We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute jungle bungalows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somkiet Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Somkiet Buri Resort to your Saves list
Somkiet Buri Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 94 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute jungle bungalows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, loved the feel of being in a jungle bungalow. And it was great to have a little covered porch. A Hot shower and a spacious bathroom were welcome features too! The breakfast buffet is tasty and the outdoor spaces like the bar and restaurant were comfy. We had trouble accessing wifi in the room but walked to the front desk are to get access. Service at the front desk wasn't very courteous or helpful, but thankfully we didn't need much during our stay. We didn't try to book any excursions through the hotel and instead used one of the street vendors.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was so nervous about making a reservation in Ao Nang, as I'd never been there before and had no idea what to expect. The moment I arrived at Somkiet Buri Resort with my family (husband and two children, ages 7 and 8), I knew I'd made the right choice. Somkiet Buri Resort is just absolutely lovely. It's set back from the busy road that runs through Ao Nang to the beach. Being there you feel like you're in the jungle, in this peaceful, clean, well-kept retreat. The pool is wonderful. The rooms are great. Breakfast was good (not mind-blowing, but good enough.) The wifi worked, as promised (yay!). The whole experience was perfect. Before we went I was worried about having to walk 5-10 minutes to the beach from Somkiet Buri, but once there I realized this was perfect. The beach is busy and it was great to not to be in the middle of the action all the time. Plus, the walk was good excuse to see all the restaurants and shops on the way. I cannot recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moxie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here while in Krabi and had a fantastic time.

The location is amazing and is very secluded even though its only a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Ao Nang.

Our room was amazing, like a treehouse in the jungle! Bed was really comfortable, bathroom massive and the balcony was really nice with a pool view but secluded also.

Our breakfast was included in the room price and we got our tickets for each morning we were there. Alot of selection to choose from and really nice food.

The only issue we had was that our room, number 2012, was right at the back of the resort so we did get a bit of noise coming from the pubs and bars later at night however it wasnt a majour issue. The fridge in the room was a little bit noise but again it wasnt a majour issue.

I would defiantly stay here again and its somewhere for families/couples.

xxxx

Room Tip: we were number 2012 which was really private and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

These are beautiful accommodations. I was pleasantly surprised at how close the resort is located to the main road but how isolated you feel. It's only about 100 yards from the main road, you can see it from the main road and it definitely feels like a safe walk. I walked it several times alone after dark.

All of the rooms are buried in the deep tropical foliage. You really feel like you are in the jungle. When I first arrived I wanted to find a specific tattoo shop in town. I ask at the front desk where it was and one of the hotel staff drove me there on a motorcycle for no charge. Very nice!

It is literally a five minute walk from the main water front road. It is an easy walk and there are shops and food carts everywhere.

The pool is spectacular! It is one of the prettiest I've seen because of the landscaping and shape. Very nice. I wasn't aware when I booked the hotel was Muslim owned and they wouldn't sell alcohol but as another reviewer said, you can buy right across the street at 7-11 and bring it with you, no big deal.

The room was very spacious with a nice big balcony. It had all the basics, safe, fridge, tv, robes, house shoes, umbrellas, flashlight. I loved the room and was very impressed. What I didn't like:

The room smelled. It's not a bad smell, it's just a very different smell and it's loud! I think it was something intended to repel bugs but it was overpowering. I was glad I brought a candle to mask the odor. I found the source of the smell, for future travelers. They make these room decorations out of what looks like palm fronds. That is where the smell is coming from. Those have now been moved out onto my balcony.

Two, the plumbing is old (like a really loose sink faucet) and the shower was odd. You had to step up high to get into the shower tub and then the shower head was a removable one that was very high. It was uncomfortable and I keep thinking how dangerous and difficult it would be to use for a less stable person.

Third, the air conditioner thermostat wouldn't work. I told the management after my first night, they said they would fix it. Nothing happened. I learned to just turn it off at the main unit (near the ceiling) and then turn it back on. In theory the entire room was controlled by one of those central boxes by the bed but it wouldn't turn tv on/off, it wouldn't adjust the air, and the time was off by about 8 hours.

None of those things were deal beakers but I don't think I will stay here next year with my parents. I think it would be tough for them. That's unfortunate too because I really think it's one of the most beautiful places I have seen!

If you go knowing there are a few quirks, you won't be surprised. The beautiful thick green foliage made it worth it for me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamrickpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

On the 12/04/2012, there was a Tsunami Alert, me and my wife were stuck at Aonang as there were no more boats taking people to Railay beach due to the fear of the incoming Tsunami. I called up Railay and they were kind enough to let us stay in their sister hotel called "Somkiet buri" located at Aonang free of charge !

What I like about the hotel:

- Free WIFI
- Good food (halal)
- Good Service by the staffs
- Buffet breakfast
- Good Location for Shopping !

What I dislike about the hotel :

- It is located at the corner, you have to walk through an alley, if not you wont see the hotel
- My room was small but cozy

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartacus_x24x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We did stay at Sokmiet Buri for 7 nights in October 2012. Very pleasant place to stay indeed, good location, lavish green environment, nice swimming pool, tastily decorated rooms, good WiFi coverage all over the compound made our stay very memorable. We took day tour to Phi Phi (island hops) from hotel and price was correct and it was very enjoyable. We asked Airport drop and it cost us 600tbh in very nice mini van.
Apart from breakfast, we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as food was available everywhere outside.
We would definitely stay again in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We did stay at room 2007 which were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jafarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

After Staying in a rather awful resort in Railay Beach this was a pleasant surprise especially for the cheap price. Large, modern, clean rooms. Most amazing pool area ive ever seen. And extremely friendly staff, a huge buffet breakfast. I would recommend a longer stay at this resort, a relaxing week.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.5 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 94 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#26 of 94 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 94 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.8 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 94 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing