We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beauty spot in an otherwise tacky resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somkiet Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Somkiet Buri Resort to your Saves list
Somkiet Buri Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Beauty spot in an otherwise tacky resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Ao Nang is a bit naff - must be said! I was disappointed in how tacky it was given how beautiful the beach and surrounding countryside is. However, Somkiet Buri is an incredibly peaceful resort and you would not believe how close you are to a busy road as it is truly a tranquil paradise. Staff are a mixed bag - some smiley - some cant be bothered - in sharp contrast to staff at Khao Sok or Khao Lak properties. Still worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for pool villa with pool access - best room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    157
    59
    29
    8
See reviews for
80
147
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose here for its price and location and were not disappointed. We were a bit worried because of some of the reviews but the resort met all our hopes. We had a pool view room that was huge with a large balcony overlooking the pool, lots of little touches like a platter of fresh fruit was placed in our room after servicing. The room had a very efficient air conditiong unit. We were there in the rainy season and liked the fact umbrellas were provided in the rooms. Free Wifi available in all areas. The pool was amazing so beautiful with all the tropical trees around it although did have to chase the sun a bit.
The complementary breakfast consisted of Thai hot foods, cereals, juice, fresh fruit, cooked to order omelets and eggs, pastries, toast and pancakes, tea and coffee. Nothing overly flash but perfectly adequate.
The hotel is off one of the main roads set in a tropical forest setting, but very quiet close to lots of local bars and restaurants it is alcohol free in the dining room but this wasn't a problem for us.

Room Tip: pool side rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked this Hotel as the reviews seemed good and we wanted a resort with a Sauna/steam room and spa. I asked the female manager to turn on the Sauna and she told me that it was broken. I asked how long it had been broken and she said about three weeks. I explained that they need to put this on the website as we chose to stay here as it had a Sauna. Later I spoke to a German couple who said they were told that the Sauna area is closed down in low season. So she is not telling the truth, also they should put on the Website that they are Muslim owned as they do not allow any alcohol, bacon products or smoking at the restaurant. They should also tell guests or have a sign to say that you must take your blue pool towel back to the room otherwise they will charge you for the loss of the towel. The Resort needs a good clean and is a little tired. The tables and chairs in the outside restaurant need a good scrub and clean and they should spray the millions of ants that climb all over you while you are eating. There was a seal missing off the Muesli jar and everyday it was full of ants. I showed them and they did nothing. I watched birds eating the food off the breakfast area while the staff sat around. The staff here do not seem happy and are not welcoming, very complacent. Some of the rooms do not have internet as advertised and the response was: just come to the restaurant to use it. In the rainy season there are a lot of mosquitos so you need to burn coils which you can buy across the road at 7/11. The cleaning staff also leave the rooms open and so everyday the rooms are filled with mosquitos. Lucky the rooms are off the ground as this is a swamp area and we saw rats running around. We can understand if people like to be here for the forest and the pool is nice and clean. Be aware also that there is only one English movie channel. Lucky we only booked three nights so we were able to find a few nicer hotels along the front of the beach area for the same price.

Room Tip: If you want internet in your room then you need to choose a room closest to the restaurant. Upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, this is the low season so it rained a lot but we expected that and just wanted a good break and rest.
On arrival the welcome was OK, no tour to show the pool location etc. mostly disinterest from the staff as we come from Thailand so probably did not expect a tip from us. However the rooms are spacious and well equipped, minor issues like the shower not working properly were reported but never fixed, the grounds are beautiful and sitting on the veranda to chill out was perfect, even if it was raining!
One unusual point, no alcohol available in the hotel but given the predominately Muslim community in this area of Thailand is not a problem, there are plenty of bars or shops to buy alcohol within a short walk.
The breakfast was not the best, the first day they ran out of ham, this at 7:30 ! We did not eat in the hotel, plenty of places to eat outside, but avoid the places catering for foreigners, overpriced and poor quality.
Customer service poor, given that only 10 rooms were occupied then it must be a nightmare in high season.
Overall, beautiful location and rooms but let down by indifferent customer service.
Ao Nang is the area the resort is in, not the best beaches in Thailand and too much foreigner type bars and restaurants for us, but we all have our own preferences.

Room Tip: Upper floor is better and quieter, facing the pool is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the wonderful tropical garden that surrounds the accommodation buildings, the pool and the restaurant (which in fact is a gazebo). You really feel you are in an exotic place while going from the reception to the room or from the room to the restaurant or pool. The pool itself is also great due to its surroundings. Also the location is very good, very close to the main street of Ao Nang but not exactly on the street, so there is privacy and quite comparing to the noise from Ao Nang. You can reach the beach by foot in no more than 10 minutes. The personnel is OK and the breakfast repetitive but quite fair. Dinner at their restaurant is a good option as they are cooking it well and the prices are very good.
As a negative aspect I will point to the noise made by the Air Con machines. The hotel is formed by a few buildings (each having 4 rooms, 2 on the top floor and 2 below) and on each building there are 4 external Air Con machines attached (one for each room). While walking in that beautiful surrounding all the charm is killed when you get in the area of the accommodation buildings because all you can here there is a permanent noise made by those old ac devices. And that is not all... If you are a bit sensitive in your sleep (like me) then you'll have serious issues even if you close your ac (which is very noise inside the room anyway and during the night I did not feel the need of using it) because your sleep will be seriously troubled by the noise made by the external Air Con device of your neighbor. First I stayed in a Superior Room and both external ac devices (mine and my below neighbor's) where attached on the same wall where my bed was. The noise and the vibrations did not allow me to sleep for the first 2 nights, then I bought some ear plugs but even so after another 4 nights it became insupportable. So I had to change the room (paid difference for a Deluxe Room) and sleep better for the rest on my stay there (I stayed 12 nights). The Deluxe room has a different position, the external ac device is attached on a different wall, away from the bed, so no vibrations and the noise was considerable reduced. Even so it was annoying, but not so much as in the Supperior Room I had first (first I has Supperior room number 2008 - so please avoid it if you have sensitive sleep on noises, then I moved to room 2005 which was better).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a very lovely place to be. It looks like a private jungle eco resort with lush vegetation nice wooden boardwalk. Rooms are very cosy and nice. Good aircon, clean rooms, good beds, nice balcony are a few to mention. Then there is the swimming pool. Again located round a very lush vegetation. It has a bubble bath, nice smooth declining edges so you can sunbathe or relax in the water lying on your back. It was one of the best constructed swimming pools I have seen and a real treat to be. We were sad we had to go, would have loved to stay much longer. Food is good, nice buffet breakfast. Be early because some of the dishes are not restocked. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: has no gym (can't reset it). But a very lovely place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arriving late on Friday afternoon, we just expected a place to sleep for the night before heading onward. We were PLEASANTLY surprised on arrival. Beautiful Gardens off the busy main road. Jungle surroundings! Quick Check In, Room was ready for 3 adults as requested. Room was exactly as described, with lovely balcony, views of the cliffs and clean. The pool was amazing, night and day. Breakfast was plentiful and yummy. Would recommend to anyone and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We have a room with balcony which was lovely to sit out on and enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somkiet Buri Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.