We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute jungle bungalows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somkiet Buri Resort

Save Saved
You added Somkiet Buri Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somkiet Buri Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 84 hotels in Ao Nang
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute jungle bungalows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice location, loved the feel of being in a jungle bungalow. And it was great to have a little covered porch. A Hot shower and a spacious bathroom were welcome features too! The breakfast buffet is tasty and the outdoor spaces like the bar and restaurant were comfy. We had trouble accessing wifi in the room but walked to the front desk are to get access. Service at the front desk wasn't very courteous or helpful, but thankfully we didn't need much during our stay. We didn't try to book any excursions through the hotel and instead used one of the street vendors.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    119
    44
    24
    6
See reviews for
58
113
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was so nervous about making a reservation in Ao Nang, as I'd never been there before and had no idea what to expect. The moment I arrived at Somkiet Buri Resort with my family (husband and two children, ages 7 and 8), I knew I'd made the right choice. Somkiet Buri Resort is just absolutely lovely. It's set back from the busy road that runs through Ao Nang to the beach. Being there you feel like you're in the jungle, in this peaceful, clean, well-kept retreat. The pool is wonderful. The rooms are great. Breakfast was good (not mind-blowing, but good enough.) The wifi worked, as promised (yay!). The whole experience was perfect. Before we went I was worried about having to walk 5-10 minutes to the beach from Somkiet Buri, but once there I realized this was perfect. The beach is busy and it was great to not to be in the middle of the action all the time. Plus, the walk was good excuse to see all the restaurants and shops on the way. I cannot recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here while in Krabi and had a fantastic time.

The location is amazing and is very secluded even though its only a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Ao Nang.

Our room was amazing, like a treehouse in the jungle! Bed was really comfortable, bathroom massive and the balcony was really nice with a pool view but secluded also.

Our breakfast was included in the room price and we got our tickets for each morning we were there. Alot of selection to choose from and really nice food.

The only issue we had was that our room, number 2012, was right at the back of the resort so we did get a bit of noise coming from the pubs and bars later at night however it wasnt a majour issue. The fridge in the room was a little bit noise but again it wasnt a majour issue.

I would defiantly stay here again and its somewhere for families/couples.

xxxx

Room Tip: we were number 2012 which was really private and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

These are beautiful accommodations. I was pleasantly surprised at how close the resort is located to the main road but how isolated you feel. It's only about 100 yards from the main road, you can see it from the main road and it definitely feels like a safe walk. I walked it several times alone after dark.

All of the rooms are buried in the deep tropical foliage. You really feel like you are in the jungle. When I first arrived I wanted to find a specific tattoo shop in town. I ask at the front desk where it was and one of the hotel staff drove me there on a motorcycle for no charge. Very nice!

It is literally a five minute walk from the main water front road. It is an easy walk and there are shops and food carts everywhere.

The pool is spectacular! It is one of the prettiest I've seen because of the landscaping and shape. Very nice. I wasn't aware when I booked the hotel was Muslim owned and they wouldn't sell alcohol but as another reviewer said, you can buy right across the street at 7-11 and bring it with you, no big deal.

The room was very spacious with a nice big balcony. It had all the basics, safe, fridge, tv, robes, house shoes, umbrellas, flashlight. I loved the room and was very impressed. What I didn't like:

The room smelled. It's not a bad smell, it's just a very different smell and it's loud! I think it was something intended to repel bugs but it was overpowering. I was glad I brought a candle to mask the odor. I found the source of the smell, for future travelers. They make these room decorations out of what looks like palm fronds. That is where the smell is coming from. Those have now been moved out onto my balcony.

Two, the plumbing is old (like a really loose sink faucet) and the shower was odd. You had to step up high to get into the shower tub and then the shower head was a removable one that was very high. It was uncomfortable and I keep thinking how dangerous and difficult it would be to use for a less stable person.

Third, the air conditioner thermostat wouldn't work. I told the management after my first night, they said they would fix it. Nothing happened. I learned to just turn it off at the main unit (near the ceiling) and then turn it back on. In theory the entire room was controlled by one of those central boxes by the bed but it wouldn't turn tv on/off, it wouldn't adjust the air, and the time was off by about 8 hours.

None of those things were deal beakers but I don't think I will stay here next year with my parents. I think it would be tough for them. That's unfortunate too because I really think it's one of the most beautiful places I have seen!

If you go knowing there are a few quirks, you won't be surprised. The beautiful thick green foliage made it worth it for me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

On the 12/04/2012, there was a Tsunami Alert, me and my wife were stuck at Aonang as there were no more boats taking people to Railay beach due to the fear of the incoming Tsunami. I called up Railay and they were kind enough to let us stay in their sister hotel called "Somkiet buri" located at Aonang free of charge !

What I like about the hotel:

- Free WIFI
- Good food (halal)
- Good Service by the staffs
- Buffet breakfast
- Good Location for Shopping !

What I dislike about the hotel :

- It is located at the corner, you have to walk through an alley, if not you wont see the hotel
- My room was small but cozy

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We did stay at Sokmiet Buri for 7 nights in October 2012. Very pleasant place to stay indeed, good location, lavish green environment, nice swimming pool, tastily decorated rooms, good WiFi coverage all over the compound made our stay very memorable. We took day tour to Phi Phi (island hops) from hotel and price was correct and it was very enjoyable. We asked Airport drop and it cost us 600tbh in very nice mini van.
Apart from breakfast, we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as food was available everywhere outside.
We would definitely stay again in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We did stay at room 2007 which were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After Staying in a rather awful resort in Railay Beach this was a pleasant surprise especially for the cheap price. Large, modern, clean rooms. Most amazing pool area ive ever seen. And extremely friendly staff, a huge buffet breakfast. I would recommend a longer stay at this resort, a relaxing week.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somkiet Buri Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.