We spent nearly 2 hours arguing with them and finally they had their way because we had our children with us and they were feeling very tired. felt very angry and cheated - good hard earned money down the drain. wish there was some forum or company where we can take such complaints - never go to this hotel.

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel - n0 travel desk. no spa despite the name
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    17
    18
    48
See reviews for
42
69
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were 6 girls staying in Aonang for 5 days over NYE. We booked through booking.com who thankfully helped us out when the staff took 2 hours to check us in and made every excuse possible for the delay. First issue was the cranky old guy who demanded we sit in the foyer until someone came to talk to us about checking in. He demanded paper print out of booking despite me showing him the email on my phone and providing the booking reference. 4 staff at the desk and none of them bothered to assist us. Then after about 20 mins we demanded some service we were informed that they didn't get the notes that we wanted twin rooms. After that and over an hour of us trying to get a straight answer as to how much longer we needed to wait, they wanted us to pay £50 each extra for the gala dinner at New Year which was compulsory, despite our confirmation stating explicitly that it was included in our room rates. The final straw was that they argued we hadn't paid anything at all, despite most hotels asking you to pay at check-out (even though we would have provided a credit card for deposit if asked). It never got any better and even the check-out was painful and took 20 mins after we finally threatened them with a horrible review on TripAdvisor....that shook them up a little. But too late. Damage was done.

Room Tip: Rooms aren't too bad but not everything worked, including aircon in the front of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When I don't have something nice to say, I usually try to keep quiet. But this property really deserves to be blacklisted!! We had booked a room at Hotels.com[Expedia] after having done the usual research online. All the online sites mention a huge room size of 800+sft. Since we were traveling as a family, I made the booking for their family room that showed beautiful pictures of the room clearly mentioning the size. When we arrived at the hotel, we were shocked at the size[Not even one fourth the size mentioned online] and the condition of the room. The success wing is actually a different property behind the Ayothaya Resort. Wifi did not work!! It is not even a half way decent property. Rooms in the Ayodhaya wing were not much better. Everyone was being fleeced for a "Grand Gala Dinner" that was forced on you whether you like it or not. The manager of the property was a high handed and rude man by the name of William. He just asked us to take up the issue of the room size with Expedia!!! He refused a refund and had the audacity to ask me to talk to one of his hapless staff who kept saying that she was only a staff and had no authority to take any decision. On the whole, one of the worst properties we have stayed in. Wasted of money!!! Don't even bother to consider this one!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Slow and poor service at the reception. Stuffy and hot at the lobby! All fans were not switched on even there were many guests waiting at the lobby to check in and out. Rooms were given later than 3pm because they have insufficient staffs. There were only 2-3 staffs working at the reception. In addition, they did not inform us that the lift had broken down when they gave us the family suites. They should have told us that the family suite was at 3rd floor because we had a few elderly with us who couldn't climb up the stairs. And the reply from them regarding this issue was - THEY DIDN'T EXPECT ELDERLY TO VISIT. In my opinion, a four star rated resort should not give such excuse!

Bathroom doors in the room were broken and the thing is, it wasnt only one room, but all three family suites! Floor wasnt clean and wifi wasnt working. Receptionist told that it might due to too many guests connecting and using the internet. Frankly speaking, I dont think that should be the reason for the wifi faulty in a 4 star resort. Although the interior design was quite beautiful but the overall hospitality experience at this resort was poor. The only thing good is the location. Walking distance to beach, shops and restaurants.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I would not book here again as in the area there are much nicer places at the same price...
Anyway the resort itself is not as bad as some reviewer said: the pool is huge, clean and well shaped. I was there with a friend and we stayed in the honey moon suite, 1st floor: the room is big,with a small hall, huge bathroom and nice balcony facing the pool. Very clean and with everything you need (flat TV, A/C, minibar, etc), but it is true that it needs some renovation. The structure is so HUGE and "temple shaped" that locals and tuk-tuk drivers actually call this resort "the temple". Beach at 5min walk but it's the worst beach you can find in Krabi, hence useless. City centre at 20min walk.

Main CONS:
- staff very limited
- breakfast absolutly NOT a 5*, average 3* maybe
- needs some renovation

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had booked this hotel from a website during new year where in the booking it was clearly written that - 'Please note that room prices on the December 24, 2012 and December 31, 2012 include a gala dinner for 2 guests. Any extra guests will be charged separately.' But while check-in, the hotel staff asked us to pay 5900 THB extra saying that dinner was not included in the price. Later they tried to convince us by saying they can give us the discount for dinner. Once we refused they informed that we can't attend their dinner.

The hotel pictures shown in the website are misleading. They took us to some different resort called Success resort which is colored with pale yellow with some on-going constructions. The room fan was noisy and upon informing the staff also no action taken. Finally I was able to fix it myself.

The area is not so close to market area and you have to spend 30 THB per head every time you want to go to market.

Another strange thing is there no travel desk. But now I think luckily it's not there otherwise they would have tried to rip off us there also.

Breakfast was pathetic, it seemed as if the previous day's leftover was served. This is my 4th trip to Thailand, I never had so poor quality of breakfast.

My suggestion is never ever to consider this hotel for your vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

One of the other reviewers who compared this hotel to a scary movie has hit the nail on the head. I booked this hotel having looked at photos on the net of Ayodhaya and thinking it looked okay for a budget hotel. We got there and it looked like an abandoned building, the photos were clearly glamorized and only taken of the very best parts of the hotel. We were also escorted to the Success Resort - a completely different resort, run individually with its own lobby - not what I booked AT ALL, and 10x worse than the Ayodhaya! The Success Resort was a building site and painted yellow, I've never seen anything so awful. The receptionists were the only upside, they were very helpful. The free breakfasts were not edible with bugs everywhere and unhygienic staff cooking omelettes. Do yourself a favour and book anywhere else in Ao Nang but here!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 112/2 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Ayodhaya Suites Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#16 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Theme Hotel in Thai Architecture Style with new owner and all new management team, this hotel is ready to offering the best services available in Aonang to all guest starting from April 2011.This theme hotel offers various food outlets and bars together with outdoor swimming pools both for adult and child. All electric system, Pool and water system in this hotel are friendly to the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayodhaya Suites Resort And Spa
Ayodhaya Hotel Ao Nang
Ayodhaya Hotel Krabi
Ayodhaya Resort Krabi
Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.