We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krabi La Playa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Krabi La Playa Resort to your Saves list
Krabi La Playa Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Moo 3 Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a good position set back from main road.Large rooms (we had 318 ) overlooking the nice swimming pools.
Bed a little hard but very large.Breakfast was pretty standard but good,you cook your own bacon so their can be no complaint's if it isn't done right.Staff are attentive on the whole and courteous.Just down the road from the beach.
My favourite restaurants nearby are the Luna Beach bar and Potjawan.
A good choice of hotel and value for money as food and drink in the hotel is reasonably priced.
We would definitely return.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    306
    77
    25
    20
See reviews for
103
307
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good location! Service is good, like the room, bed is BIG, pool is great. Breakfast - reasonable. Had dinner - Thai food - good.
The Thai massage by the pool - excellent! ($350 baht - an hour)
5 mins walk to the main road - shopping! Exit by main enterance or exit by the pool - back enterance.
10/15 mins walk to beach OR the boat station (long tail boat - 200 baht 2 ways) to Railay beach...cool place.

Better than Phuket!

Room Tip: If you want to own dipping space get the ground level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Since I don't know any other hotel at Krabi I can only compare it to Phi Phi and Phuket.
More value for money than Cabana Hotel in Phi Phi and Seaview Patong in Phuket. Clean like all the others. In cul de sac which is nice and walking distance from beach. Breakfast on par with others. Staff so so as Roger 10 said.
PLEASE refund us the 1000 baht you deducted from our credit card. They seems to ignore emails claiming it back.
DO NOT order ice from room service. It was so expensive, I returned it. Maybe that was the 1000baht.(for his effort).

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor with pool access looks great from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Room was spacious and clean.. Bed was comfortable.. Staff were ok however I was a little put off when the front desk called my room at exactly on the checkout time - literally at 12pm on the dot we received a call from the front desk reminding us that we were overdue to checkout.. Massage by the pool was amazing - more expensive than the street but totally worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in a pool access room with spa jets. It was a great room with a massive nice shower and big bed. Very unique to walk straight into the pool. Only thing was you had to call reception to switch the jets on. They give you a beach bag, mat and towels. Staff were so so, mostly not friendly and with poor English (except the large lady at reception).

Location is excellent, in a quiet street yet right near the shops. I recommend the echo roof top dining restaurant on the right down towards the beach. Good food and music at reasonable price. Also the street vendors, cheap although portions can be small.

Cons:
Free wifi in reception and the restaurant but they charge in the rooms. In this day and age all hotels should have free wifi. The previous and next hotels we stayed in in Thailand were half the price with free wifi throughout. Even restaurants give free wifi, come on guys sort it out.

Restaurant and drinks prices don't include tax or service (extra 17%). Happy hour at the pool bar takes cash only, so had to Wade through the water with cash

They ripped us off on the rafting excursion we booked through them, charging 500 baht extra per person compared to other places. Our fault for not checking but just a warning to others not to use them.

It is an expensive hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect in my opinion, its quiet but still in the centre of everything. A short walk between 2 beaches and the main resort area of Ao Nang. We found the staff friendly and helpful and we paid a good price for the room on one of these secret hotel deals (we had worked out it was this hotel before we booked it!). The room was spacious, clean and well kept - good bathroom and shower, safe, haridryer etc plus beach bag complete with beach mat and towels for you to use.
The pool area is really nice and plenty of sunbeds, pool bar with abit of music but not loud.
The breakfast was as good as your going to get in Thailand - egg station, bacon etc plus crepe station and lots of different breads etc -people complain about getting bored in some reviews but seriously its breakfast - there is only so much they can offer!
No complaints at all and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed a fortnight in January. It was hot all the time & we spent a lot of the time by the pool. As keen swimmers we really enjoyed the pool as there are 3 pools, one measuring about 25m long. The hotel is quiet. We enjoyed 'Happy Hour' where there were 2 for 1 cocktails from 5-6pm every evening by the pool. The hotel is well located, easy to walk to the beach,shops & restaurants. The breakfast was OK. We would recommend the hotel but found the travelling to Krabi from London a long way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 92 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
0.3 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#29 of 92 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi La Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi La Playa Resort

Address: 143 Moo 3 Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krabi La Playa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Krabi La Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi La Playa Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi La Playa Resort Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krabi La Playa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.