We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient based hotel in Ao Nang” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somkiet Buri Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Somkiet Buri Resort to your Saves list
Somkiet Buri Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Convenient based hotel in Ao Nang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent our first three nights at this resort at the start of our month long visit to the Islands. The resort is located about a 10 minute walk from the main beach, which is pretty ordinary and the jumping off point for many long tail boat trips to Railay beach and vendors trying to sell you something. The check in was smooth and the reception staff friendly. The rooms have a strong musty smell, which I think is due to the amount of vegetation and ponds that run through the resort, the rooms though are clean and spacious, with excellent comfortable beds. We spent a few hours around the pool, which was quiet at the time and pleasant enough to cool down and read a book. Breakfast was included but after one breakfast we decided to skip it, very limited and not worth the effort. We never had dinner here, and to be honest am not sure anyone else did, as the restaurant was always empty. One problem we did have was with the room safety deposit box, three time we couldn’t open it and three times the maintenance man messed with it and used masking tape to do something with the mechanism and three times it broke again, in the end they replaced the box, but never bolted it to the wall and it fell of the shelf onto the floor. The town itself is full of travel agents and tailors, but you can find some good Thai street food vendors, two minutes from the resort. Overhaul not a bad place to plan our onward travel and relax in the resort for a few days, before catching our ferry to Koh Jum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    158
    61
    30
    8
See reviews for
83
149
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lush tropical greenery. Bungalows half hidden in thick foliage. A stream runs through the forest. Stay still and you may be rewarded with occasional sightings of monkeys, birds, butterflies, monitor lizards and squirrels. Yet this green oasis is located in the middle of a busy town, a 10 minutes walk to the beach and close to shops, street stalls, massage places, bars and restaurants. Well secluded from the outside world, this beautiful, well-designed retreat made you feel like you far away from everything, as we do not hear any traffic or music from bars nearby.

My two friends and I stayed for a total of four nights in a triple deluxe room in a bungalow that looks like a tree house amid the jungle-like surroundings. One of the challenges traveling in a trio is to find a room that can fit all of us – there are not enough people to justify the cost of staying in a studio flat and some places would not take three people. Usually we end up in a room for two with a dusty temporary bed thrown in, that in all cramps up our living space. So it is a nice change to stay in a clean, spacious and comfortable room designed for three. Accessible via the sliding doors, the balcony is huge, where you can sit outside in open air and enjoy the peace scenery.

The wooden boardwalks connect the entire resort. Located near the opposite end of the resort, the pool and outdoor Jacuzzi look well kept and inviting amid the pretty landscape. The entire area is cool and shady but there is plenty of open space for those want to tan under the sun in their beach chairs as well.

The onsite restaurant is open concept and shares the same garden setting. It is a lovely and relaxing setting to enjoy your food. The “American” breakfast has a decent selection and is generally tasty especially for the Asian dishes. It is a Muslim hotel so alcohol is not served on the premises. But there is a huge 7-11 just opposite the hotel to get your alcohol fix and it is not a problem bringing it back to your room. Or you can head to the many bars around the area or even down at the beach promenade. Dinner is served at the restaurant but it seems that most people including us prefer to head out anyway.

The resort is well maintained and every day, we see the garden and pool staff in full force, taking care of the place. Hence the bugs are kept to a minimum but there are still a few around. If you are prone to them, you may want to bring your own insect repellent, patch, mosquito coils and such as the resort do not provide them.

The service is pleasant and friendly enough but nothing outstanding. They are happy to direct you to wherever you want to come but would not call up the place to help you make a booking or even hail a taxi or tuk tuk for you. And the night staff is an especially grumpy bunch, best to be avoided.

Despite listing a spa in the premises, there do not seem to be any direct contact between the spa and hotel staff. The reception staff keeps telling us to call the spa directly but nobody picks up the phone. We went down to check the spa out a couple of times but the place is eerily quiet and finally one of the mantainence staff told us the spa is not in operation. In the end I crossed the road and walked five minutes, away from the direction of the beach, to Vogue Spa & Resort for a top-notch spa experience with excellent service at a very reasonable price.

Despite the few teething problems, we did enjoy our stay in this wonderful tropical retreat. If you want to be near of the thick of action and still have your privacy and space, the resort is the place for you. The nightlife in Krabi is not as hectic and trendy like its hipper counterparts but most shops and places stay open till late and it is safe for us to walk back to our hotel from the beach at night. Somkiet Buri Resort is value for money, the overall atmosphere and standard makes us feel as if we paid for a luxurious, high end experience instead of moderately priced accommodation so that is a big plus. We would definitely consider staying here for a second time if we are coming back to Krabi again.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool are really nice- direct access to the pool. Otherwise we prefer the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Somkiet buri is a resort in Krabi set amongst a cultivated garden which lends the feeling of being pleasantly secluded in a lucious jungle with a mountainous peak overlooking.

We've visited Somkiet Buri both times we've been to Thailand because it was so good.. The hotel is situated very close to the beach and very close to a main road in Krabi, although you're not aware of this once inside the hotel as we were never aware of traffic or music from any nearby bars or anything.

The rooms are spacious and perhaps slightly on the basic side for some people but we found them to be very comfortable and clean too.

The balconies are big too and allow you to enjoy the well maintained and dense garden. If you're adventuresome enough to rent a bike, venturing down to the food market on the other side of the beach means you can grab some fresh seafood and papaya salad to bring back and enjoy on the balcony which was a lovely place to enjoy food.

The onsite restaurant is lovely and shares the same garden setting - it's a lovely, relaxing atmosphere to enjoy their food in too. Evening meals and breakfast are provided here, both of which provide good selection, good price and are very tasty.

The staff are incredibly sweet too, it has to be said, and very helpful.

The site features a very modern pool as well as a kinda beauty spa(?) if you want to get a massage etc.

Both times, we visited during offpeak season, in May and in October, which are the quieter periods - in future, I think I would prefer to repeat this as Somkiet was quite quiet and it was a lovely feeling like we had the place to ourselves.

Krabi itself is abit quiet and limited in what it can offer, although I liked this - not too many drunk people causing a nuisance. Renting a bike is handy to go places, although be prepared to ride for a little while to see different stuff. I wouldn't recommend staying longer than a week, unless you're looking for a really quiet, relaxed holiday.

Highly recommend it! Writing this is making me want to return!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved staying here. It was only a 10 minute walk from the beach. Half a block to the main street with lots of restaurants and some great street food. Rooms look out on the pool or into the 'jungle' surrounding it. There is a stream running through the property that has some lovely fish in it. The wooden walkways wind through the grounds to get to the rooms and the pool area. We liked Au Nang and the atmosphere. Everything we wanted, but not so touristy to be off-putting. It probably helped that we were there in September so not too busy. Room was large and the bathroom has a full tub with a large opening sliding window that looks into the main room. There is even a semi-private outdoor patio area with chairs to enjoy the jungle forest area accessed by large sliding glass doors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lurve the atmosphere.My kind of resort/hotel at krabi.Streets food just infront of our hotel resort. 10 minutes walk to the beach. Only problem was the wifi bloody slow in the room.Overall was superb.Highly recommended for muslim travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The rooms have a rustic and weird smell. We faced problems with the air conditioner as well. Its at a 10 minute walking distance from the beach. There are lot of shops once you get onto the main road. The trees and fauna inside the hotel premises dont seem to be well maintained. We saw a snake in the hotel premises. They also have a monitor lizard in one of the small lotus ponds inside. Lot of lizards are running around the walls in the hotel room which is a little creepy. I also suspect there are many more snakes around due to the overgrown trees. I would suggest that you book for the Koh Phi Phi or Ko Lanta trip from outside as the hotel is more expensive. The breakfast buffet was pathetic and had flies all over the bread and fruits and even when I brought it to the notice of the hotel staff, they did nothing about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Back again for our second visit and nothing much has changed here, was actually given the same room too.

Only downsides to this hotel is the pool area really doesn’t get much sun due to the trees, yes its nice to be able to move into the shade if you are too hot but annoying having to ‘chase the sun’ and move sun loungers. Suggest the hotel invests in some hard core pruning as the trees have obviously grown since our last visit!

Also the walk round the raised decking from the entrance to your room does get a bit annoying it’s quite a long way and if wet it is really quite slippery (also some foliage pruning needed here too)

Air con has been upgraded but our room still refused to go below 24 degrees even with the unit on full for a long time.

No DVD players to rent or hot water boilers, some of the larger rooms do have these provided so were surprised they couldn’t be supplied as we were happy to pay.

Would we return, probably yes as the standard hasn’t slipped just really need to cut back the trees!!!

Room Tip: Upper floor have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#31 of 92 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#39 of 92 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#44 of 92 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#27 of 92 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 92 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phu Pha Ao Nang Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somkiet Buri Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.