We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in forest setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somkiet Buri Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Somkiet Buri Resort to your Saves list
Somkiet Buri Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hotel in forest setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As you walk towards your room on wooden plank pathway it gives you a feeling of passing through a rain forest. The rooms are spacious and decorated in traditional Thai style, the bathroom is large indeed. We had a swimming pool facing room that had beautiful view of the sparkling clean swimming pool which I can definitely say was a highlight. Breakfast was adequate and we had lunch once which was delicious. The location of the hotel is excellent in terms of accessibilty to restaurants/bars/shopping etc and the Aonang beach about 7 minutes walk. What was bothersome were mosquitoes and insects flying outside your room and the open dining area.Also the canal running thro' the property needs to be kept clean ( we saw some dead fish floating) to avoid foul smell emanating at times. Otherwise a highly reccommended place to stay in Aonang, Krabi.

Room Tip: Definitely swimming pool facing rooms at ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    150
    52
    27
    8
See reviews for
72
138
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Myself and my 2 teenagers of 19 stayed here in a triple room in January.

Somkiet Buri is very central to the main shopping area of Ao Nang down a driveway off the main road so it's very quiet with no street noise.

The grounds are beautiful with wooden walkways meandering thru the trees and shrubs and over streams filled with fish.

The swimming pool is a good size and set in amongst the greenery which gives it a quiet feel.

The room we stayed in was one of 2 that was up a set of exterior stairs it was HUGE! 2 King size beds and a lounge type area as well as a balcony over looking the garden and pool.

The bathroom was also HUGE! with a lovely shower and big bath.

This was a great place to stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We only stayed here for two nights, having already stayed in Phra Nang Inn just up the road. This was a much better hotel, although staff friendliness was lacking in both. The pool was beautiful, there was wifi everywhere and it was only a short walk from the beach and shops. The room was lovely, very comfortable bed and bathroom. Restaurant was also good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent our first three nights at this resort at the start of our month long visit to the Islands. The resort is located about a 10 minute walk from the main beach, which is pretty ordinary and the jumping off point for many long tail boat trips to Railay beach and vendors trying to sell you something. The check in was smooth and the reception staff friendly. The rooms have a strong musty smell, which I think is due to the amount of vegetation and ponds that run through the resort, the rooms though are clean and spacious, with excellent comfortable beds. We spent a few hours around the pool, which was quiet at the time and pleasant enough to cool down and read a book. Breakfast was included but after one breakfast we decided to skip it, very limited and not worth the effort. We never had dinner here, and to be honest am not sure anyone else did, as the restaurant was always empty. One problem we did have was with the room safety deposit box, three time we couldn’t open it and three times the maintenance man messed with it and used masking tape to do something with the mechanism and three times it broke again, in the end they replaced the box, but never bolted it to the wall and it fell of the shelf onto the floor. The town itself is full of travel agents and tailors, but you can find some good Thai street food vendors, two minutes from the resort. Overhaul not a bad place to plan our onward travel and relax in the resort for a few days, before catching our ferry to Koh Jum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lush tropical greenery. Bungalows half hidden in thick foliage. A stream runs through the forest. Stay still and you may be rewarded with occasional sightings of monkeys, birds, butterflies, monitor lizards and squirrels. Yet this green oasis is located in the middle of a busy town, a 10 minutes walk to the beach and close to shops, street stalls, massage places, bars and restaurants. Well secluded from the outside world, this beautiful, well-designed retreat made you feel like you far away from everything, as we do not hear any traffic or music from bars nearby.

My two friends and I stayed for a total of four nights in a triple deluxe room in a bungalow that looks like a tree house amid the jungle-like surroundings. One of the challenges traveling in a trio is to find a room that can fit all of us – there are not enough people to justify the cost of staying in a studio flat and some places would not take three people. Usually we end up in a room for two with a dusty temporary bed thrown in, that in all cramps up our living space. So it is a nice change to stay in a clean, spacious and comfortable room designed for three. Accessible via the sliding doors, the balcony is huge, where you can sit outside in open air and enjoy the peace scenery.

The wooden boardwalks connect the entire resort. Located near the opposite end of the resort, the pool and outdoor Jacuzzi look well kept and inviting amid the pretty landscape. The entire area is cool and shady but there is plenty of open space for those want to tan under the sun in their beach chairs as well.

The onsite restaurant is open concept and shares the same garden setting. It is a lovely and relaxing setting to enjoy your food. The “American” breakfast has a decent selection and is generally tasty especially for the Asian dishes. It is a Muslim hotel so alcohol is not served on the premises. But there is a huge 7-11 just opposite the hotel to get your alcohol fix and it is not a problem bringing it back to your room. Or you can head to the many bars around the area or even down at the beach promenade. Dinner is served at the restaurant but it seems that most people including us prefer to head out anyway.

The resort is well maintained and every day, we see the garden and pool staff in full force, taking care of the place. Hence the bugs are kept to a minimum but there are still a few around. If you are prone to them, you may want to bring your own insect repellent, patch, mosquito coils and such as the resort do not provide them.

The service is pleasant and friendly enough but nothing outstanding. They are happy to direct you to wherever you want to come but would not call up the place to help you make a booking or even hail a taxi or tuk tuk for you. And the night staff is an especially grumpy bunch, best to be avoided.

Despite listing a spa in the premises, there do not seem to be any direct contact between the spa and hotel staff. The reception staff keeps telling us to call the spa directly but nobody picks up the phone. We went down to check the spa out a couple of times but the place is eerily quiet and finally one of the mantainence staff told us the spa is not in operation. In the end I crossed the road and walked five minutes, away from the direction of the beach, to Vogue Spa & Resort for a top-notch spa experience with excellent service at a very reasonable price.

Despite the few teething problems, we did enjoy our stay in this wonderful tropical retreat. If you want to be near of the thick of action and still have your privacy and space, the resort is the place for you. The nightlife in Krabi is not as hectic and trendy like its hipper counterparts but most shops and places stay open till late and it is safe for us to walk back to our hotel from the beach at night. Somkiet Buri Resort is value for money, the overall atmosphere and standard makes us feel as if we paid for a luxurious, high end experience instead of moderately priced accommodation so that is a big plus. We would definitely consider staying here for a second time if we are coming back to Krabi again.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool are really nice- direct access to the pool. Otherwise we prefer the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Somkiet buri is a resort in Krabi set amongst a cultivated garden which lends the feeling of being pleasantly secluded in a lucious jungle with a mountainous peak overlooking.

We've visited Somkiet Buri both times we've been to Thailand because it was so good.. The hotel is situated very close to the beach and very close to a main road in Krabi, although you're not aware of this once inside the hotel as we were never aware of traffic or music from any nearby bars or anything.

The rooms are spacious and perhaps slightly on the basic side for some people but we found them to be very comfortable and clean too.

The balconies are big too and allow you to enjoy the well maintained and dense garden. If you're adventuresome enough to rent a bike, venturing down to the food market on the other side of the beach means you can grab some fresh seafood and papaya salad to bring back and enjoy on the balcony which was a lovely place to enjoy food.

The onsite restaurant is lovely and shares the same garden setting - it's a lovely, relaxing atmosphere to enjoy their food in too. Evening meals and breakfast are provided here, both of which provide good selection, good price and are very tasty.

The staff are incredibly sweet too, it has to be said, and very helpful.

The site features a very modern pool as well as a kinda beauty spa(?) if you want to get a massage etc.

Both times, we visited during offpeak season, in May and in October, which are the quieter periods - in future, I think I would prefer to repeat this as Somkiet was quite quiet and it was a lovely feeling like we had the place to ourselves.

Krabi itself is abit quiet and limited in what it can offer, although I liked this - not too many drunk people causing a nuisance. Renting a bike is handy to go places, although be prepared to ride for a little while to see different stuff. I wouldn't recommend staying longer than a week, unless you're looking for a really quiet, relaxed holiday.

Highly recommend it! Writing this is making me want to return!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved staying here. It was only a 10 minute walk from the beach. Half a block to the main street with lots of restaurants and some great street food. Rooms look out on the pool or into the 'jungle' surrounding it. There is a stream running through the property that has some lovely fish in it. The wooden walkways wind through the grounds to get to the rooms and the pool area. We liked Au Nang and the atmosphere. Everything we wanted, but not so touristy to be off-putting. It probably helped that we were there in September so not too busy. Room was large and the bathroom has a full tub with a large opening sliding window that looks into the main room. There is even a semi-private outdoor patio area with chairs to enjoy the jungle forest area accessed by large sliding glass doors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somkiet Buri Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.